We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices for an enjoyable stay”
Review of Hotel Astoria Bled

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astoria Bled
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great prices for an enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We arrived late by a train for Venice. We couldn't get a taxi as the restaurant near the train station told us so we decided to walk the 2,6 km to reach the hotel. Okay, that was not really pleasant so we were not so happy when arrived to the hotel.

BUT! What a great surprise to see some efficient, kindly staff at the main desk! We were hungry and the restaurants near the hotel were closing in an hour so the guy at the desk did our check-in while we went dropping our luggages in our room and then he suggested us a great place.

The room was big, clean and the washroom was really convenient. The breakfast was good enough to start a great day of walk at Bled. The downtown is at 8 minutes from the hotel. The city is small so you can see everything you want by walking not more than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank val_cloutier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    159
    47
    9
    6
See reviews for
58
234
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We arrived late in Bled late at night after spending all day on the train from Split, Croatia. We were hot and exhausted, and we couldn't get the AC to work in the room we were assigned. We called the front desk to complain, and someone came upstairs to try to help us with the AC. He couldn't get it to work either, so we were immediately changed to an "upgraded" room where the AC did work.

To be honest, I didn't see much difference between the upgraded room and the first one we were assigned, other than the AC working. Both were clean, had a fridge, a small balcony, etc. I expected more from the upgrade besides the AC, but it really wasn't a big disappointment. We had only planned to stay two nights, but we so enjoyed the town that we decided to spend a third night.

Breakfast was good - not spectacular, but perfectly acceptable. For the most part all employees we met were very pleasant.

This was our first time in Bled, and we loved it. The hotel was a bit farther from the lake and some of the restaurants than other hotels were, but the town is so beautiful that you'll enjoy walking around. We thought it was great, and we'd stay at the Hotel Astoria again if the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kneecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had been to a week long music festival camping in the Julian Alps so picked Bled as a local relaxing place to stay - the 4 of us were put in the NON REFURBISHED rooms - OMG... I have never seen rooms like it in a 3 star hotel.. Thead bare carpet - dark and dingy - no AC - The wetroom shower did not work as a wetroom as the water went the opersite direction to the drain and the water started to run into the room ( had to call the maid ) the reception were apologetic and said they were aware of the problem... the door to the room looked like it had been forced open at one point but it did lock - you could hear next door and while in the shower you could have a conversation with the people next door in their shower ( we know this as we were next to friends and we did this )..... We just assumed we had picked a bad hotel so went to bed to get some much needed sleep ----- I was awoken during the evening by the phone ringing in the room which was kids ringing around rooms.... then the noise of kids running up and down the corridors and banging on doors started.. we were so exhausted that we just tried to get back to sleep and in the morning we talked with reception... they again were sorry we were disturbed but wondered why we never came to complain at the time - I do not think they realised we were absolutely exhausted and the effort to get up and dressed and come down would have woken us up more.... we advised we were going to move hotels - they then moved us to the refurbished rooms --- ohh now these were lovely... really spacioius - nice balcony - lovely bathroom - AC - thick carpet - a real contrast to the other rooms... I think the hotel should make you aware of these rooms - charge a cheaper rate as some travellers will be fine with the standard but regular holiday makers should not have to put up with them at all... and especially at the rate we paid. When you book make sure you ask NOT TO BE PUT IN THE SUBSTANDARD rooms... The normal rooms are defo worth the cost and it will be a lovely hotel all around once the rooms are all on the same standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezebeluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

While not lakeside, the hotel is close to the centre, walking distance to the lake & to restaurants. A decent (varied but not inspired) breakfast is included; the rooms are clean, fair size, have balconies and good AC. There is a lobby computer for guest use.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank centralNFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wassenaar
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We rserved 4 rooms at Astoria Hotel for a family trip to the Lake Bled. We arrived at the hotel and there was a little problem with the parking space as they have a limited number of parking lots. This was solved and w proceeded to the reception where we were pleased to be upgraded to suits of a bedroom and a sitting room each. That was a nice start!
The rooms were really clean and the hotel in general was good for a three star hotel. I should point out that there are renovated rooms and outdated ones. The renovated rooms ahve electronic card keys and are better equiped with electronic safes and new furniture.
The hotel is about 3 or 4 minutes walk to the lake, however due to trees around the hotel, only 3rd floor rooms will be able to see the lake from balconies.
Breakfast was avrage and generally good.
Only one point I will add about the steps before the main door of the hotel and the lack of a path for the luaggage, so you will have to carry them up the stairs since the hotel doesn't have a porter.
Very pleasnt hotel and worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Hotel by far is pretty modest. The breakfast that they serve is even more so. However the cheerful staff at the reception and their valuable suggestions take the hotel to a differnt level.
The Hotel is well located .. not too far from the Lake.

I recommend this place for its value of Money and the quality of service.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayurBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I booked the Winter Break Package which was amazing - 2 nights = 2 breakfasts, 2 dinners in the castle, free internet and upgrade total of EUR158 for the both of us.
However, the room we were given the door wouldn't lock - apparently some 10 year olds had been mucking around. Moved to the room next door and the shower leaked - both of these rooms were the new refurbished superior rooms - so I dread to think what the standard ones are like!
I can't fault the staff at the hotel though, they were very good and wanted to help in any way possible. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our quiet stay and the unusual beautiful weather.
Would stay again. Oh if you eat in the castle - be warned they sting you for the water - EUR5.50!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danslowj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#3 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#10 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kompas Hotel Bled
Kompas Hotel Bled
#13 of 23 in Bled
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#2 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#7 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Bled

Property: Hotel Astoria Bled
Address: Preshernova cesta 44, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria Bled 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality & simple elegance in the heart of Bled ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Astoria Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing