We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant house close to Bled”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bled, Upper Carniola Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steph C
1 review
“Pleasant house close to Bled”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The property is situated in a convenient location, just 10 minutes drive away from Bled and with easy access to the motorway. It is clean and the bedrooms are of a good size. It well stocked with games and books that can be used during the stay. Vintage Gorge is close by and a clear stream can be seen flowing across the road. It is situated in a small village with restaurants and a small grocery shop nearby.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALLINPJ
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Some minus points ”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (a family of 4 adults) stayed at The Red House for 3 nights. It's in a small village outside Bled where there is a small store with a good selection and a typical small good Restuarant (try the cottage cheese rolls) within walking distance. The house is directly on a narrow road that is quite busy with some large trucks using it. This makes getting out of the driveway somewhat!! a nerve racking suicidal dash! The house itself has 3 bedrooms all with good beds but the 4th bed in the lounge didn't look comfortable and really only clogged up the lounge more than it already was. There is a basket of all manner of maps and heaps of games and many books around the house. There aren't many flat surfaces without something on them, so if you like minimalism this is not the place for you to recharge! The showers are both good and the kitchen is new and functional and the wooden floors are nice to walk around barefoot. Our impression is that the house would super cosy in the cooler months but in high summer may be very hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miked9201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday, perfect location”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

There were seven of us that stayed at the Red House in the middle of May for 4 days. upon arrival, the house was very welcoming and clean. We quickly unpacked and took a short 15 minute walk to the local supermarket to gather a few supplies. In the evening we walked down to Gostilna Vintgar which is a nice little restaurant next to the river. The waiter recommended fresh caught trout which he later fished out from the river after ordering. Food was superb and very cheap. The next day we woke up to thunderstorms and rain so we decided to drive to postojna caves which is about 90 minute drive. we payed roughly 20 euros each and took a trip which lasted roughly a few hours. (worth seeing). We also visited Bled and took a boat road over to the church in the middle of the lake. (you now have to pay to enter the church!) Vintgar Gorge is also a must see and well worth a visit. on the final day we stopped off at ljubljana and had drinks by the river. The house is located just outside Bled and took us 45 minutes to walk to but i would recommend hiring a car. The house was cozy and had a large variety of board games. We will definitely be back sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunauer
Amberg, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The "Red House" was an excellent choice for spending our autumn vacation. It is really good equipped for up to 8 persons. Parkingplace for up to 4 cars, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathromms, big kitchen and living room with piano and wood-fired oven.
Just the entry to the property is a bit dangerous to handle, as it is located in a curve.
We certainly will come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the living room with wood-fired oven and piano
Liked least: the entry to the property (a mirror at the opposite side would be perfect)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramospint...
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This spacious holiday home was well located a few miles from Bled and had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. We recommend it without reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home comforts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoMo23
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent house, would recommend”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the Red House for three nights with a group of five friends. The Red House was an excellent base for exploring the area. It was nicely decorated and was very welcoming. The house was stocked with a range of games, DVDs, books and information. The kitchen was good and there was plenty of crockery etc. The living area was very nice and cosy and the bedrooms were all good sizes. We really enjoyed our stay here and wished we could have stayed longer. The house is very close to Bled and Vintgar Gorge and we would recommend also driving half an hour to Lake Bohinj.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuri D
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for the money!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are family of 7.Spent a week in the Red house .Very satisfied.
A lot of space , 2 double bedrooms (0ne with additional baby bed ) ,and one bedroom with two single beds. Well equipped kitchen. DVD and Wii did the job for the kids.
Possibly living room might enclose 2 more but not sure it will be comfortable for more then night or two. Anyways we didn't need it.
5 minutes walking to restourant Fortuna having suburb menu with mega-sized dishes. Relatedly cheap an more tasty then more famous places.Don't miss the deserts!
Perfect location (5 minutes driving from/ to the lake.) in typical Slovenian village for star schema trips to diferrent places in Slovenia Austria and Italy.
And the most important -unbeatable price of less then 100 EU per night for all that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and price and very good condition of the house
Liked least: I'd advice asking for more towels beforehand if you stay for a week or more
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing