We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stay in bohijn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kristal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bohinjsko Jezero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kristal
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“nice stay in bohijn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

A very cozy hotel (family business). We stayed there on a honey moon and do not regret at all. Beautiful place, close to Bohinj lake. Nice service, very tasty food. Good facilities, possibility to rent a bike. Free parking space. Very quite. We liked it greatly. Would like to thank the hotel staff for being so nice and hospitable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisenok25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    44
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
94
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

We have never reviewed anything on the net before, but having just returned from a family ski holiday, have to pass on our experience at Hotel Kristal, especially as we chose it from reviews featured on this site. It was perfect for us, spotlessly clean with plenty of choice of food all of which was excellent. One of our party is unable to eat wheat or gluten, and this was easily accommodated. The hotel is family run and nothing was too much trouble for them. Not only would I recommend this hotel, I would actively encourage it to people that want a peaceful location to relax in. However if you want lively night life this is not the area for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

We took our in laws here after previously having eaten here on a previous trip. The service was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. It was great to have a mini fridge in the room so we could have a cold drink in the room. Continental breakfast had lots of choice with a choice of eggs avaliable too. 4 main courses to choose from included a veggie choice...all the food was fab. We have gone self catering in previous trips due to the lack of veggie food, but this place ticked all the boxes. I would highly recommed this. Breakfast and dinner tables are allocated but if you wanted to sit anywhere else then you could. Will definetly stay here again and recommed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentgirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Loved this really nice hotel, when we stayed for four nights in August 09. Spotlessly clean throughout, spacious room and modern clean bathroom. Breakfast was A1, available over a number of hours to suit early birds or those who want a lay in. Usual continental breakfast but with hot eggs and a hot meat option each day. We opted for B&B when we booked but dinner was available as an add on at €5 per person each eve and you could pick and chose when you wanted to eat in as long as you let them know in the morning of that day. €5 covered soup or salad starter, main course chosen from a list of approx 4 options including fish and a veggie meal and pudding of cake type option, fresh fruit or ice-cream. Food options in the village aren’t that wide so this extra add on is a real bonus. The whole area of Lake Bohinj and Lake Bled is stunningly beautiful. (Bohinj is much more natural, than Bled with no hotels allowed right on the waters edge) This is an ideal place to park up and just chill or be quite busy with swimming, walking/climbing, canoeing/rowing but there is also some stunning drives throught the moutains which are not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed here 2 nights in a family apartment - 2 contiguous rooms plus a bathroom, with one entrance. Spotlessly clean, obviously recently refurbished (very modern, clean lines, wood fittings, airy and light). Service, from check in to restaurant, was peerless - friendly, efficient and solicitous. We stayed on half board, which is only 5 euros or so pp more than b&b, and dinner was truly excellent. Sat outside at the buzzy terrace, overlooking the Julian Alps. Choice of 4 main dishes each evening, all of which were excellent (e.g. Lake Bohinj trout) - and far more than you would expect from half board - i.e. feels like you are in a very good restaurant. Nice bar area too. Location is a little outside the centre, but only 5-10mins walk. Free internet access. Otherwise I couldn't recommend this establishment more - and we have done a fair amount of travelling!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ringofriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed in this hotel one week at te end of July 2009.
The hotel is located in the beginning of Ribcev Laz village, some 5-10 minutes walk from the lake, adjacent to access street. Whole Bohinj lake area is a tranquil place and the hotel fully fits to it, we also appreciated that it is located outside the Ribcev Laz center.
Our room was standard, oriented to small garden, view to mountains was shaded by grown trees. Room equipment was standard, matching 3-4* hotel. Everything was perfectly clean.
I can't share the previous reviewer experience, our bedding and towels were ok during whole stay.
Food was the only disappoitment for us. We stayed on half-board whole the time, and the food was good, sometimes better, sometimes worse, but in general not fitting 4* hotel. Once in a week there was a 'gala dinner', with more than 5 courses, all excellent, so they really know how to cook perfectly. Maybe it just confirms that the a-la-carte food could be much better than half-board - we will try it next time.
Overall, I would rate this hotel as very good 3* (which matches its price in comparison with others) and I would recommend it then. As there is not much other options at Bohinj lake which would suit us better, we would probably stay in Kristal again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BFM_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

This is a perfectly pleasant alpine-style hotel. It is kept spotlessly clean and the bedrooms and bathrooms are unexceptional but fine. The rooms are let down however by the bedding and towels. The sheet on my bed was so ill-fitting that I woke up each morning to find myself on a bare mattress and the pillows felt like they were stuffed with lumps of foam; the towels meanwhile were not only thin but some actually had holes in them. It's a pity because this skimpiness lets down an otherwise fine hotel. We were not too sure about being asked on arrival what we wanted to have for dinner and, in fact, opted for a la carte as the fixed menu did not coincide with any of the dishes for which the restaurant is recommended. It obviously cost more but it did mean that we had a more leisurely meal and got to try their outstanding trout and steaks. The staff asked each morning whether or not we wanted the fixed meal, so it's easy to decide on the day whether or not to stay with the half-board option. The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful with wines too. Overall a good hotel but not one I'd return to unless the bedrooms offer a little more comfort.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.5 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Property: Hotel Kristal
Address: Ribchev Laz 4/a | 4265 Bohinjsko Jezero, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bohinjsko Jezero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming alpine family hotel is located in the natural paradise of the Lake Bohinj area with its stunning mountains and alpine forests. The bedrooms are bright and tastefully furnished. Lake Bohinj is a pleasant 500m walk from the hotel. Hotel Kristal is a family hotel in Bohinj, situated close to Lake Bohinj, on the outskirts of the Triglav national park. The hotel was built and renovated in line with local tradition and gives its guests the homely feeling, characteristic of the region. Hospitality, delicious cuisine, unspoilt nature and abundant possibilities for an active holiday await you at this excellent starting point. - ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Kristal Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing