We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever!”
Review of Alp Penzion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alp Penzion
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our third visit to the Alp and it is still as good as ever. The welcome was as warm as ever and the excellent quality of both breakfast and dinner is testament to the care taken by Mateja and her team in providing every comfort for their guests. Other contributors have remarked about the excellent breakfasts - we also enjoyed the dinners and the glass of home made schnapps at the end of the meal was a nice additional touch. The Slovenian evening was a particularly memorable meal, culminating in a ice cream dessert in the shape of a swan which was a work of art.

With quiet and comfortable rooms, a spacious garden with honesty bar (and modest prices), friendly staff and extras such as the free use of mountain bikes, the Alp continues to offer outstanding value for money and we would have no hesitation in recommending it yet again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pete64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    74
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
76
188
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff was all very nice and accomodating. The breakfast was a full spread with many varieties of meats and cheeses, breads, fruits, juices, and more. The grounds are a delight and we loved the location. Close to lake bled but far enough away from the hub. We took advantage of the complimentary bikes and really enjoyed biking part of the lake...locking the bikes while we hiked to the castle....rode the bikes again and then locked them while we rowed to the island. All of their suggestions were spot on and even though we only stayed there 2 nights we were able to make the most of seeing the area including lake bohinj which also enjoyed. We also used the bikes to explore surrounding villages.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfamilysandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at Alp Penzion in mid-September 2013 and loved it. The location takes you just outside the bustle but not too far out, so it's quiet and convenient. We also found hostess Mateja helpful and welcoming (she gave us a ride to the bus station when we were leaving). We had dinner at the penzion on one night and it was a treat, including a swan-shaped cake for dessert.

Lake Bled is beautiful from every angle and an incredibly relaxing place. Slovenia is an under-rated charm and might feature the most polite drivers we've ever encountered.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrivt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It's located in a quiet part of Bled about 15 min walk to town. The service is excellent. The staff is very helpful and interested. The dinner was beautifully presented and very tasty. The spa next foot is nice and a good value. The bicycles were added benefit. Some food on the menu grown in their backyard. A great place to stay and my Mom loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SageMandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmar, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Alp Penzion is beautifully situated i the outskirts of Bled, only 10 walking minutes from the lake. Mateja, the owner, and her fantastic staff makes the place really worth visiting. They make every meal a real adventure. In fact, everything in this penzion is made with love and great concern of the guests. Me and my family and friends keep coming back again and again and that I guess says everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It is a quiet place where stays a bit uphill. Nice room which houses 4 persons. The owner provided us comprehensive travel information as well as arranged us transportation. WiFi there!
But Bled has been spoiled by tourism. Not really pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aunatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Located in walking distance to Bled center in a nice and quiet neighborhood surrounded by lush fields and gardens. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff was super helpful and extremely friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and we especially enjoyed the healthy options that are often too sparse in smaller places. Since breakfast was so good we also joined them for dinner (local trout) which was also outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#5 of 24 in Bled
763 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#10 of 24 in Bled
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penzion Berc
Penzion Berc
#2 of 24 in Bled
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alp Penzion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Penzion

Property: Alp Penzion
Address: Cankarjeva cesta 20a, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bled
#2 Family Hotel in Bled
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alp Penzion 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Pension Alp is situated in a quiet part of Bled only 10 minutes easy walking distance from the town center and the lake. There are double, three beded and family rooms available. Rooms are located in a 2 story building built in a traditional highland style. All rooms are ensuite, some with balcony, some with no but therefore larger, all accessible only via steps. We are very proud of our scenic garden with a self service bar as well as our romantic boutique spa facility next door. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Alp Penzion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alp Penzion Bled
Alp Penzion Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing