We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dream like experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Mlino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Mlino
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“dream like experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

absolutely fantastic location. staff was very friendly..though they were bit busy
food was great....We had reserved for 2 nights (B&B). on the last day we were supposed to catch an early morning 6:15 bus and we had anticipated we will not get breakfast. But an elderly gentleman was kind enough to prepare us complete breakfast as early as 5:30 am.
rooms and especially the toilets were very clean
will visit this B&B again if I get a chance.

Few negative points:
1. there was non one at the reception for 90% of the time. (guess they were busy managing the restaurant) so had to
2. the wireless connectivity was very weak (it was available in the corridor but not available in room 202)
3. room heating can be improved

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan-Arp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    80
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
38
93
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
banbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

We stayed there for 7 nights and loved every second The furniture was perhaps old but in our opinion it was good quality old slovian furniture. Everything was very clean the food you choose the night before from the menu is exactly what you got.Across the road was the fantastic lake and the little supermarket made fresh sandwhices made to order was brilliantly priced if you got peckish during the day .About a 15 min walk into the main part of Bled you were convieniant but far enough away to avoid the potential noise .The food was good and would recomend

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommotony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

We expected a three bed bedroom. However we were pleasantly surprised to find that the third bed was in a room of it's own. Which gave my wife and I some privacy from our son!

After reading some of the other reviews. I can't agree with the comments about it being old etc.

I found the room adequate for the price. The improvement I would make is, air conditioning.

Food was top class and the service was fast and friendly. I liked the way that the english speaking staff knew us and what room we were in. It added to the personal touch which you rarely get in large hotels.

I hope the Lake Bled stays the same and doesn't get over commercialised. It would spoil a very beautiful part of the world.

If your on a limited budget. This would be the place to stay. You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Friendlyness off the staff
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eddie-henrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2007

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on our the second night in Bled. Our first hotel was booked up so we found this one was free. It is around the other side of the lake which makes it cheaper. We had a really big comfortable room and the breakfast was really nice. We also went swimming in the Lake just infront of the hotel which you can't do in the main area of the Lake. I would recommend it as it was only a 15 minute walk from the main area and better value for money.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank MakanNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2007

We found ourselves 'stuck' in Slovenia an extra night due to missing our flight and already stayed at Hotel Garni Berc which was lovely. We tried this pension and since it was one night weren't too fussy. But we encountered some poor service and one seriously outdated hotel. Our room smelt a little like a toilet block. It had a yellow bedspread and orange door handles, worn carpet, old bathroom. The tv had no english channels. It did have a nice view of the castle and lake. We were so tired it didn't really matter but if it were our only hotel on the trip I would of been disappointed. I was awoken at night by someone snoring in some other room.

I wanted to use the internet, which they charge for, but rang the bell many times and no one was at the desk most of the time. The kitchen workers seem scared of english speaking tourists. One couple walked out, who wanted a room.

The breakfast was pretty good though. Eggs, meats, cheeses, nice coffee. Other pensions are better value in town such as Berc or Mayer for the same price. And this one was located a bit further walk out of town.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — our room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
330 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2007

Our group of nine stayed at Pension Mlino for one night. Great lakeside location. E-mail correspondence with the hotel staff was always prompt and courteous. Staff was helpful and spoke great English.

Our triple room consisted of two bedrooms. One with a single bed. The other with twin beds. Rooms were clean and comfortable. No complaints about noise. Bathrooms were small but clean. We paid about
26 Euros per person for our rooms.

Breakfast was the standard European buffet. There was a small parking
lot next to the pension for guest parking. No problems with hot water
or water pressure in the morning. We had dinner at the Panorama in town. Food was okay.

Lake Bled is beautiful. Be sure to take advantage of the boat ride to Bled Island for 10 Euros. The Church of Mary the Queen is located on the island. Great views of the castle from the island.

Ljubljana was about a 30 minute drive from Bled.

  • Liked — Lakeside location
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forensicsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2006

The Mlino is situated on the lake at Mlino - a few km out of Bled town but along the lake path. It is a rustic pension which has everything you need at rock bottom prices. The bonus is a half hour/20 min walk into town which helps the enormous food and wine proportions to go down! However, you do not always want to walk, but the restaurant itself is not that great!

The rooms are old school and basic, but clean and warm. The staff are friendly enough and will help when necessary, but they are not overtly so unlike the Berc for example.

I would recommend this place - but it is better in Winter than Summer...when they seem unable to cope with full capacity at breakfast.

That said - it is a fab place with loads of rustic charm - it just depends what you are looking for!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RachSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#3 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#4 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#2 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#9 of 24 in Bled
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Mlino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Mlino

Property: Pension Mlino
Address: Cesta svobode 45, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Mlino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Mlino lies on the coastline of Bled lake, from where a beautiful view of the castle and the island opens. A pleasant, approximately 1 kilometre long pathway by the lake leads to the centre of Bled. A renewed Vila Bled lies in the near vicinity of our pension.There are 29 beds in pleasantly furnished rooms of Pension Mlino, which is just right for a warm family atmosphere typical of this traditional Bled inn.In front of our pension pletnas are awaiting to take you to a wishing bell on the island or you can rent a boat and row to the island. Restaurant Pension Mlino is famous for its delicious cuisine. Exquisite dishes, fish, national and domestic specialities are prepared according to our guests' wishes. We are distinguished for our wide and quality assortment of wines. Connoisseurs and gourmands like returning.Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Mlino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Mlino Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing