We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kristal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We returned from the delightful Ribcev Las and Hotel Kristal last week after a ten day stay.

The hotel is IMMACULATELY clean and for a place this size that is quite an achievement. Alenka and her family are constantly in attendance, helpful, humourous and friendly.

Lots and lots of food, as much as you could want, very varied and typical Slovenian fayre.

I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a bedroom at the front of the hotel as the squirrels are in the orchard at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martianpoolwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean, there was plenty of good food. The hotel was minutes away from the lake and there are beautiful walks in stunning countryside. I would certainly recommend this place.


  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

On arrival we had a very warm welcome from one of the owners and an offer of a welcome drink (a very welcome fruit schnapps) as soon as we wanted. The room seemed fine, not upmarket but pleasant pine furniture, plenty of storage, clean bathroom and, as we found, a comfortable bed (though the pillow seemed strangely lumpy until you lay on it, then it was fine). There is no air con, so we had to open windows in the evening to keep it cool but we weren't over hot at night and the temperature was very comfortable for sleeping, so that seems to be good system, particularly given the temperatures that we had there were in the low 30's during the day, even at 560 m.

The food certainly wasn't gourmet and some of the talk about the resurgence of Slovenian cuisine may be a bit of hype. Perhaps it was because we were on a package with fixed price menu and perhaps the "carte" was better but many of the main course dishes were quite 1970's English and a little disappointing. The setup is that you help yourself to soup, then salad from a wide range on the salad bar, then you get served your main course (which you order from a dictated option of 3 at breakfast) then some sort of dessert - usually a cake. We tried many Slovenian wines at the hotel during our week's stay and they, too, could be an awful lot better. They do try hard though.

Buffet breakfast was pretty reasonable, though let down by fruit juice from a machine as well as coffee (instant) or hot water for a tea bag from another one (dinner coffee is real). To make up for all that, the quality of service throughout the hotel is stunningly good with everyone going out of their way to please.

A quite hotel with delightful views in a gorgeous location for those who like walking or the countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auksidegoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Hotel Kristal in Bohinj. This hotel is a lovely place to stay for a really comfortable and relaxing break. I found the staff very helpful and the hotel was very clean. The food in the evening was good with the choice each night of 4 different main meals. If there was a negative it was that not much imagination was shown for breakfast. Having said that this is definitely a hotel that I would return to. It is ideally situated for all activities in and around the area of Bohinj, being a nice 10/15 minute stroll from the lake. There is a way down to the lake avoiding the main road which can be explained by the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden were quieter although nowhere was really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyTraveller011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This family run hotel is situated about a 15 minute walk from the beautiful lake Bohinj. Some people have said you have to walk on the road to get there, but there is a path adjacent to the road, passing a heronry, which also leads up through some beautiful forested areas. Rooms overlooking the garden are excellent for bird watchers with many species to see. Others have commented on buffet breakfast not being refreshed, in my experience you ask and you get. Similar for dinner, if you want something other than what's on the menu they always try to accommodate your needs. This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful area ideal for walkers, bird watchers and those generally interested nature. There is no night life or entertainment so if you want this head for Bled. Thoroughly recommend it for like-minded people.

Room Tip: Bird watchers book a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rover260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here a while back, and I can safely say it's one of the nicest hotels ever stayed in, and one of our top 3 holidays of all time!! I loved the way the waiters would do the full sommelier bit when serving the wines, and the food here was tremendous!! On arrival, we had a lunch "voucher" and Kathy (my wife) chose the goose breast ------quite the most sumptuous dish imaginable!! ( cos I tried it!) Very friendly, very relaxed, great service, stupendous views, lovely garden! % plus stars

Room Tip: Uor room looked out over the garden area which is delightful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

... what to say ? Pitty that this hotel is not closer to the lake since going to lake and other stuff involves a walk on the road with no pedestrian path. Which can be annoying if you are returning to hotel at night. Rooms are ok. We didn't spend any other time in hotel except mornings during breakfast which is btw waaaay waaaay below average in terms of quality (especially coffee and juices) and evenings when going to sleep so any other more detailed reviews about hotel you will not find here. Two more things ... the price of ordinary tea with lemon and honey is freaking 1.5€ ! this is the most expensive hot water with some flavor i've ever seen in my life, and when checking out you have to double check the bill. Thats it. Thanks for reading this.

Room Tip: If you are there at spring and spend time in rooms which are looking at the parking you can expect w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.5 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
326 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#9 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
462 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Stare
Hotel Stare
#4 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bohinj
Hotel Bohinj
#8 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Address: Ribchev Laz 4/a | 4265 Bohinjsko Jezero, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range: £62 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming alpine family hotel is located in the natural paradise of the Lake Bohinj area with its stunning mountains and alpine forests. The bedrooms are bright and tastefully furnished. Lake Bohinj is a pleasant 500m walk from the hotel. Hotel Kristal is a family hotel in Bohinj, situated close to Lake Bohinj, on the outskirts of the Triglav national park. The hotel was built and renovated in line with local tradition and gives its guests the homely feeling, characteristic of the region. Hospitality, delicious cuisine, unspoilt nature and abundant possibilities for an active holiday await you at this excellent starting point. - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Kristal Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing