We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
173
26
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
26
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake bledartificial flowerstwo bedroom suitebreathtaking placetea making facilitiesbooked a family roomcomplimentary upgraderoad noiseentrance halllocal attractionspleasant strollperfect place to relaxeggs cookedgreat lake viewpletna boatliving areawalk into town
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

After travelling for two weeks in Europe my husband decided that our week in Slovenia we needed something indulgent and up market because it was just going to be the two of us.
Vila Istra is truly beautiful. The furniture, fabrics and fittings have all been selected with the finest of taste and luxury in mind. We had a suite which had 6 rooms (just for the two of us) and all the main rooms have spectacular views over Lake Bled.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming – from Frank at reception to the excellent chef Miha. We had dinner two nights in the restaurant and were spoilt with choice and selections from meals of local produce and Slovenia tradition. Miha is a very talented young chef and an asset to Vila Istra. Nothing was too much trouble and he was very keen for us to try various dishes and waiting for our feedback. My husband and I loved his creations and Miha was pleased to hear this.
Situated right on the lake we walked into town and Bled is a lovely town with lots to offer. We tried the tradition ‘cream cake’ which was so light and delicious and a ‘must have’.
Frank (from reception) was keen to mark our map of where we should go to explore all the sights.
Our 4 day stay was definitely a highlight of our month away and we would love to return in the winter to experience the atmosphere of Bled at its best.

Room Tip: You would have to have a room/s overlooking Lake Bled - too beautiful a place to stay and not see the Lake each morning.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This gem overlooking Lake Bled, although is a short walk into the center, it is well worth the walk. Mr Frenk and staff could not do enough for you. We had the best table in the cozy restaurant they have in the Villa. A table just for two on a balcony outside overlooking Lake Bled. Could not have been better. The chef, the young Mr Miha Dolinar well exceeds his years with his expertise and daring in the kitchen. We had an unforgettable meal, and he made sure to come out and spend some time with us during and even after the meal. There is also a very nice outside terrace overlooking the lake for that coffee or afternoon drink. I cannot recommend this place enough. The location, the views, especially the staff, and the VIlla itself were to say the least extraordinary. Visit Lake Bled and stay here, you will not want to leave!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake are super! You must try their restaurant.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed only 1 night at this very clean and elegantly decorated house located in front of beautiful Lake Bled.
My husband and I were warmly greeted by Frenk, who was also very helpful with great suggestions to get the most of our short visit.
We had all our meals there and we strongly recommend it! Lunch was delicious: light, fresh and very well presented. We chose to have it in the outside patio from where we could see the lake. Dinner was an amazing three course meal + dessert! The chef, Mikhail (not sure about the spelling) is very talented. It was a pleasure seeing how much he enjoys his work.
We would definitely come back!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Angelai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in the lovely apartment B, which offered a fantastic view from the wonderful balcony over the lake. The apartment is beautifully decorated and very comfortable although the bed in the living room is a sofa bed – OK for children or a short stay but I would not like to spend a week sleeping on it. Bed in bedroom was very comfortable. Bathroom was pleasant and well –equipped but there was an intermittent bad drain smell - hopefully this is just a temporary problem. The balcony was the highlight of the apartment as you could easily and comfortably seat four people on it – ideal for relaxing and looking over the beautiful lake and surrounding scenery.

The hotel staff were very friendly and we took breakfast (12 euros per person) on one day – fairly decent but the orange juice was actually orange squash, which was rather disappointing. The villa lies in a pleasant area about a kilometre out of town but it is an easy and enjoyable walk to the main shopping/hotel/restaurant area.

There were boats for hire just near to the villa so it was easy to row to the island if you wished.

Free wi-fi but not terribly reliable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmfcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at Vila Istra for our final stop in Slovenia and were there for 3 nights. I have been to Bled before and stayed in one of the hotels on the main street, I much preferred Vila Istra and would want to stay there again if we returned.

We were in Apartment B which has one bedroom, a lounge with a pull out bed, small dining table and balcony overlooking the lake. I loved the way it was decorated and it was nice to be in more of a 'home' rather than a hotel. There were 4 adults in our party which meant the arrangement would only be suitable for a few days and would probably get a bit much if you stayed there for a week e.g. the lounge being a bedroom and sharing a toilet/bath with each other. I think it would be perfect for a couple with two children and would possibly save you a bit of money as you could do some basic self catering.

The apartment has tea making facilities which is a rarity in Slovenia but was warmly welcomed by us Brits.

The breakfast is not included and was recommended but I did not think it was great value for money when comparing the breakfasts in other hotels. Choice was a bit limited and we had to ask for quite a few things, perhaps an off day but I would personally venture out to eat a better value breakfast for 12 euros.

It is a 10-15 minute walk into the main centre but is quite nice to do this in the evening and helps you walk off dinner. We also hired a boat to go to Island near the apartment which meant a shorter boat trip and slightly better value.

Room Tip: Apartment B has a good view of the lake from the balcony but only one main big bedroom.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrosbyFieldsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews