We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!”
Review of Vila Preseren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Preseren
Ranked #17 of 61 Bled B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2013

WONDERFUL-Spent two nights after landing in Slovenia from the US. Location could not have been better, staff was very friendly and helpful, off street parking, full board meals were much better than expected and the rooms were better than the typical euro accommodations. Rooms were nothing spectacular but still much better than expected compared to Italy of France for the same price. We were glad to have rooms NOT facing the lake due to the late night noise from the restaurant and bar. Allowed us two great nights of sleep after 20-1/2 hours of travel. Again could not be a better and more enjoyable location. Live violin and piano music during dinner on the lakeside deck was most memorable! Lot's of pictures taken to remember it all.

Room Tip: IF you want to sleep, request a room away from the lake to avoid the noise from the bar and restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were placed at the Krim hotel but because of the smaller number of guests 2 dinners we had at Villa Prešern. Dinners were ok but the drinks cost a little more than other places.
I have a Spar plus card that had the action at Villa Prešern, as a partner, 2 Kremna Resins take away - 3.99 euros, I wanted to take advantage of this and bring them home. However, the waiter charged me more (4.86 or 4.89 euros). The difference is not a big but I think it is wrong to not respect the action that they themselves have embraced.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank semlino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Crashed here in August 2013 after an overnight flight from the US into Venice. Bled is about a 3-hour drive from the Venice airport. The inn is in a beautiful location directly on the lake and only a five-minute stroll from the town center. We appreciated not being directly in town and in a quieter location following our long flight. The inn has several selling points. There is free parking for guests in the courtyard directly in front of the hotel. Guests receive reserved tables at the restaurant which is located on a deck off the building's ground floor with a lakeside view. It appeared as though guests got the best tables. The restaurant is reasonable, the food and wine very good, and the night we were there, they had a talented trio from Italy performing folk songs from across Europe, using a violin, upright bass and accoustic guitar. The hotel is located about a dozen paces from a boat launch for about 8 of the traditional oared craft that take you across the lake to the island with the church. In the other direction, it's a 2-minute walk to the public beach/swimming area. The tram to the castle passes nearby and you could probably also hike around to the entrance to the alpine slide without much trouble, too (it's plainly visible from the restaurant deck).

On the down side (and this is NOT a major complaint) the rooms, while perfectly clean and rather large, are equipped with antiquated bathrooms and feature older furniture and carpeting. Our lower floor rooms looked out onto the roof of the restaurant which obscured the view of the lake. But this was, in one way, an advantage. Others have written of the guest room proximity to the restaurant and how the musical entertainment was evident as one tries to get an early sleep. We were not greatly bothered by this, parlty because the roof outside was also fending off soundwaves a bit. It probably helped that the evening's entertainment was accoustic and not greatly electrified.
My advice would be to bring along a dual-current white noise machine, have some wine with dinner, stay down there a while to enjoy the entertainment and go to bed happy.

It took a few minutes for the staff to check us in because, as others have mentioned, the main business they run at this place is the restaurant (you actually have to check-in at the bar, which sounds worse than it is). But get there in the early to mid-afternoon before the dinner rush and you won't have a major issue with this.

Given that many hotels in Bled get a bad rap for being of Communist-era construction and small room size, we thought the Vila Preseren was a very good choice. The staff was friendly and seemed happy to have us. The lakeside location was perfect and the experience of having our boat ride directly adjacent to the hotel and the great outdoor restaurant at our doorstep made this a very attractive residence. And Lake Bled is not to be missed. It's a stunning spot with lots to do and all of it within easy reach. Not sure Americans really know anything about this place, but it's a hidden gem. The Vila Preseren was a nice base camp for exploring it.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view, ask formthe top floor. But to mnimize noise fromthe restaurant, you may act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Overall, I recommend the hotel but it seems to be more of a restaurant that attached some rooms to it. The rooms are nice, though the one we had was a bit small. There isn't a front desk or other typical hotel staff - rather, you check in at the restaurant with the waiters. It is definitely well-situated (probably the best spot of any of the hotels I saw) as it is right under the castle and close to the swimming spots without being "downtown" (where most of the shopping and hotels are, only a 10-minute walk away which seemed to be totally safe in the dark). You can walk to the most popular swimming area, down by the camping spot, within 20 minutes (again, closest of any hotels I saw since that side of the lake is quite undeveloped). Restaurant is lovely though service was just OK. There are also free parking spots for guests, which was much appreciated, as was the free breakfast.

Room Tip: "Small Double Room Park View _ with Queen Bad - Free Parking + Free Wireless Internet + Breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in the one bedroom apartment facing the Lake and must say that our overall impression was positive. An excellent Bed, comfortable space, great views and excellent service from both staff in the hotel and Restaurant. The only downsides were the loud music one afternoon and a few nights but out of 6 it wasn't too bad, but if want peace and quiet then you may want to rethink however we found it mostly engaging when the live music was on and mostly ok when they played lighter contemporary music but when the duff duff electro music was played too loud then it was too much. A word to the manager however Ono sorts out the exuberant bar staff. But or only real issue was with the terrible leaking shower, so easy to fix and I hope it has been done, just requires a we shower screen seal and a new shower hose and head system and problem solved.

Room Tip: Front room top floor #6 or rear without view for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Actually we didn't stay here. We just popped in for breakfast every morning during our vacation at the lake Bled. And the breakfast was very-very good.
One can choose from the variety of breakfasts: english, american, french... each one is tasty healthy and big cup of great Coffeshop Company coffee is included. Worth visiting for breakfasts.
And I bet the hotel should be also quite good. I don't know the prices anyway, but next time I'm in Bled, I consider staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis-from-Fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a mix between restaurantand a guest house. The rooms were spacious and comfortable (no view though, but you're in the back of the villa, therefore less exposed to noise). The terrace is extremely pleasant for breakfast or dinner, just by the shore of the lake. It's ideally located to take the walk up to the castle or visit the main church. The food was very good, including great desserts (strawberry napoleon and chocolate torte). Service was friendly and efficient. We'll definitely try to stay here when we go back to beautiful Bled.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HankVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#8 of 24 in Bled
795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#12 of 24 in Bled
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#9 of 24 in Bled
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Preseren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Preseren

Address: Veslashka promenada 14, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Bled
Price Range: £61 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Preseren 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Preseren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Preseren Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing