We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious accommodation”
Review of Hotel Bohinj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bohinj
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had pre booked two rooms on a half board basis. Upon arrival we were given a warm welcome by the new owner who showed us to our lake facing suites, having been upgraded from standard rooms. The accommodation was specious and appeared to have been recently refurbished, sleep quality was excellent with comfy beds and nice linens. We stayed for three nights but apart from a coach party on one evening the hotel appeared empty, which was a shame as they had 50+ rooms and the lack of guests spoilt made it a little strange.

The comfort, view, hospitality and location cannot be faulted, however, we did feel that the meals, both breakfast (limited choice) and dinner (no choice) were poor. The quality and presentation left a lot to be desired of both food and wine, which is a great shame as the rest of of our experience were positive. Reading the other reviews it appears that the hotel is going in the right direction but, in our opinion, if the restaurant issues are resolved then this will certainly be of benefit to the regeneration.

We hope to return to Slovenia is the autumn or spring and WILL consider returning to Hotel Bohinj.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank NessaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Met by the most friendly owners who had taken over the hotel two days before. Rooms were very spacious and exceptionally clean. Decor a little dated but very functional and a lovely breakfast. All in all a wonderful stay

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank paxpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel in two bedroom suite with a balcony. It was very spacious, clean and offered all that we needed. The hotel is a great starting point for many family activities (e.g. cycling, walking, hiking, sightseeing...). The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The weakest point of the hotel is dining area and the choice of food. That would certainly need an upgrade! Urgently!

Looking forward to soon return there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZmagoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Since there is a new owner,my girlfriend and me had some very bad experience.We had an reservation for December 31. and January 1.,which was made two months before. So,when we came at the hotel the doors were closed. We were shocked because nobody had send us an e-mail or anything. We were lucky that hotel "Jezero" had empty room.Otherwise,the only thing we could do is to return home.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in hotel Bohinj two days at the end of april, and we really enjoyed. Hotel is clean, we had a two room suite, nice. clean and spacious. Breakfast was OK, choice is limited, but food was good. As many said restoran is in a basement, looks dark and uncomfortable, and that is the only minus for this hotel. Hotel Bohinj is very close to the lake, with view on mountain peaks from most of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan_tes975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

First of all, staff was great and very friendly. It has been taken over last February by new people and I hope that they make a few upgrades. The setting is lovely, just up a small hill from Lake Bohinj. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. This view is not right near the lake and you really only see a bit of the lake. The mountain view is pretty good. We were there in a very slow time and could have our pick of rooms. People said that the restaurant was dismal, being in the basement. That is true, but not a reason to stay away. The food was just average. We had half board and two days was enough of that. Our room was a suite, which had a nice living room and very small kitchen. We did not cook, but nice to have a fridge. The bedroom was large enough to have some extra space and it also opened onto the balcony. The place was not bright and modern, but not old and dingy. If this place added coffee and tea making machines in the room and had wifi in the rooms, we would have liked it better. It is so close to being very good. They are supposedly going to make a new restaurant out of an old building on site, but not for several years. That would help. I highly suggest walking around the lake. It can be done in several hours. If you add on the hike to the waterfall, it will add a couple of hours. A good day of exercise! A lot of people took a little boat to the base of the waterfall. Lovely area and highly recommended for a visit!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank pointspeaksandpasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The first of several hotels on my visit to Slovenia. The rooms are rather more functional than attractive, but the water is hotel and there is plenty of space to hang clothes. Staff are anxious to help and very pleasant. Breakfast offers a wide selection and on the night we had dinner in the hotel the food was very good. Travelling slightly out of season, the hotel seems to be popular as it was almost full, with many people taking advantage of the access to a wide variety of sports - watersports, cycling, walking are all close by.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are much the same throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melsie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.1 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#9 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
37 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Stare
Hotel Stare
#4 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
7 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel-Pension Tripic
Hotel-Pension Tripic
#2 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bohinj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bohinj

Address: Ribchev Laz 45, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range: £31 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bohinj 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bohinj is re-opening the door for all who wish to be a part of unspoiled nature. Suitable for families as well as for those who are more adrenaline-driven. To enjoy summer sun, canoeing, kayaking on a beautiful Bohinj lake, for those who want to see natural attractions or go hiking in Julian Alps or just to enjoy genuine Bohinj and visit traditional events. New team took over the management of Hotel Bohinj. We will rely on our experience in Skihotel Vogel and Camping Zlatorog Bohinj. Our mission is to bring various Bohinj tourist accomodations to a higher level of hospitality. In hope of a pleasant vacation in Hotel Bohinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bohinj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohinj Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Bohinj Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing