We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't recommend it higher!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Bled

Hostel Bled
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Bled
Ranked #26 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Bled
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't recommend it higher!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a perfect stay at Maja and Jani's! The place is small, intimate and immaculate; the beds were really comfortable, the service couldn't have been any more friendly or welcoming, and it's cheap too. We also rented bikes from them for €5 each :)

The location, though away from the lake, is beautiful and rural, in a small village just outside Bled. We thought this would be a downside at first but it turned out to be a huge bonus, away from the business of the lakeside. So don't be put-off by this.

Maja only charged us one night even though we technically booked and stayed two, picking us up at 6am on our first 'night' and dropping us right to the bus stop in Bled after we checked out. She gave us a load of advice and is really enthusiastic about travel, meeting people, and Bled itself. She even left out some free fruit for breakfast as the bakery was closed!

I can honestly say it was one of my best hostel experiences!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Koper, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The onwers are extremely friendly and helpful. They gave excellent tips on hiking and wondering aroud this area. Rooms and common area are very clean. Kitchen is wee bit small but well-equipted. Strongly recommend to nature lovers!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I definetely strongly recommend staying here! The hostel is slightly out of the town in the most beautiful setting imaginable. It is brand new, pristine, perfectly clean, very comfortable beds, nice rooms, great showers.

What really makes the difference though is the incredible atmosphere and service from the owners Maja and Jani. They are beautiful people, so welcoming and friendly and go to incredible lengths to help make your stay and holiday as perfect as possible. Some examples from our stay;

offers to pick up and drop off
free local fruits, cookies, good coffee
heaps of help researching things to do and places to stay (Maja has extensive maps of Slovenia and is great at research!)
helped us plan our cycle tour of slovenia and croatia complete with full printed maps (including asking friends who were in areas we wanted to travel through what it was like)

Basically just lovely people, i felt like I was staying with friends and totally spoilt! So glad we came here, our entire trip will be so much better for this stay with all the knowledge we know have!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Hostel Bled was a great place to stay. The couple who run it (Maia and Yani) are lovely and were great at giving us a transfer to/from the bus station, and made the place feel like a real home more than a hostel. They also have bikes which are cheap to rent and gave us great recommendations about what to do and what not to do in Bled - essential as we were only there for a day. The hostel is not in Bled but in neighbouring Ribno, so prepare to get lost on your first night there and take a torch. Price was pretty good.
The rooms, the kitchen and the bathrooms were all clean and very well looked after. They don't have an oven to use but a couple of hobs and a small fridge.
Overall, a good stay with nice people, and I'll hopefully make it back one day.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Recently stayed here for 3 nights wanting to avoid the bright lights of Bled itself. The hostel in found in Ribno, less than 2km from the centre of town and if you don't feel up to the short walk then the owners will come and pick you up. The hostel has dorm availability only but it is impeccably maintained and there's a free light breakfast each morning. The hostel has full kitchen facilities and the owners offer terrific advice with regard to visiting the local sights and went out of their way to accommodate me during my time there.
I visited Bled as a base to climb Mount Triglav and not only did Janni (and I hope I spelt that right!) drive me to the park, he accompanied me to the head of the trail (at 5am!) and filled my bag with freshly picked apples from his orchard.
Maja speaks perfect English and goes out of her way to assist in all things. This is a wonderful little hostel. 5 *****
Oh and finally, what I initially thought a disadvantage - the location - turned out to be an added bonus. Ribno is one of a series of tiny villages scattered around Bled, all of them stunningly picturesque. Beautiful setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mosstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived with no expectations of the hostel. We received great service from the husband and wife who run the hotel. They were generous with their time whether it was coming to fix out bike when we were 15km away, advising us on what sites are best to see and assisting us with our future travel by driving us to the train or bus and searching available public transport times. The only downfall was that there was no air con in the dorms (there was a fan) but it was still tolerable. Definitely recommend staying here. The ride down to the lake offered a unique scenic view which you don't get when you stay closer to the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Fantastic place to stay when your in lake bled. The hostel suppy bikes for €5 a day which is grey value.
The hostel is sparkling clean. The owners are very nice people and go above and beyond to make your trip amazing .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#4 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#3 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jazz Rooms & Apartments
1.7 mi away
Castle Hostel 1004
Castle Hostel 1004
#3 of 85 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bled

Property: Hostel Bled
Address: Pungart 7 | Ribno, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Bled offers you 18 beds in 2 mixed dorm rooms with shared bathrooms. It is an excellent place to stay for the budget travellers. All facilities are newly equipped. Lockers are provided, there is free wi-fi and free internet access. In a small kitchen you can prepare a nice breakfast or a simple meal. Dinning table is available in the common room, where you can meet other backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing