We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great view, but don't expect a 4 star experience”
Review of Golf Hotel Bled

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golf Hotel Bled
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Park Hotel did a bait and switch on us. We were booked into the Park on Expedia, only to be told when we arrived that there were no rooms available! We jumped up and down till they put us in one of their sister hotels, the Golf.

At the Golf, we were first put in a room with a limited view. We complained and got a room with a view, though without a/c. Since my wife and I don't like a/c, and the weather was perfect, this was fine with us. Until the noise from the bars below kept us awake till 3 in the morning. Be aware, Slovenians know how to party!

The hotel feels like a holdover from the communist era, but it is clean and in a great location. I have no problem recommending it.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the corner rooms ending in 21, eg 521 is the best room, because it's the corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AfricanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Golf Hotel Bled, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting our Hotel Golf.

May I first apologize for being moved to another hotel (of higher category). I am pleased to read that you managed to get a lake view room – they are extremely well booked during the season period. As I explained to other guests, we are planning to install air condition into the remaining rooms therefore I am convinced to meet the guests' expectation’s also with that.
Further, I am pleased to find out that you liked cleanliness and location of the hotel.

Dear guest, hopefully we will be able to welcome you again.
Sincerely yours,

SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, executive director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed four nights and were generally quite satisfied. A caveat on the location - it is uphill from the lake and the steps may be a problem for some, but there is a way to the lake that bypasses most of them. It is a couple of miles to walk around the lake, but it is such a nice walk; take it offers such nice scenery take it if you're able.

Our room was good size with a small couch, chairs and a small table, good Wi-Fi, and a nice balcony to enjoy the view. It was next to the elevator, which made strange noises when it stopped. This is not a major problem and others in our group also heard it and they were not as close. We were on the fourth floor and water from the tub/shower of toilet did make a noticeable noise which was easy to hear. As with most hotels in the region English TV is limited, but this should only be a problem if the weather forces you inside - otherwise get out and enjoy the peace and beauty of the area.

The morning breakfast buffet is more than adequate - large number of choices and generally good food for a buffet. The dining room has views of the lake.

There is a health center for massages, a nice pool and hot tub area. The lobby is large with a lot of seating and a small bar from which to enjoy a drink.

We were warned before checking in that while the hotel is quite pleasant, we should not expect the same from the front desk staff and that was good advice. Be prepared as your patience may be tested. This situation would not prevent us from staying there again as everything else was quite good.

Room Tip: Get a room on the fifth floor with a lake view and to avoid the sound of water coming from floors ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flylikeahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great location, on the shore of Lake Bled. Excellent view. Room very comfortable. However, appointments and characterization as a premium hotel was diminished by problems in the maintenance and management of the hotel. We were part of a group of eighty people scheduled for a four-day stay. Upon arrival, found out that one of the two elevators was out of order -- had been for two days and was not corrected for another two days. Very difficult to move a lot of people on a timely basis with one working elevator. Our room key didn't work and we had to go back down to lobby to have the key reset. Room was a corner suite with wrap-around balcony. Very nice, but the door handle on the sliding door leading to the balcony came off in my hand when I tried to open the door. Had a Coke from the minibar -- the coke bottle stayed on the counter for two days. Waste basket in the living room was left un-emptied for the same two days. Breakfast was superb but lunch and dinner were overpriced, although food was good.

Arrangements for use of the hotel for our conference had been made several months in advance. On the day of the conference, tables were not arranged according to our plan. Easels and chalkboards were not available. We had to locate a service person to properly handle the lighting for our purposes.

In general, the hotel gives the ambiance of a four-star or five-star hotel, but management and staff performed at the level of a lesser-rated establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kooss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Golf Hotel Bled, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Golf. I am pleased to find out that you liked location, view, rooms, and food.

May I apologize for troubles with the elevator; I agree with you that it was inconvenient. We tried to do everything possible to repair it as soon as possible but unfortunately technical works lasted longer as expected.

Further, I already talked to the hotel manager about the maintenance issues you stated and about cleaning the baskets. Similar about the conference setting and equipment; as we pay a lot of attention to conference business we always carefully prepare the conference rooms and equipment and we receive many praises about that. I was therefore surprised when reading your review. Thank you for sharing your experience as I will discuss the remarks on next meeting with my colleagues.

Dear guest, I hope that we would still be able to welcome you and remain
Sincerely yours,

SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, executive director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Instead of sitting at expensive cafe for the views, make sure you go to 5th floor terrace, has great view of lake/castle/church for free. It has a fitness center has the same gorgeous view.

Good buffet dinner with ice cream bar! long line sometimes.

Good internet. Big counter space in the bathroom for toiletery

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobolee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a booked mixed group trip to Bled way back in January and my parents in law had decided to stay in a deluxe lake view room at the Hotel Bled. On arrival in Slovenia it became obvious that they were in the middle of a heatwave with temperatures hitting the low 40s. However we did not think this would be a problem until we got to the Hotel Golf. It seems that some rooms, including the expensive lakeside ones have no air conditioning and guests are just supplied with a fan (if they request it), to compound this it was too noisy to keep the windows open and the fan broke.
After a night of this (my in laws are in their 70s) and much back and forth with the front desk they were finally moved to the Park Hotel. It is a real shame that a hotel as lovely as the Golf, with its great pools and spa should fall down on something so basic as air conditioning.
Another small gripe was some of the waiting staff at the Verandah restaurant, two in particular were surly to the point of rude, making guests feel like an inconvenience. Again this is such a shame as all the staff at the Ziva Wellness centre and desk staff were so helpful.

Room Tip: Try and get one with air conditioning in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kokomonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Golf Hotel Bled, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Golf for your stay in Lake Bled. I am pleased to find out that you liked the hotel itself, wellness area and its staff.

I regret that your rooms at the hotel weren't air conditioned; there is a part of the hotel where air conditioning hasn't been installed yet. As we are aware of the fact that air conditioning should be a part of the hotel we are planning to install it in the remaining rooms before next summer. I am therefore convinced that your possible next stay would be much more comfortable. Besides, I am glad that a solution was found, offering you an accommodation at a nearby Hotel Park.
Secondly, I wish to thank you for your comment about the services in the Veranda Restaurant. We pay a lot of attention to the services therefore we will react immediately.

I wish to apologize if your stay hasn't met your expectations. Still, I believe that we will strongly improve quality of our services due to described actions.
I hope to be able to welcome you again and remain
Sincerely yours,

SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel has an excellent view of the lake and the castle. Our room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast buffet has a good selection but not a lot of hot food. The lobby is big with lots of seating space and the presence of a pianist was very romantic. He played very well. Only stayed for one night so was not able to see or try other amenities. Service was average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdlfagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our vacation in over a year, and I must say it has over exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a corner room which had big living area and amazing view. We couldn't get over how pleasant the hotel staff was. Mrs. Dragica (hotel reservation manager) was professional, polite, helpful and very kind. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#6 of 24 in Bled
802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#12 of 24 in Bled
1,115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#8 of 24 in Bled
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.1 mi away
Savica Hotel
Savica Hotel
#16 of 24 in Bled
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hotel Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel Bled

Address: Cankarjeva cesta 4, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bled
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#6 Business Hotel in Bled
#12 Family Hotel in Bled
Price Range: £89 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Hotel Bled 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golf is located in a beautiful park, right in the heart of Bled. Due to its elevated position it offers amazing panoramic views of the Lake Bled, the Bled Castle and the majestic Julian Alps. In the hotel there are 150 rooms and suites, all of them are air-conditioned and feature a balcony where you can enjoy beautiful views of the surroundings. The rooms are modern and well-equipped with a satellite TV, a safe, a minibar and a private bathroom. In the hotel there is also a modern conference center with all the necessary equipment for organising successful conferences, business meetings and other events. If you need to rest and relax or want to be pampered, don’t forget to visit the Živa Wellness Center and enjoy your time in saunas, steam baths and hot tubs. We also recommend you visit the Veranda Restaurant and enjoy the selected local cuisine or international à la carte dishes. You taste buds will be grateful! The area around Bled is perfect for cycling, hiking, mountaineering or even canoeing, so you can also have an active holiday if you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golf Hotel Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Bled
Bled Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing