We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and very comfortable”
Review of Vila Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Park
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful and very comfortable”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Although we arrived at the hotel when it was pitch black and had no idea what to expect, we soon relaxed with the warmth of the welcome from the host Jana. Comfortable in every way and food was perfect after hours of skiing. The hotel is 15mins leisurely walk to the gondola with a couple of bars and restaurants along the way. Hired a car from Advantacar via economy car rentals which was a big bonus to visit neighbouring picturesque sights of Lake Bled and Ljubljana. All in all Vila Park is a perfect place to stay if you want a quiet and restful break.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor, balcony and fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danomawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a ski package booked with Crystal Ski.
Booking was on a half-board basis. We loved it. The area is very quiet and guests should expect that après ski activity is limited. We hired a car before we left UK via economy car rentals and picked it up from Hotel Krim in Bled. Worth it was €80 for 6 days.
I loved staying at Vila Park, Jana made us feel at home and fed us fabulously during our week long stay. Breakfast consists of a cold meats, cheeses, cooked eggs, fruit, cereal, bread, toast.
Dinner was 4 courses and by the end you could eat no more.
If you don't want to hire a car, an hourly bus service to Bohinj, Bled and Ljubljana operates from a stop 2 mins from the hotel.
Hotel has free wifi and spacious, comfortable rooms.
Come and enjoy Slovenian hospitality you'll be made welcome like an old friend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ec1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol, uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The reviewers that said Vila Park is God's waiting room should have gone to Disney. Vila park is located in a beautiful valley full of outdoor adventure in all seasons. The town is a bus ride away and après ski tends to be self generated but the location and wonderful food make up for the lack of tacky entertainment. The host couldn't do enough for us and catered for our vegetarian diet easily. Be aware that it is a quiet hotel with no entertainment or shops or bars but the skiing is great and easily walkable from the hotel.
It is best to book ski hire and lessons from Alpin Sport on Vogel, they are half the price of Crystal. We had lessons as a couple for the same cost as 15 people with Crystal.
We will be back in the summer for more luxurious peace and tranquility

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I'm not entirely sure where to begin this review. We have just got back from a weeks skiing trip to Bohinj. To say we are glad to be back is an understatement. So to the beginning then. Got to the location in the mid afternoon. Very scenic, very picturesque. That's it. Crystal ski don't mention the fact that there is literally nothing to do here. The first two days it rained so we couldn't ski. We were held prisoner in our room watching the only channel available which is BBC world service. At this point, knowing what we were facing we would have gone home if we could have. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and if you want a coffee in the day it is 1 Euro 50. Surely a 4 star would have tea and coffee in the room. We were sharing the whole place with one other guest. If I was to say this place was deserted, that would be an understatement. It is God's waiting room, make no mistake. There is NOTHING to do here. The prospect of getting drunk was out also as the guest house charges 20 Euros for a bottle of wine. Presumably, the owner thinks a captive audience who would have a 2 hr round trip to get a bottle would just stump up the cash. We went to Bled to find a supermarket and got six excellent bottles for 25 Euros.
The food......repetitive and bland. Edible, and not bad, just lacks a bit of imagination. Fish and 3 boiled potatoes on the last night was not great.
So all in all we had a really awful time. This is not a ski resort. By our very nature skiers look for the fun and activities in life. There is nothing here. Not even a shop. Oh there is a small bar down the road but it is closed sometimes in the week. And there is little life in it so it doesn't make you want to stay.
Crystal should hang their heads in shame and take this off their list of ski places. It is death by boredom. We walked for an hour and a half in all directions from the house and guess what we found? Correct....NOTHING.....
The skiing.....well the gondola only goes up the mountain every half an hour and most of the runs were shut on the two days we could get up there. Nuff said there, although when the sun shone it was spectacular.
So in summary, beautiful location, average food, lacking in humans and activities....and if you think Bled will offer something to stimulate.....don't. It is dead. We spent 40 minutes there before we even saw another person.
If you are unlucky enough to book this resort, take a length of rope and a rickety old stool...! We are not moaners and really outgoing. This is a true reflection on an awful week. As my other half said, it doesn't feel like we have been on holiday, just had our lives put on hold for a week.

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague....go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melandjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

A truly wonderful small hotel, with a very welcoming and extremely helpful owner, Jana.
The room was very comfortable, apparently Jana kindly upgraded us to a larger room as one was free for the week.
Food was excellent (congratulations to the chef), with a special New Years meal being put on for the benefit of the guests.
The lounge was very cosy with a lovely real fire.
It was quiet in the hotel as not all the rooms were taken but the guests that were there were very pleasant and a mixture of nationalities.
The hotel is at the head of lake Bohinj with a beautiful crystal clear river running alongside.
As we were mainly skiing we did not have a car and merely used public transport to both the ski slopes and Bled. The bus stop was only 5 minutes stroll from the hotel, with the ski slopes only 5 mins on the bus or 15 mins walk and Bled a 45 minute bus trip away.
The lake and surrounding area is beautiful and we even managed a few walks. I imagine that in the summer it will be a walkers paradise, and Jana reliably informed us that the lake is ideal for swimming as it reaches a heady temperature of 25 degrees.
Slovenia is a beautiful country and the Slovenian people are very friendly and helpful
Ukanc itself is very quiet and unspoilt so it may not suit those looking for a lively time.
As for the skiing, this was good but snow was limited.
Don Andros bar pizzeria on the way back from the slopes for a little apres ski, or even an after dinner drink, is a very pleasant place to relax with yet again very friendly staff.
All in all an excellent experience and one that I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slovenian_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I were looking for a few days away to relax, unwind and enjoy each other's company, and Vila Park was the perfect place to do this. The room was beautiful - modern, clean, a good size, and with an immaculate bathroom and a private balcony - and the food was homely, tasty and plentiful. The owner was welcoming and chatty, but not overbearing, and the setting couldn't have been more relaxing - the loaction is so peaceful and very beautiful. We went walking around Lake Bohinj on one day, and up to Vogel to ski on another, but otherwise sat on our balcony or by the open fire downstairs reading our books. Maybe if you want lots of nightlife this isn't the place for you, but otherwise, I couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViolaEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We came across this hotel quite by accident whilst walking around Lake Bohinj. The setting was wonderful and the hotel from the outside is the perfect picture postcard. We went to see if there were any vacancies and the owner gave us a business card with the web address so when we got back to our current hotel we went onto trip advisor and looked at the reviews. We immediately telephoned and made a reservation.
Jana is the owner of this wonderful hotel she only has a Chef and a couple of house staff for cleaning. She is a force of nature a wonderful host very helpful in every respect. The rooms are superb right up there with the very best, spotlessly clean, modern design, all fittings and furniture of high quality, add to this there is free WiFi throughout the hotel.
Reading one review there was a criticism of the layout of the breakfast/dining room making guests share a table. As it was fairly late in the season we never encountered this as there were only three couples in the hotel. However if this is a concern for some people I'm sure this could easily be remedied simply by moving a few tables around. Another complaint in the review were the rigid times for breakfast and evening dinner. we did not find this a problem at all and you have to be realistic when you consider this is a one woman show, everybody has to have a little time to themselves.
Along with the rest of the hotel the evening dinner and breakfast were superb and the wine was always good quality and reasonable cost.
This hotel is perfectly positioned for walks around lake bohinj, the savica slap and for the Vogal cable car. We will be visiting this wonderful country again and when we come back to this particular area we will most definitely stay at this truly wonderful hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.1 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stare
Hotel Stare
#4 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 23 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Park

Property: Vila Park
Address: Ukanc 129, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Triglav National Park, right next to the crystal clear, emerald green Savica stream and steps away from Lake Bohinj lies Vila Park. Listen to the birds singing and water purling, take a deep breath of mountain air and just relax. Vila Park houses eight sumptuously furnished double rooms. Each room features a balcony overlooking the surrounding hills, a TV set, a safety deposit box and a refrigerator. All rooms also offer wireless Internet access. Not only can you experience the comfort of our double rooms but you can also enjoy our delicious breakfasts, and have fruit at your disposal all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vila Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Park Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Vila Park Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing