We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Communist Grandeur”
Review of Vila Bled

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Bled
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Tumwater WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Communist Grandeur”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was Tit0's palace on Lake Bled. Good views of the lake. Excellent breakfast with excellent service. Spa was very good and was used by a number of guests. It was a look back in history and for that reason, justified the 60's decor. The property is magnificient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    89
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
71
184
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

While not for everyone, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Vila Bled. The hotel has an air of faded communist grandeur. We had a large room (bedroom, sitting room, bath) on the third floor over looking the beautiful island church. The room has a bit of 1960s flare but if you've done any research, that is what you should expect here. We were late in the season and the hotel was pretty much deserted. We spent several hours roaming the hotel and exploring hidden rooms and even ventured up the hill to see the "updated" vila that Tito never finished.

If you like art deco, check out the hidden room in the bar (behind the mirrors). You can almost see Tito's ghost entertaining in here. Now, it is used as a bit of a storage room but you can still see its great bones.

The general manager gave us a great tour and was very informative about the vila's history.

Additionally, we enjoyed a great breakfast as well as dinner in the restaurant - both alone so we really felt like we were the only two guests.

The Vila Bled may not have all the luxuries of a 5 star hotel but we found it comfortable, charming and totally unique. If you want to sleep at a place with history and maybe have a story or two to tell, then by all means spend a night or two here.

Room Tip: Nothing beats waking up to the view of the church island. Incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed there for one night on October 18th. We got a big room on the third floor facing the famous Bled church. The room is big with spacious bathroom. There was an insect in the room that bit me at night. Breakfast is so so when comparing to other hotel of the same rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wareemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for one night on a recent trip to Croatia. We were supposed to be staying at the Grand Toplice witha lakeview room but they had overbooked and we ended up at the Villa. We did not have a view of the lake but we did have a huge suite with an enormous balcony. We were supposed to have a twin bedded room but apparently they do not have them at this hotel. They put an extra bed in the living room area which was not very comfortable nor was it convenient to the bathroom which was off the bedroom area.The furnishings are old but well maintained. Bathrooms were very big but could really use some updating.The Villa was Tito's summer palace and it was nice to wander around and look at the murals and paintings in the public rooms. Lots of history. Fortunately we had our own driver as the hotel is a fair distance from the center of town. We did not eat dinner there but the breakfast was very nice, could either eat inside or ona lovely terraace on the edge of the lake.

Room Tip: I think some of the suites overlook the lake, try for one if they do
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djw34285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had read the TA reviews before we went and knew what to expect. This was a unique experience! There is a lot of history here. The hotel has been updated to the past. The setting is on the lake with beautiful views. It is a medium walk back to shops and restaurants. The room was nice and very clean. The breakfast was good but could have offered a wider selection. The staff went out of there way to make sure you had everything you needed. This would be a must stay on a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Vila Bled was the perfect place for a one-night stay in Bled. The hotel has great historical character and is a quirky combo of dated European Continental and Communist starkness. The location and setting can't be beat. Also enjoyed our dinner there. I loved imagining what it must have been like in its heyday. Service was excellent -- before, during and after our stay. In fact, I left my hair iron in the room (discovered this after I had already moved on to Croatia) and am convinced that if Bojan had found a taxi driver or guest who was going to be in Zagreb the day we were, he would've sent it off with them (I bought a new one in Rovinj). Bled is a beautiful place to visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PGPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

To help you better understand my reviews, my wife and I are independent travelers in our mid-60s. While we definitely like a bit of luxury and enjoy good food, we usually find five-star hotels and Michelin starred restaurants too pretentious.

You will either love this place, or hate it. Vila Bled was Tito's summer villa, now converted into a hotel. The rooms are large (we were upgraded to a two room suite, as it was the end of the season and the hotel wasn't very full), but a bit.. shabby or historical, depending on your point of view. The furniture reminded me of what my parents, aunts and uncles had in the 1950s -- a sort of mid-century moderne; but of top quality (especially, the wooden pieces like dressers and desks). The bathroom, however, was totally modern and of the highest standard.

The hotel has historical murals in its conference room, paintings and photographs of Tito, and his desk (you can use it!) and a lovely setting away from the tourist sprawl at the head of Lake Bled.

The food in the dining room is very good, but since the hotel wasn't very full and many people choose to eat elsewhere, it had a sort of dead feeling. Maybe it is more lively in high season.

Rumor has it that the hotel is going to be upgraded -- it would benefit from a pool (for example). I just hope they don't destroy the historical ambience.

Room Tip: The two room suites give you lots of space. Ask for one overlooking the lake, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry_Shapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#3 of 23 in Bled
729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#2 of 23 in Bled
412 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#10 of 23 in Bled
1,023 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
1.1 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#7 of 23 in Bled
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Bled

Property: Vila Bled
Address: C Svobode 26, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bled
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#5 Family Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Bled 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vila Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Bled Hotel Bled
Vila Hotel Bled
Bled Vila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing