We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location - but not to everyone's tastes”
Review of Vila Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

There is no question that Vila Park is in a stunning location - Lake Bohinj is but a minute's walk away, and you can hike up into the surrounding mountains from the front door. Equally, the hotel is immaculately clean and the food is fresh, varied and tasty. We stayed for two nights, and slept uninterruptedly for both, waking to enjoy the beautiful view from our private balcony.

However, we did find that the hospitality might not be to everyone's tastes. The owner tries to be friendly, but it's all just a bit too much and too forced. Equally, as a hotel that does not allow children, the dining arrangements are rather odd - everyone has to eat at the same time and tables are grouped in fours, so most tables were two couples forced to interact with one another. Fortunately, the people seated next to us were delightful, but we didn't find being asked to dine with strangers to be the romantic experience we'd hoped for, and dined out the following evening, foregoing our paid-for half-board.

Most people will fall in love with the location of Vila Park, and we did have a good stay (and wonderful time in the incredibly natural surroundings) and these are relatively trivial complaints - but if you travel to be independent, value your personal space, and don't wish for your day to be organised by someone else as you eat breakfast, we'd probably suggest elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have just returned from our first trip to Slovenia - entranced by the country and more than that by Jana and her hotel.

The hotel is absolutely as beautiful as it looks online - immaculate decor and spotlessly clean (including the cream carpets throughout), and so peaceful. The bathroom was polished and cleaned within an inch of its life every single day we were there. Jana is a lovely person who is very proud of her hotel and totally focussed on caring for her guests. She wakes at 5am and is constantly on the go making sure that guests have all they could wish for until 10 or 11pm when she retires to her dolls house home in the grounds to sleep. Furthermore she is full of friendliness and laughter.

We are picky eaters one of whom eats no pork or spices and the other who eats no vegetables. Even our contrary eating habits couldn't confound Jana or her chef who produced fantastic food every day.

During our stay, at our request Jana arranged a taxi for six of us to go to Lublijana for the day - only one hour's journey by car. A stunning and laid-back city which we need to return to some time as one day was not long enough.

We also journeyed to Lake Bled on the local bus - the boat trip out to the island and the carriage ride were fantastic as were the typical Slovenian cakes.

At the end of each day though we returned to Jana's small but perfect refuge from the outside world. We met other guests who felt equally fortunate and in the dining room there was a happy buzz of conversation and sharing of ideas - what others had done already and were planning to do.

I recommend this hotel wholeheatedly ... If you don't stay here at least once you are missing the opportunity of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Chrissy and I have just stayed here for the 4th year in row. In every respect the standards of this beautiful and spotless hotel have remained totally consistent. Jana's hospitality and attention to the needs of her guests is superb and most importantly heartfelt. The menu is always a delight and the chef produces excellent cuisine. Top notch! In summary the incredible location, wonderful service, amazing value and welcome means that we will be returning here for many years to come. We cannot stay away!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianpile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We spent 3 nights here in June 2012 found Jana the most congenial hostess. Rooms were spotless, meals 5 star. Setting at the end of the lake was out of this world. The whole region was pristine and the walks were great. Weather did not stop our adventures but unfortunately no relaxing in the wonderful garden. Was a very peaceful, restful place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I have been staying here for the last 10 years and it never disappoints. This small hotel has the best location at Bohinj. It really is location location location. Although there is also the lovely Jana who runs the place with great style and aplomb. it just has everything going for it.. Very stylish place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Piccolowalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This small bijou hotel is situated at the quiet end of Lake Bohinj, itself a very quiet but very beautiful lake. It is run by Jana and a small team of helpers, who keep the whole place spotless and make you feel totally at home.
There are 8 rooms all with balcony, ours was at the front and was plenty big enough with good storage and small fridge. The bathroom was small but perfectly formed with underfloor heating and piping hot water at all times.
Breakfast was varied, cereals, yoghurts, cold meats and cheese, eggs if you wanted them cooked as you wished, pastries and masses of fresh fruit.
Coffee and tea, with biscuits, was freely available all day on a help yourself basis.
Dinner was a small feast - 4 courses plus a salad - and the menu over the two weeks we stayed was varied. You could not have gone hungry if you tried, as Jana was so very attentive and would often offer 'seconds' if she thought you had enjoyed something!
There is a lovely garden around the hotel with the river running on one side and Jana provides sunloungers as well as the picnic tables around the hotel.
There is free wifi, which can be accessed in rooms as well as the public areas and the garden.
This hotel is really for grown ups - there were a few children there during the weeks we stayed, but Jana prefers adults as this is a 'hideaway' stay where one goes to relax and find peace. The village in which the hotel is situated is small and there is little to do in the evenings except go for a lakeside stroll or visit the bar at the campsite. There are no shops but an excellent pizza restaurant if you are ever the faintest bit hungry!!
Although there is a reliable bus service from the village of Ukanc to the other end of the lake,where there is a shop, and on to Bled and Ljubljana, we hired a car in Bled to take us further afield. Slovenia is a small country and you can visit most places in a day.
We found some walking in the area, but again needed the car to access more.
Lake Bohinj provides good swimming and boating in the form of kayaks and canoes.
We had a great time at Vila Park and in Slovenia!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkateMinsteronSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Vila Park is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. Jana greeted us warmly when we arrived and showed us to our rooms. The hotel is immaculately clean and our rooms including bathroom were spotless. The hotel has a warm, family atmosphere.

The first night we noted that you could hear a pin drop! This is definitely a hotel for you if you want peace and quiet. It is surrounded by beautiful scenery, only minutes away from the lake shore and walks that take you round the lake or into the mountains.

The meals were excellent – four courses with two starters, a main course and desert. Breakfast was self service with a wide range of cereals, fruit, cakes and drinks with freshly cooked fried or scrambled eggs on request.

We were impressed with the facilities such as TV in the rooms, a TV in the lounge with a wide selection of DVDs, books and CDs. The hotel also offered free internet access – we were even able to get the internet on a laptop while on a sun lounger in the grounds! Vila Park is excellent value for money. It is an ideal hotel for a peaceful stay and walking holiday or to take advantage of the other activities available in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAUL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bohinjsko Jezero hotels
2.8 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stare
Hotel Stare
#4 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#9 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
37 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Gasperin Bohinj
Hotel Gasperin Bohinj
#1 of 14 in Bohinjsko Jezero
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Bohinj Apartments
Lake Bohinj Apartments
#9 of 14 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Park

Address: Ukanc 129, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range: £84 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Triglav National Park, right next to the crystal clear, emerald green Savica stream and steps away from Lake Bohinj lies Vila Park. Listen to the birds singing and water purling, take a deep breath of mountain air and just relax. Vila Park houses eight sumptuously furnished double rooms. Each room features a balcony overlooking the surrounding hills, a TV set, a safety deposit box and a refrigerator. All rooms also offer wireless Internet access. Not only can you experience the comfort of our double rooms but you can also enjoy our delicious breakfasts, and have fruit at your disposal all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vila Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Park Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Vila Park Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing