We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short vacation.”
Review of Pension Mlino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Mlino
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

A fine place to spend a little vacation. The hotel is close to the lake and with a beautiful sightseeing of the lake, of the castle and of the little church on the island.
The old building give a special feeling to this hotel, better than the other accomodations that you can find in the center of Bled.
Breakfest could be better...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareperpassione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenzionMlino, Owner at Pension Mlino, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for your review and your honest feed back. I just took over Pension Mlino and I really appreciate your opinion. I know I have a lot of work to do.
You are right, the breakfast could be better and will be better. Is better already. We are working on that issue.
Just lately we introduced some typical Slovenian products as home made cheese from the Pokljuka plateau, cream cheese and cottage cheese with herbs from a nearby farm, home made salami, sausage and minced lard. We are planing to introduce to our guests "TYPICAL SLOVENIAN BREAKFAST" made of home made local ingredients as well as continental breakfast with cornflakes, scrambled eggs, frankfurter or hot dog sausage, bacon, cheese, salami, ...
We really are trying to make our breakfast better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

The location is good (on the lake), but anywhere on Lake Bled is a good location. It was more expensive than I'm used to for this level of accommodation. The staff seems to pay more attention to their restaurant business. The rooms, while adequate, were tired and worn. I don't know if you can find a better deal in this expensive locale, but shop around before you settle on the Pension Mlino.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

As other reviewers have stated, the location of this pension is unbeatable. Get rid of the road that runs directly in front and is sometimes noisy (as roads tend to be), and it would be perfect! Being able to walk directly from the hotel into the lake was a wonderful luzury, since swimming in clear, cool Lake Bled is a highlight of any trip to Slovenia. The man at the front desk was very helpful and nice (though the female server in the restaurant was fairly dismissive). The room was adequately-sized and well-appointed for the price.

Room Tip: Whem we made our reservations ahead of time, we asked for a room away from the restaurant and road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlottaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and we were very satisfied with everything. The staff were kind and gave us lots of good advice, rooms were warm and cozy with beautiful view on the lake. While we stayed there it snowed and it was just amazing. Maybe rooms need some renovation; but still (with old furniture and not so comfortable beds) it was a time of my life.
Breakfast was very good and I'm looking forward to go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the lake are something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The staff was incredibly rude. We stayed for two nights and brought eight people. When we went for dinner, the waiter/host/receptionist kicked my girlfriend out of the restaurant because she brought a piece of pizza from another restaurant. We also had problems at breakfast because we sat at the "wrong" table in the dining room. As an employee in the service industry, I would not recommend this pension to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here October 12 & 13, 2011. We weren't sure where it was in Bled so we opted for a taxi from the train station (only 10 Euro), which was good idea as we did not know that the bus stopped right outside the Pension and would have walked the 15 minutes with our luggage from the town centre. However, having found that the bus to Ljubljana stopped at the Pension Mlino, this became an added bonus to our choice. The location on the lake was great, it was only a short 10 – 15 minute walk into the town, the pletna boats are just across the street, Tito’s Palace is just down the lake walk, it was quiet, and best of all the view was fabulous. The Pension has a very busy restaurant as they cater to large bus tours for lunch and dinner (in a separate dining room), and the reception staff had to be tracked down on occasion, as they are also waiters, but the food was good and the breakfast offered both a cold buffet and some hot dishes (although the juice was little “thin”). Our 1st floor room (2nd floor in North America) had a great view of the lake, and it was clean and comfortable with a good bathroom.

We had a great time in Bled. We enjoyed a traditional meal in the Pension Mlino our first night and then a walk to Tito’s Palace and along the lake. We rented a car for a day and drove through the Julian Alps and back, which was amazing and great fun to drive. Our last morning we were able to walk around the lake had a slice of traditional Lake Bled cake (not that big a deal really, “but when in Bled...”), and took a pletna boat across to “The Island” from the town and back to Pension Mlino to catch our bus at 13:20 for our final day in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valleyguy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We really enjoyed Mlino, the food and the service were outstanding! Beautiful location, great staff, delicious food and very good Slovenian wines as well. Don't miss out this place!
(A Hungarian couple)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Borszereto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#6 of 24 in Bled
802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penzion Berc
Penzion Berc
#3 of 24 in Bled
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Penzion Kaps
Penzion Kaps
#2 of 24 in Bled
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ribno
Hotel Ribno
#1 of 1 in Ribno
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Mlino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Mlino

Address: Cesta svobode 45, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Price Range: £45 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Mlino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Mlino lies on the coastline of Bled lake, from where a beautiful view of the castle and the island opens. A pleasant, approximately 1 kilometre long pathway by the lake leads to the centre of Bled. A renewed Vila Bled lies in the near vicinity of our pension.There are 29 beds in pleasantly furnished rooms of Pension Mlino, which is just right for a warm family atmosphere typical of this traditional Bled inn.In front of our pension pletnas are awaiting to take you to a wishing bell on the island or you can rent a boat and row to the island. Restaurant Pension Mlino is famous for its delicious cuisine. Exquisite dishes, fish, national and domestic specialities are prepared according to our guests' wishes. We are distinguished for our wide and quality assortment of wines. Connoisseurs and gourmands like returning.Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Mlino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Mlino Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing