We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant and excellent service”

Gostilna Union Bled
Ranked #16 of 69 Restaurants in Bled
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and excellent service”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We went here over Christmas- one of the few recommended places open, and were not disappointed. The food was excellent especially the meat cooked over a wood fire. Drinks were varied and the draught dark lager was very good indeed! Service was helpful and very friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    150
    42
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Lovely helpful staff and a delicious meal cooked in front of us”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We arrived at our rental apartment but were unable to find how to get in and this was the nearest place for us to go. We went and were helped by a lovely waitress who allowed us to use her mobile to contact the apartment owner so we could be let in.

We got checked into our apartment and went straight back over to the restaurant for some food. It was a strange time of day for a meal (it was 4pm) but we had missed lunch and were starving. Nothing was a problem for the waitress and again she was very friendly and accommodating.

We ordered the sirloin steak cooked on the open wood grill and the grilled vegetables. The food was cooked in front of us and it was very cool to watch. My boyfriend felt the steak was one of the best he had ever had due to the lovely smokey flavour infused by cooking on the wood grill. My vegetables were also delicious.

The only problem was that there weren't more people there but we've noticed that with just about everywhere we've been in Bled so far.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AleeceAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
694 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Great Dining”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were based in Bled for 5 nights and stayed in a 2 BR ap't upstairs. Breakfast came with the ap't rental so we sort of knew that restaurant dining would not disappoint.
We had the MIXED GRILL PLATE for 2 and it was excellent except for the fries. Ajvar and sweet onions accompanied the platter....and let me tell you: after 18 days in Slovenia, I became addicted to Ajvar. Brought 2 small jars home with me and I am determined to make my own this winter.

When we arrived for dinner the restaurant was practically empty...by 8:15 PM it began filling up and by 8:45 PM the outdoor dining area was filled. We were delighted because Tomas and Vlado work extremely hard and deserve the business.

Our bill was 27.90 euros/$37.40. We felt we received value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morewierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, very good food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Bled with a tour of 24 people, took a quick walk around the area and 12 of us went for dinner at Gostilna Union. The ambiance was very pleasant and our waiter was very helpful - his English skills were good, he anticipated our needs, quickly answered questions while offering suggestions and alternatives and took orders from the 8 at our table without an order pad and got it all right.

We had a heavy hearty lunch so none of us were up to a big dinner and ate light - soups, appetizers and some house wine. The soups were made by the waiter's mother and were excellent - apparently a family run restaurant. All of our side dishes were very good to excellent and the house wine was amazingly good.

We all agreed we would return for another meal there and a few did and found that the first visit was not unique. Unfortunately we got busy outside of Bled and did not get a chance to go back, but certainly will when we return to the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flylikeahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, NH
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good food, helpful waiter”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Six of us had a late lunch here while on our own as part of a Go Ahead Tour group. The waiter was uncanny - he took six drink and food orders, never wrote anything down, and got everything perfect - where everythng went, etc. He was also helpful in explaining the various local dishes to us Americans. He even took the tome to explain to me that "Gostilna" means "Inn" in the local language (as in a place that has rooms & serves food), since I'd seen many restaurants throughout Slovenia that began with that word. Reasonable pricing as welll - a good place in Bled to eat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gostilna Union Bled also viewed

Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
Bohinjska Bela, Bled
 

Been to Gostilna Union Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing