We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A decent place to stay overnight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kanin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kanin
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bovec
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A decent place to stay overnight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel provides access to a large indoor swimming pool and SPA.
The rooms are clean and service is prompt and courteous.
The restaurant is not more than decent. Breakfast is OK and dinner is not fancy but nourishing. But then what could you expect when addition for dinner is 6EU.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex-gad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    29
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
23
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Nothing glamorous but as is the case for hotels this size and type, it totally suited our needs. We arrived very late and it was available so we went ahead and booked for a night. The room was clean, large and comfortable with a great balcony looking out at the mountains. Staff were efficient and friendly and the breakfasts were great. (Terrible coffee though but then I am a coffee snob and really it's a small misdemeanour!). Pool was an added bonus. The place smacks of an old Soviet style hotel (think concrete) but it has had a good contemporary update and is simple and clean. The bar area is pleasant for a glass of wine while you prepare for dinner and the images of activities on the walls make it feel like the outdoor base it is (we didn't eat at the hotel though as we wanted to sample elsewhere). No complaints and a good nights sleep. After a full days walking along the beautiful soca river we ended up booking another night as we got somewhat wet and didn't feel like camping!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so you can get the view of the mountains and the amazing weather patte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquila_Sayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasington, dc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is nothing fancy, but it was fine. I visited during the summer, and the mountain setting was beautiful.

My room was small, but comfortable. My friend and I had a room with 2 twin beds. The room also included a balcony.

Wi-fi is available in the lobby. The hotel has an indoor pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank removeyourshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Rating in this rewiew are for the pool area except the rooms-i don't know how they are because i am an exterior guest visiting the pool for years( the only pool in bovec). The only thing i have to say it' s about the pool bar. They served drink in glass bottled and glases! The bottles and glases lied everywhere! In the garden, around the pool and nobody from the staff picked them up!!I saw it also last year i was there. There were some bottles of champagne and glases lying on the floor. For three hours i was there nobody clean them. I guess they where there from the night sauna use.. NO Glass on the pool area!!!it is dangerous!!! There are also kids!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maarshaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Kanin for 8 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We had two adjoining rooms and both were very clean and well maintained throughout our stay. The beds and pillows were comfortable and there was a fridge in both rooms which was very handy. Staff were friendly and helpful.

There is a fantastic, large swimming pool which was clean and I got plenty room for a "proper" swim while my kids enjoyed fooling around. There are spa (massage etc) and sauna facilities which we didn't use but looked really nice too. The breakfast was not the best I've had for my British/Scottish tastes but was more than adequate. Food for dinner was buffet style and there was an excellent range of hot dishes and salads every night. It was above expectations.

The hotel is well positioned just away from the main centre of Bovec and there are lots of hikes and cycle rides you can do from there. There are lots of shops doing providing rafting, kayaking, canyoning, bike hire etc within a 5 minute walk of the Kanin. The quality of training and guiding we encountered was well above the norm. Our canyoning guide, Alenka, even offered to take us to Bled, where she lived, the next day - that was the sort of people we encountered everywhere in Bovec.

We would definitely return here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Centrally located in the village of Bovec this is a large hotell (100+) rooms with a fairly modern but basic standar. The rooms often have a nice view on the mountains and a balcony. The hotel sports a large wellness area with swimming pool as well as a large sauna area also taking in the view. Finnish sauna while enjoying the view is good.

The restaurant is serving an acceptable breakfast.

The rooms are somewhat small but comfortable

The reception was consistently manned with nice and very helpfull staff

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains have a balcony, while the rooms facing the village have neither a view no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stay here for skiing weekend on Kanin (hotel is 1km from cable car). Hotel is situated at beautiful place, surrounded by gorgeous nature. Rooms are clean but very basic in very sense, renovated but still "soc-realistic" style. Don't expect any touch of luxury. The best thing in the room is the view from the balcony on surrounding mountains. Breakfast also limited with hot stuff (scrambled eggs and some sausages). Coffee from the machine and orange juice real disaster. Service slow and staff unmotivated - waited 20 minutes for drink on the bar, got it after 2 times complaining at reception! Positive surprise was spa & sauna area that looks great, and has 5 different saunas, outside pool, Jacuzzi, relax room... They charge 10€ per entrance in "sauna world" but is worth after day of skiing. Wifi internet provided for free at reception area, no internet option in the rooms. I booked special package trough agency and got good deal, but would never pay full advertised price (100€/room) because is not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doktor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovec
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mangart
Hotel Mangart
#2 of 4 in Bovec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dobra Vila Bovec
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alp
Hotel Alp
#4 of 4 in Bovec
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Canin
Hotel Canin
#1 of 2 in Sella Nevea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
16.5 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sanje Ob Soci
Hotel Sanje Ob Soci
#1 of 5 in Bovec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanin

Property: Hotel Kanin
Address: Ledina 9, Bovec 5230, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Bovec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bovec
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kanin 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kanin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanin Hotel Bovec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing