We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place in Bohinj” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kristal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bohinjsko Jezero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kristal
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place in Bohinj”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

A group of us stayed at Kristal toward the end of our hiking trip around Slovenia. The hotel was nice, clean and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were big and had great balcony's. Our room had a view out to the Julian Alps and Triglav - beautiful! The food was very good and there were good options for everyone. We enjoyed the people at Kristal and our time there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    44
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
94
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Overall a pleasant stay, very helpful and friendly, welcoming staff. Acoustics in the hotel dreadful (one can hear everything from toilets flushing in other rooms, footsteps in hallways which dont have carpets, traffic on highway, cars and people in parking outside hotel) but back rooms probably better than parking side.

Room Tip: rooms at back probably quieter than rooms on parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryba08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed at hotel Kristal for 2 nights, we booked the last room so it was on the side that was near the road, this weekend was very busy so there was allot of traffic and since it was very hot we had to open the window so we didnt sleep well because of the noise. In the morning i asked for the room change and the lady was very helpful and changed our room (there was a free room because a couple checked out that morning) The other room was perfect, park view, the sound of the nature, the real Bohinj experience. The food was grate, they had home made bread, cakes, cheese and marmalade for breakfast. The dinner was also grate, four meals to choose every evening and it was all home made and delicious. The rooms and the hotel are realy spotlessly clean and overall i would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jokka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

A lovely hotel run by a lovely family who cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our room 208 overlooked the garden which was full of birds coming down to drink from the pond. Thankyou Hotel Kristal for making our two week holiday so successful.

Room Tip: The trees in the garden provide welcome shade to the rooms on hot days at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Flew Adria from Manchester. No que for check in!!!
Hotel was very good. Family run and extremely friendly and helpful staff.
Food was good, room also good, though velux window on top floor was a little noisy on the (only) night it rained.
A short walk from the lake, bus stop outside the hotel.
I think most reviews I read before going summed up most aspects.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_pCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a holiday exploring much of Slovenia. We found a warm welcome, the hotel is spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 205 which was basic but a decent size with a small balcony. The only complaint about the room would be the lack of air conditioning as it was over 30 degrees whilst we were there so was very warm in the room. Breakfast was simple with bread, cheese, fruit etc. The evening meals were far better. At just €5 for a starter of soup/salad/pasta, a choice of 4 mains (the trout was excellent), and cake for dessert this was excellent value. Parking was good and only a 10-15 minute walk down to the town and the lake.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vix83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here for two weeks in May.
From start to finish we were made to feel very welcome by Alenka, her family and staff. This is a small hotel well run but it is home from home. If you need anything all you need to do is ask.
We stayed in room 205 and the hotel was very busy when we arrived. Alenka offerred to move us into a different room after the weekend. However we declined her offer as the room was suitable for purpose and we slept very well. I was the only person who did not hear the thunderstorms during the night. The room was cleaned every day and we had no complaints at all.
We were on half board and the food was really good with a choice of four main courses so there was always something that you could be tempted with. Slava was a joy and nothing was too much trouble for her even when we kept her up on a late night drinking session! She would not leave until we did and I felt a bit guilty about that.
Lake Bohinj is magical. My husband is still editing his photographs and they are some of the best that he has taken. I love the Slovenian attitude to ecology we can all learn a lesson.
Lake Bled is lovely to visit but as a resort I would not like to have stayed there.
We both thought that Ljublijana was fabulous. It is so clean and relaxed it did not have that city feel to it and I felt very safe.
We met some lovely people in the hotel, namely Jo & Don and Brian. They are all keen birdwatchers and this hotel is ideal for that. I found it fascinating and so much so that I requested a pair of binoculars for my birthday!
Our only gripe was Thomson's. We did not see a rep from the time that we left the airport to the time that we departed. This was known as the the rarest, lesser spotted rep. We were given lots of information from Alenka and also the Inghams rep so it did not detract from our holiday overall. When you think how big a company TUI is we expected a higher level of service because they should know what they are about by now. In our case it was not customer service. I just hope that they have now got their act together.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skippyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.5 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#3 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel-Pension Tripic
Hotel-Pension Tripic
#2 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Property: Hotel Kristal
Address: Ribchev Laz 4/a | 4265 Bohinjsko Jezero, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming alpine family hotel is located in the natural paradise of the Lake Bohinj area with its stunning mountains and alpine forests. The bedrooms are bright and tastefully furnished. Lake Bohinj is a pleasant 500m walk from the hotel. Hotel Kristal is a family hotel in Bohinj, situated close to Lake Bohinj, on the outskirts of the Triglav national park. The hotel was built and renovated in line with local tradition and gives its guests the homely feeling, characteristic of the region. Hospitality, delicious cuisine, unspoilt nature and abundant possibilities for an active holiday await you at this excellent starting point. - ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Kristal Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing