We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away in the green bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garni Pension Pibernik
Ranked #13 of 60 Bled B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Far away in the green bush”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

First, this pension is hard to find and I have to walk very long from the bus station. Dont trust the mark on google map, it is far more than that (I belived that the owner mark that so it seem close to the center). No public transport pass by, with no private vehicle try another hotel.

The room I got is upper floor with outside private space and hammock. The room is clean but has no even fan but fridge and PC are provided. The surrounding are green and very nice, best for picnic and BBQ.
The owner are nice and helpful. You can rent a bike for 6EUR a day. Breakfast is cost 7EUR and need to reserve a day before, there are a bread cheese ham and some drink, average.

If you are a normal traveler without own transportation, try another one near the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pibomarco, Owner at Garni Pension Pibernik, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
First, this pension is hard to find and I have to walk very long from the bus station. Dont trust the mark on google map, it is far more than that (I belived that the owner mark that so it seem close to the center). No public transport pass by, with no private vehicle try another hotel.

The room I got is upper floor with outside private space and hammock. The room is clean but has no even fan but fridge and PC are provided. The surrounding are green and very nice, best for picnic and BBQ.
The owner are nice and helpful. You can rent a bike for 6EUR a day. Breakfast is cost 7EUR and need to reserve a day before, there are a bread cheese ham and some drink, average.

If you are a normal traveler without own transportation, try another one near the town.

Hello thank you for your review

google map is correct, mark is also correct and its distant aprox 1,5km from center Bled.
Also if you would read carefully your reservation or description in portals all the location details are written. On some portals is also a video the last 1,5km drive to our hotel.

Fans are also provided in the room now:)

hm breakfast average? I think its one of the richiest in Bled (in high season) :)

Thank you again for your stay at our place:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    26
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
37
52
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My family and I rented a room here over a year ago and I never got a chance to write a review. I always think about this beautiful little hotel so I have to write the review, before i get busy again and forget. However, I have to say that this hotel is the perfect place to stay if you are going to Lake Bled. Not only is it easy to find (we found it with a rental car and no maps driving from Italy), but it's not far from the lake and town center where there are great restaurants and cute shops. The BEST part about this hotel is the breakfast!! Outside under a gazebo there is a fire and stove where you can prepare fresh eggs/meat, there was any type of yogurt, cereal, juice, tea, coffee and so on. It was so much fun to have breakfast outside in nature. One day, I wanted to use one of rental electric bicycles and it wasn't working, so the owner very kindly let me use his personal electric bicycle. His bicycle was brand new and he trusted me to use it. It was very nice and I really appreciated it. I also have to mention that there was a computer in our room with internet (which you never see in a hotel). We loved being out in nature at this unique hotel. It was so cozy and everyone was very friendly. I highly recommend it if you are visiting the Lake Bled area in Slovenia! I hope to go back again!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hg4986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pibomarco, Owner at Garni Pension Pibernik, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback!

Hope to see you again someday!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herceg-Novi, Montenegro
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Hoping to have our New Year vacations in this cute, little hotel near Bled, booked 3 weeks in advance, we drove over 800 km to find out straight from reception door that our accommodation had been cancelled. We were rudely admitted by the owner, told that he doesn't have a room for us and that he had sent us an e mail to inform about the change ( which we never got, as well as he never got our confirmation that we read his e mail and agreed).The owner of Pibernik, justified himself explaining that he is not working anymore with hostelworld.com through which we booked and prepayed the room. Night before travelling we got second confirmation from hostelworld website that our accomodation was guaranteed. Very arrogantly, the guy told us that he had reserved a room for us at his friend's pension nerby, without any question wheather we agree with that. As was too late to find any other convenient accommodation two days before New Year's Eve we had to go to the pension where he took us. The Pibernik's boss couldn't care less about us being angry and disappointed, he couldn't show less care about future comments of his business and bad recommandation that we will for sure spread about his little family run hotel. Is it worth to mention that at his friend's pension we had to change a room after two days ( out of 4 nights stay in Bled) so we could fit in his bookings too? I warmly suggest to any potential client of this hotel to think twice before choosing it.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank covjecica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pibomarco, Owner at Garni Pension Pibernik, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
thank you for your comment

We apologize for what happened.. This problem was not solvable in any other way. If its our fault regarding your reservation, our obligation is to find you another stay. Very rearly this problems about overbookings ect do happen (like everywhere), and you were just very unlucky that time.
And yes we canceled hostelworld.com, i also suggest you to have less problems with your bookings, use booking.com or venere.com portals. you could stay 4 day in neighburs if you would wanted so. This was more as an offer not a demand.
Those situations are also very stresfull for us, so please don't take this as we don't care.

Again it was our fault and we are sorry

Regards
M. Pibernik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Think twice before staying at this Fawlty Towers, run by an arrogant "Basil" and his equally unfriendly son. Although the setting is peaceful, a few kilometres out of Bled, our stay was spoiled by the total lack of hospitality. One wonders why people such as these are in the business at all. Our room (balcony) was adequate but the poorly designed bathroom was smelly (?drains). I had to ask for more toilet paper which was dumped on out table at breakfast.
Arrive early for breakfast to share the 4 cold hard boiled eggs supplied for the entire number of guests, although the other provisions were passable. I wish we had checked TripAdvisor more closly before booking.

Room Tip: Front facing room with balcony - there are only 3 or 4. Avoid the 'Attic' rooms, claustropho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

On arrival at this very picturesque hotel our pleasant impressions were soon destroyed by a surly owner who announced that our booking of two balcony rooms, confirmed 6 months earlier, had been subject to a "computer glitch" and were no longer available: no apology, no concessions. The alternative of an attic room was less than satisfactory - the room needed curtains and was very noisy; the bathroom was minute and poorly designed - it was almost necessary to walk through the shower recess to reach the toilet, and the inadequate shower curtain meant that the whole room was constantly water-logged. The owner and his son (we assumed the relationship from the churlish, unfriendly manner of both) were never available and only appeared briefly at breakfast to put out the food. No other services were made available - the bbq was closed and even the jug was hidden to prevent our making a cup of tea in our rooms. On leaving we were curtly told that the promised (AND CONFIRMED) acceptance of credit cards was not available and nothing but euros would be accepted, if we could not immediately supply same we could leave and accept the consequences - not a good idea when we considered trying to justify our departure without payment to the local constabulary. (Fortunately we scraped together the wherewithal in euros).Our subsequent negative comments in the Guest Book were met with abuse.

Room Tip: Do not accept attic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beograd
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We spent one night in this place in March 2011. Though natural scenery is nice, personnel was lazy and rude - took our money without giving any kind of receipt. Rooms were too small and in desperate need of cleaning (spiders were common underneath the bed). If you can choose do not pick top floor rooms - air inflow is poor because of bad window position (roof window)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragoslav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The setting of the hotel when you first drive up is picture perfect! Nestled in the woods amid landscaped gardens, there is a sense of peace and serenity to the whole place. The rooms were clean & functional, but most importantly, they had air-conditioning! Also, each room had its own computer with internet connection.

There were outdoor activities in the garden, such as ping-pong, to keep kids (and adults!) occupied.

Close to Lake Bled, it is an easy drive into town. There is a restaurant on site, but it must be seasonal & wasn't open while we were there. Breakfast is a self-serve buffet in the garden. There was a great selection of hot & cold items.

The only complaint I have is that the bathrooms were very small & the shower curtain didn't fit the stall properly, so it was impossible to take a shower without flooding the floor! Adding an extra curtain would be an easy fix for this issue.

Upon check out we found that the hotel did not take credit cards, but as the price was so reasonable it wasn't really a problem.

Staff were friendly & helpful, but sometimes hard to locate! But we were given an upgrade to a triple room so that our boys could have separate beds... without even asking! Nice touch!

Room Tip: We had an attic room as that was all that was left at time of booking. These rooms do not have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garrodgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
418 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Jelovica Bled
Hotel Jelovica Bled
#11 of 24 in Bled
406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
436 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#5 of 24 in Bled
748 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Pension Pibernik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Pension Pibernik

Property: Garni Pension Pibernik
Address: Ljubljanska cesta 40, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Pension Pibernik 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a secluded spot surrounded by oak trees, Pension Pibernik is a rustic and homey, family-run bed and breakfast hotel with free internet access and PCs in the rooms. Set on a large lawn surrounded by a forest and above the Sava River, only 330 yards from the main road to Lake Bled(2km), Pension Pibernik is a great starting point for walking or biking tours. After a long adventurous day, unwind under the shade of the veranda, or play ping-pong, badminton or darts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garni Pension Pibernik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing