We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpina Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lipa(Kranjska Gora)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gostilna Pri Martinu(Kranjska Gora)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kompas(Kranjska Gora)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Triglav(Kranjska Gora)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vitranc Apartments(Kranjska Gora)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
31
54
27
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
54
27
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski rooman upgradenight skiingsituated rightfantastic hotelbeginnerspistevillagelockersreceptionistalpinepassesequipmentwinterlakeswalks
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here forhristmas 2012:

Positives:

Food
Good 3 * hotel
Great kids club and childcare - you can use this even when not staying at the hotel.

Negatives:

Rooms far too hot
No family or adjoining room for families with 3 children
Cot charge for 6 nights €42 (a joke!)

Location:

Although it sounds great being 'ski in/ out' the hill to hotel was awkward and like a sheet of ice. Due to the nature of resort you are actually better staying at the bottom of the resort where there are plenty apartments and hotels nearer to lifts and ski hire etc.

Lorax is a very nice one!

Also if traveling with Thomson or crystal beware of booking all hire etc through them as it is actually cheaper to do it yourself also the card charges they warn you of are not true!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Excellent location, directly on the ski slope. Prices are moderate, you get real value for the money you pay. The place is clean, the staff are kind. Delicious food in the restaurant; the only problem I had was a lack of wireless in the rooms - wireless service is available only on the ground floor and in the bar on the first floor.

Room Tip: Not higher than second floor, because there's only one lift and it's for four persons max. so you'd often want just to use the stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mirjana007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We travelled as a family of 5 to this hotel through Thomson / Crystal Ski. Anna met us at the airport and was very friendly and helpful. Our initial impression was very good as reception is very modern and clean although let down by reception staff who were not very welcoming and seemed incapable of smiling. The room was comfortable and clean no problems apart from being far too hot like the rest of the hotel. Easily fixed in the room by turning the radiator off and opening the huge window. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the blue nursery slope. Fern met us as the ski-hire shop and was very patient and helped us no end. We had beginner lessons booked through Thomson/Crystal with Intersport instructors the adult sessions were fine the one thing that I felt really uncomfortable with was that all ski lessons started at the same time from the same meeting point however, our ski instructor took off before the children's beginner instructor arrived and left me with the dilemma of do I get left behind the group or abandon my child clearly I stayed with my child this continued to happen each day which made the start of the lessons an anxious time just a delay of a few minutes would have helped. Most of the ski instructors that had groups of children seemed fantastic, unfortunately our experience was very different the instructor David was bad tempered and clearly not enjoying his job. He regularly shouted at the children. During my ski lesson alongside the children's group I heard him saying to a little boy "you are the only one who cannot get it what is wrong with you". All the other child instructors seem to be laughing waving their hands in the air high fiving the children etc. Later in the week my son said that his instructor had pushed the same little boy over again asking him what was wrong with him. After talking to some other parents it was clear that they had witnessed and heard about his behaviour. He was reported to the rep Leah who denied there was an issue claiming that he had received good feedback that week. Back to our hotel experience. The food was ok and just about enough selection for us to find something we could eat. The layout of the buffet is disorganised you have to walk around about 3 times to get everything you need. The bar is very expensive compared to local bars and they refuse to serve tap water with your meal - short sited in my opinion, although the bar and waiting staff were friendly and helpful. The most disappointing experience for us was on the last night when at around 5.00 am the fire alarm sounded I jumped out of bed opened the bedroom door to see the corridor surrounded in what looked like smoke. I woke the others up and we got clothes on as quickly as possible and made our way to the fire exit although chinese whispers suggested it was fine and to go back to our room. It was complete chaos, we arrived with a couple more families in reception the night porter was struggling to know what to do. We were told that some children had set the fire extinguisher off which had created the dust like atmosphere and we should go back to our rooms there was no problem. I was not convinced and wanted an official instruction as the fire alarms were blaring we decided to wait for the fire brigade to arrive. We waited an hour or so no one arrived there was absolutely no communication. A guest called the police and they arrived shortly afterwards. The hotel seemed reluctant to involve the police or fire service. Surely in this sort of situation they should have evacuated the whole hotel as per their own evacuation procedure until they were satisfied there was not a fire and reassure guests. About 30 minutes after the police arrived they came back down the stairs accompanied by two young men with a london accent, who were not children they were at least 20 years of age. They were grovelling to the police about being drunk and sorry. They appeared to get away with it as we returned up to our rooms the hallways were covered in dust from the fire extinguishers. Around 11.00 am the same two individuals were standing outside reception swearing, bragging and laughing about how once they reached Austria there was nothing the Slovenian Police could do despite the fact there were young children around it was a disgrace. The reps were no where to be seen despite being based in this hotel which really did feel unacceptable at the time. It left us doubting the safety of this hotel in the event of a fire they will not follow their own procedure. If the hotel and the reps can learn from this episode and make a few minor changes I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katrow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

hotel ok for a budget hols you get what you pay for,food ok not much choice but always something to have.didnt do breakfast most of the time as not very much choice for getting up that early.
drinks at dinner were 2.50 euro for a 250ml bottle of coke thats approx £7.50 a night for 3 of us for 3/4 of a litre of coke if you had that each night thats £45.00 for 4.5 litres of coke

i understand prices in ski resorts are more expensive but even a half litre bottle of water was 2.80 euros the same bottle was 0.39 euro in the supermarket 500 metres away.

you can drink the tap water in slovenia so when i asked for a jug of tap water i was told no so we went to the supermarket bought exactly the same bottle as they sold and filled it each day with water you may think im stingy but we are not lovers of alcoholl or fizzy drinks with our meal.

the snow beach prices were also expensive for drinks 2.50 euro for a can of coke again this is at village level not halfway up the mountain where everything has to be taken by cable car or chairlift,i have stayed in a lot of countries to ski and appreciate the price paid for eating and drinking at slopeside 2000ft with breathtaking views but not at base level with not a lot of view.

skiing is good if you 1st or 2nd year but we did miss skiing down the mountain as a family as most of the time you are on a lift watching the others ski by.

watch the advertisement in crystal as the picture of the alpina and its surrounding slope is not exact.it now has a chairlift and is smooth with the bumps now to one side.

the blue run by the alpina is quite steep at the top if you fresh out of ski school and not got much control so you are very limited to a couple of small runs.

the piste map in the brochure shows blue runs stretching along the base of the mountain,you can discount the runs on the right they are not in kransjks gora and very difficult to access via skiing from the resort side.you do need to go by bus or taxi in order to ski these so take this into account when thinking how many accessible slopes there are.

hotel ok way too hot had balcony door open ajar all night just to stop breathing in hot air during the night even though it was minus 16 outside.

ok for a cheap ski hols but bored in a couple of days with slopes and i like to cruise blues most of the time

Room Tip: ask for a snow beach view and church village view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troubled t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was our first visit to Solvenia and we really enjoyed it. Our flight was to Salzburg and then we had a 3 hour journey to Kranjska Gora, breaking the journey halfway to stretch the legs and have something to eat. The scenery through Austria to Slovenia was beautiful and the time on the bus passed so quickly. We stayed at the Hotel Alpina which is situated on the edge of the slope, so you can put your ski's on and ski to the bottom of the slope. We could watch the snowboarding and the skiing from the hotel, so we could watch the skiing at night. The hotel location is one of the best in Kranjska Gora. The hotel rooms are reasonable sizes and are kept very clean. The hotel staff are very friendly and the communal areas are kept very tidy and clean. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was great. Lots of selection to choose from and plenty of food available. The only negative I can come up with, is that the hotel could do with a little updating. But don't let that put you off. We took a few trips away from Kranjska Gora, to see more of Solvenia and really enjoyed the capital and Lake Bled. Fantastic place to take the family, great place to learn to ski/snowboard. The ski schools are great and the instructors really knew how to look after small children. Thought the restaurants and coffee shops in the resort, to be very reasonable in price. Would go back to this resort, would love to see it in the Summer.

Room Tip: If booking through a travel agent, request a front facing room. The rooms at the front look out on to the slopes.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SusieJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews