We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another confirmation of why this is a great place!”
Review of Pension Pletna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Pletna
Ranked #4 of 61 Bled B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This bed & breakfast is located in front of lake Bled and with Bled island view! And with room service breakfast with lake view! Room-rate value excellent, what else can we ask?

OK, let's go to check other minimal details: room: good sized with clean sheets, towels and bathroom with wc, shower, hairdryer and complete of toiletries. A bit small but not big deal. Some old wall paint is leaving but again not big deal the rest of the room is fine. There are facilities (kettle in the corridor) to make hot tea which is something highly appreciated by many many people. Some cups in the room, mini-fridge, tv. The free wi-fi runs perfect and efficiently in the room. The “pletna” (gondola or boat to Bled island) is possible to rent from the b&b or if don't want to row just stop at the pletna station (only across the street and a few steps).

Position of this bed & breakfast is great, well is not in Bled town but close there is a supermarket and a restaurant with terrace that serves nice pizzas at good prices.. if wanted to go to town is necessary to walk, I think 10 minutes but is a very nice walk since is lakeside.

A little minus: at night especially during summer season, if leaving the windows open but the shutters closed can hear all the cars (and trucks) transiting the street downstairs so this can be noisy at night. If wanted can close everthing (shutters and windows) and just turn on the ceiling fan (there is no a/c).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

In terms of proximity to town, this B&B may not be the best. But with a car, this is no problem at all as it's only a few minutes drive away. The size of our double bed room is modest, but it has a great view of the Bled Island. You can rent a boat to row to the island. However, they are without covers so if it's raining or if it just rained, the boats would be wet. There is a pletna station very close to the B&B so that's another option, rain or shine. You may want to confirm with the rower whether the church on the island is open before getting on their boat. We assumed that it's always open, only to find out that it was closed as there was a service happening.

If you're looking for the best viewpoints for photographing the island, then this B&B's location would suit you. The best views are generally from the west shore of the lake, about 10 - 15 minutes walk from the B&B. You can easily get both the island and the castle in the same shot from many spots along the west shore.

You can opt out of breakfast for a small discount in price. But in my opinion the breakfast is well worth it. It is delivered to your room at the time you choose, with generous portions of bread, cold cuts, eggs and beverage of your choice.

On check out the owner gave us two coasters as gifts. This is the only place we stayed in during our 2 weeks in Slovenia and Croatia where we actually received gifts from a hotel/B&B! Very good service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor_35_Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This B&B is family owned located at Bled overlooking the lake. It is a 10 minutes walk to the town, 15 minutes walk to the castle and depending on how good you can row the boat to the island on the middle of the lake. But if you are a lazy person take the boat which you won't row at all.
The service is very good at this B&B, breakfast is served at your room. The owners speak very good English and are very friendly.
Breakfast is quite generous, bread, jam, ham, salami, juice, coffee and eggs.
Bathroom has a shower only, good warm water, clean and just enough space to move around.
The room has a balcony overlooking the lake, and the busy road.
The bed is quite soft for our taste, but this is a B&B and the price is quite cheap compared to the Australian B&B.
They have boats for rent, but you have to row yourself which is fun, for a cheap price!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I’m exceeding pleased that I chose this pension instead of the many hotels near Bled centre.
Here’s why :
1 The best value-for-money pension in Lake Bled. Located in a tranquil neighbourhood (Mlino village) with FABULOUS lake view from the balcony. It’s just behind a small road - yes, some traffic noise but Lake Bled isn’t a busy town with many vehicles passing through so with a priceless view like this at a reasonable price, I have no complaints at all!
2 Convenience – a small supermarket, bus-stop (goes to Bled centre, Lake Bohinj and Ljubljana), gondola pickup for Bled island, 2 restaurants are all less than 5 minutes’ walk away.
3 Kind and friendly owner – very attentive to guests’ needs and ever willing to help to make the guests’ stay comfortable and enjoyable. The owner is a rare gem!
4 Spotless room – Incredibly clean room and bathroom!!! The housekeeper does a superb job and I’m sure she’s very proud of her hard work!
5 Yummy breakfast – very generous serving of breakfast with lots of variety everyday that is sent to your room by the cheerful owner
6 All the standard amenities are found in the room – TV, heater, hairdryer, shower cap, really nice soap and shampoo, towels, mini fridge, kettle and cups, and free coffee/tea placed on a corner table along the corridor for guests.

Any bad points? Probably the limited no of interesting English channel programmes on TV but that’s not important at all since there’re so many exciting things to do in and around Lake Bled.

Thanks Mojca – for making my stay at Pension Pletna so wonderful and enjoyable!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms come with a balcony that faces the lake so any room would be superb! But pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Pension Pletna is a cute little place in a nice spot on Lake Bled. The view from the balconys are stunning and the rooms are very clean with a good shower and english tv! Breakfast is brough into the room for you whenever you would like which is a nice touch! Id reccomend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccadicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

There place has an amazing atmosphere. At twilight feels like a fairytale land. We visited in winter and the place was quiet and so got amazing rooms for the standard rate. So spacious and sweetly decorated. Breakfast in Bed at this place is amazing. So much good food. Enough or a morning snack as well. The T.V. is absolutely huge, so unexpected. You must hire out one of the row boats and go to the church in the centre of the lake. The lady who runs the place is so nice and accommodating. Really there are no complaints. Recommend for anyone who wants a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimi_ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The room was very charming, decorated in a cute style and extremely clean. As stated in another opinion, the bathroom was rather small, but so clean it was unbelievable. The hosts were ever so nice, friendly and useful. The matress was a bit oldish, but the owner told us they were planning to change them in December 2011.

But, surely, the jewel of the crown of this nice spot are the views. And the balcony, in which we enjoyed our breakfast every morning -breakfast is taken to the room at the time it suits you and it can be deducted from the price in case that you might not want any; we would recommend to have breakfast at Pletna, though, as it's excellent.

It is also possible to hire a boat directly at the Pension, and they would grant you with an extra hour for being a guest. You can also park for free at the spaces the Pension has right beside it. It takes about about 15-20 mins. to walk from the Pension to Bled, but it's a very nice walk following the lake and it looks safe even late at night. Cars and lorries are passing right down the balconies, but really, with that view and such a lovely place, you can even forget about them.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#8 of 24 in Bled
795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#9 of 24 in Bled
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Penzion Berc
Penzion Berc
#2 of 24 in Bled
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Mlino
Pension Mlino
#14 of 24 in Bled
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#12 of 24 in Bled
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Pletna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Pletna

Address: Cesta svobode 37 | Along the regional road to Bohinj, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Bled
Price Range: £63 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family-run property on the shore of Lake Bled, in the centre of Bled. There are 3 separate rooms available and all of them have a splendid view of the lake and the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Pletna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Pletna Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing