We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation with not so friendly owners”
Review of Pension Cerkovnik

Pension Cerkovnik
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Cerkovnik
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Although we did not expect a lot since it is a modest Pension with 2 stars we were still surprised and shocked with the attitude of the owner. I have to say that this is not our first touristic experience in Slovenia. We have been often guest during our skiing holidays in Kranjska Gora, we went to spa weekend to various spa etc. and our experiences were always good. This was a big surprise. We spent one weekend, four families (8 adults and 6 kids) in May. We took 7 rooms and were the only guest in the house. First of all for the owner(s) it was very difficult to say at least hello in the morning or in the evening. Whatever we asked for was not possible (I we did not have many request since our stay was short and we were most of the time outside). They even looked the dining room which is also the only space we could use to sit together in the cold evening. The explanation of the owner was that then they need to stay and "baby sits us" as if they were afraid we will take something away. We asked if it is possibility that we ourselves prepare the barbeque (there is a nice place outside,). They did not allow it although they had a gas grill outside for which we were ready to pay. The breakfast also was “negative” surprise, I felt like in the school cantina: white, spongy bread with cheap slamy and slices of chees or butter and jam were the only option (she was too lazy to offer the eggs, boiled or scrambled, at least). It seems that the owner is too busy running the restaurant in some other place that they were almost "offended" with our presence. We had a feeling that it is the best we just pay our money and leave immediately so that they do not need to do anything. Definitely I would not recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy the unique beauty of Bohinj. It can only spoil your pleasure. Look for some better place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zlatko J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Beautiful view and friendly hosts, Rooms are simple and lack some space, but the only think that's maybe missing is a TV. Renting bikes there (6 euros/day) is an excellent idea, especially if you are without a car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janko g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed here for our winter vacation, it was really nice. The guest was amazingly friendly, the room was cute although we were sort of missing a TV, the view of the lake from the yard is really pretty, and the river that flows in the yard, oh my, so clear and pretty! Great walking path around the lake that is so close, quiet and pretty neighborhood and, really close from the ski center Vogel. It was rustic and romantic, we loved it! Oh there is cycling path and rock climbing center very close, too.

Room Tip: Choose the one that has the balcony or window facing the stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_raditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nice quiet place with a wonderful view. Excelent dinners! Small but comfortable rooms, nice owners.
Great location for hiking - next to the lake with crystal clear water, close to the waterfall. Beautiful nature. I would definetely come back.

Room Tip: A good room with a balcony and view to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Osarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stunning views from the terrace overlooking the stream. Simple basic accommodation with very friendly owners. A 10 minute walk to the bustle of the lake, but in a quiet world of its own looking across the meadows to the mountains of the National Park

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I traveled here recently with my 19 year old son. We truly enjoyed our stay at Pension Cercovnik.
While it is not a UBER-GLAMEROUS 5 Star HOTEL IT is HONEST in what it is....it is a quaint rustic styled Alpine Chalet Bed & Breakfast! The Staff is small but the experience is intimate and friendly service is individualized and personal. In my experience the Manager Monika Cerkovnik will go way out of her way to assist her guests in getting the most out of their stay in this beautifully preserved ecological marvel that make up the Lake Bohinj region of Slovenia! The Pension is inexpensive for long or short stays, it is very clean the rooms are quaint yet offer private baths, the owners speak German, English and a little Italian Monika's husband Janez is an expert Fly Fisherman / Guide and very helpful in getting to know the local points of interest from pristine waterfalls to finding local haunts deep in the forrest that offer delicious local cuisine! Heck, they will even let you borrow their bike if you need one!
I'm a retired chef and in my experience , nice little B&Bs like this are always exciting to stumble upon!

Cheers!
Ammael

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balconey and River/ Mountain view! I hope you will love this place as much a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ammael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Very basic pension, with small rooms that could use refurbishment. Whole place gives a bit of a mountain hut feeling. Uncomfortable beds that are not set daily. Could use a bit of cleaning. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medotodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bohinjsko Jezero hotels
0.3 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gasperin Bohinj
Hotel Gasperin Bohinj
#1 of 14 in Bohinjsko Jezero
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#9 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Stare
Hotel Stare
#4 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rooms Simon Ceklin
Rooms Simon Ceklin
#11 of 14 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Cerkovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Cerkovnik

Address: Stara Fuzhina 11, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range: £20 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Cerkovnik 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Cerkovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Cerkovnik Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing