We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
173
26
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
26
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake bledartificial flowerstwo bedroom suitebreathtaking placetea making facilitiesbooked a family roomcomplimentary upgraderoad noiseentrance halllocal attractionspleasant strollperfect place to relaxeggs cookedgreat lake viewpletna boatliving areawalk into town
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

the location was perfect. it is on the lake, but away from the larger hotels and tourist restaurants which is wonderful and peaceful. you can walk to everything. they also have free parking in their own lot. they have outdoor spaces and balconies which are lovely, especially if it is warm enough to eat outside. they have a couple of quality bikes to loan, so take advantage and take a spin around the lake. the room was not particularly to my taste, it is shabby chic, but that isn't to say it is bad. bedding is clean. bathroom was pretty clean. the shower in our room was small euro style, but good pressure and hot water. bed was ok in terms of comfort. no view in our room, but it was quiet. I had hoped for a big fluffy down comforter, but maybe they don't bring it out until Fall/Winter. The service was lovely. all the staff were nice and friendly. Breakfast is extra, but affordable. The breakfast has quality food in abundance and full of variety. and ask for some cappuccinos. the coffee could be a little weak, but you can ask them to make it stronger they will. I am very glad we stayed here. no elevators, so if you have mobility issues it may not work for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This property is a little down the lake from the main town and therefore it is much quieter. The rooms are very comfortable. The dining room is quite beautiful and faces the lake. We felt like royalty at breakfast. I strongly recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sightseer595297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

It was wonderful stay there .. every thing is perfect ..they have amazing view.. the sweet was big enough for 4 people ..they have good breakfast..villa istra lies exactly at the lake ..its strongly waaaaaaw♥.♥

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Noura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I, along with our friend, had the pleasure of staying in Vila Istra this past September. I must say it was one of the most romantic inns we have ever stayed in throughout our European travels. As you approach the gingerbread home your breath is taken away by its location directly across from Lake Bled. Warmly greeted by Frank, who assisted us with our bags from the car, you instantly feel as if you have entered an elegant home of old friends. We were quickly shown to our 2 rooms on he second floor (no elevator but thankfully Frank is strong and handled all our bags!) Our deluxe lake front suite was stunning. i can't begin to detail how well appointed, clean and comfortable the room was and having a private porch facing the lake...the cherry on the sundae. Our friend was next door in a double room, again beautifully decorated; and both rooms had comfortable beds with luxurious linens. The real treat for our first of 3 nights there was a 4 course dinner expertly prepared by Chef Mihal Dolinar. His selection of local products combined with his creativity and wine knowledge gave us a perfect dinning experience. And while we did venture out the second night to another villa in Lake Bled, we all agreed it couldn't compare with Mihal's talents so we enjoyed an equally delicious meal with him on our last night. Mihal's enthusiasm for cooking and his desire to satisfy his clientele is reason alone to visit the inn. And yes with the help of Frank and the villa's owner we did venture out and beyond the charming town of Lake Bled and could easily have spent another 3 days in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlene0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our experience was very disappointing. We drove from Novo Mesto & carried our bags to the desk. We were excited, specifically wanting to stay at Lake Bled in a vila, particularly at Vila Istra after reading the reviews. It was our first visit to Slovenia & staying in a vila on Lake Bled a bucket list item, one I was most excited about. This may be the one and only time I ever have the opportunity to travel here from the United States and set a terrible tone for our stay at Lake Bled.

Here is the big let down - We are immediately told, 'we are sorry we over booked & you cannot stay here BUT we will put you in an apartment we own or a 'chalet' (read: cabin) in town' (no view, lights, traffic noise, etc)

The man at the desk went on to continually say 'it's much bigger than the room you booked.' He was quite sincere but this entirely misses the point. We booked what we wanted. We are not a family looking for the most affordable place to stay, we booked and upscale room at an iconic place, size was not a concern AT ALL as we were there for the atmosphere. We were then encouraged to pay our bill (our MISTAKE) there was no price break, which in retrospect is an insult regardless of what they normally rent the chalet for - there are 2 of us in a place that sleeps 6. We spent the next 24 hrs wishing we had insisted on something else or checked to see if we could locate a room at another vila on our own..

Someone drove us over to the chalet. It was ok, rustic and traditional and they repeated, bigger. After the man left we discovered that there was no bedding on the beds (we had to call them on our U.S. mobile phone, at our cost b/c there was no phone), the entry door handle was nearly falling off (not secure?) & we were competing with the dental office next door for parking which was problematic in the morning when we were blocked in while trying to leave. Once we located the light switch, we also realized the tile floor was dingy and needed to be swept (no broom) and the place generally looked like it had been unoccupied for some time. Someone did put clean bedding on while we were out later & some towels were left. The bath was ok, but the shower teensy tiny and did not drain properly.

We slept badly due to the sagging bed, parking lights of the ice arena & the nesting/scurrying sounds of a mouse. The beds are in a loft accessed by a small spiral stairway with low ceiling. It was stuffy at night. We were exhausted the next morning and would not recommend.

The place is basically like the seasonal cabin a friend of a friend might let you stay at when they aren't using it. It was decorated in a similar fashion. It's our understanding that it is owned by the dentist next door.

Breakfast was comp'ed - the very least they could do and the only effort made to compensate for the overbooking. It was very nice and we sat at a window table, finally enjoying the view, briefly. Decor in the lobby and dining area was very nice so we assume the rooms are very nice, if you can get one.

Honor your bookings! This is not a high travel season, school has started and the weather is not warm, but not cold enough for the winter season either so to be overbooked at this time of year is simply bad management. If not possible to honor your booking, find an equally comparable room elsewhere at another vila if necessary, not a cabin or apartment. We were not looking for a cheap room for a large family or our group of friends to use as a party base. We did not need or want a kitchenette or sleeping room for 6. We understand that sometimes things happen but just repeating that you are sorry rings hollow, especially since we will possibly not have the opportunity to travel to Lake Bled again, EVER.

The Vila Istra is on the lake and has lovely view of the island, lake, and castle. We booked a garden view room and it surely would have a pleasant view of the garden, which looked very nice from the parking lot.

My ratings below apply to the chalet, not the rooms because we never got our room. Unfair? Too bad. Tell me about it! This is what the staff offered up for our money and review!

Room Tip: Beware. Even though our booking said there was no need to call to confirm, I would call to confirm otherwise you can not be sure you will get what you have booked. Either lake or garden view would be lovely. Or I imagine so based upon other reviews. We will sadly, never know!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank USNLTwoHearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews