We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Holiday to remember excellent :-)”
Review of Hotel Kompas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kompas
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Myself and my family are just back from Slovina where we stayed in Kranjska Gora at the Compass Hotel. We are a family of four I have two sons aged 4 and the younger one aged 6 months. So traveling with buggies and alot of bags etc. We traveled with Crystal Holidays which we have done on many times before and again it was an excellent choice. When we arrived at HOtel Kompas I was very impressed with the hotel are room was on the second floor in a lovely quite spot ( perfect) Breakfast each morning was from 7.30 till 10.00 and the choice was excellent from cerals to fruit , cheeses , hams hot food, pancakes the list goes on and during the full week I enjoyed the breakfast everyday. As we were halfboard we eat out for lunch in the local town or if we went on trips on the local bus ( very nice coaches) which were very local, the food was excellent and a very good price ( pizza €5-€7) Pasta €9 . We also used the pool everyday not always in our hotel as the sister hotel Larix across the road had also an even bettter pool so we swam there quite a lot ( has a life guard as well) In the evenings we eat again in the hotel dinner from 6.30-8.00 and again excellent selection of food from soup to salads to cheeses and a wide selection of main courses from Pasta to beef , chicken Lamb the list is endless... Deserts were also lovely and a selection of Ice cream which my son really enjoyed. The staff on reception were also very helful and spoke english so we never had any issue with language each day there were a number of activities on like hill walking, aerobics in the pool etc etc we didnt join any of these till the last evening and we went on the evening hike for 1 hour to the local lake by candle light , this was really intresting as the guide gave a great insight in to Kranjska Gora ( maybe should have done it on the first evening) . If your intrested in this hotel and Area you will have a fantastic holiday and stay in a really lovely hotel ...I know we did and we had a great time.
During our stay the World Debate Championships were on and the hotel was very busy which was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happyhols072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I are moderately fit for 57 year olds and came to Kranjska Gora for the walking and was not disappointed. There are plenty of walks for all types of fitness and with extremely beautiful views. We went with Crystal Lakes and Mountains on the Discovery Package which included: a walking map (extremely useful); excursion to the Julian Alps (amazing views especially as we had a clear day); Tyrolean Evening (none existent); Guided evening torch-lit walk to Lake Jasna (a waste of time); a ticket to use the Vitranc chair lifts (which we could only use Sunday as the other days useable clashed with the lakes excursion or the day we were flying home); and excursion to Lake Bled and Lake Bohinj (well worth it, unfortunately the weather was extremely damp).
Hotel Kompas was very clean, neat and tidy. Our room 152 overlook the mountains like most rooms, and was quite spacious. Plenty of wardrobe and shelving space and modern bathroom.
Reception staff - very helpful. Restaurant/bar staff - hard working, could be a bit more friendlier.
Food edible, but not four star quality. It was a bit maddening when at breakfast sometimes there was a toaster that worked, sometimes there wasn't; sometimes there were fruit salad and bread rolls sometimes there weren't. Same at evening meals, sometimes ice cream and salad dishes, sometimes not. When I asked the waiters where certain foods were, their reply was. "Not today".
Bar area (which merged into the reception area) had no atmosphere, we felt compelled to drink else where. There are plenty of bars and eating places in Kranjska, but in June they don't get as busy as in winter I suppose and the majority of them closed at 11pm except for the Vopa which is the closest Bar to the Kompas and the prices of drinks are very reasonable.
We used the hotel swimming pool and whirl pool most days after an excursion or walk to ease our muscles, then a bit of sunbathing outside when the sun was out.

We found the walking trails in Kranjska Gora not sign posted very clearly. Sometimes the rainy weather can affect the paths, so be careful. Crystal/Thomsons do provide a couple of free walking groups a week which we didn't take, but if you are unsure of routes, they are a good idea.

All in all, Kranjska Gora is a beautiful village, surrounded by beautiful scenery. People shouldn't just come here for the winter sports, this place is well worth seeing in the summer. We came here to get away from it all and be in touch with nature. We succeeded.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank doobblugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed for a week from 21st May. Actually booked the Alpina with Thomson but due to lack of bookings the Alpina wasn't open and we were moved to the Kompas. Didn't have any problems during our stay. We had one of the smaller rooms without bath or balcony (you pay extra if you want those), fairly basic but comfortable, clean, with decent sized bathroom with good shower. Daily maid service. All rooms have TV with Slovenian channels, English news channels and music channels. There's no kettle in the room. Food was good, with variety throughout the week. There's a nice pool and jacuzzi. You can use the larger pool at the Hotel Larix, just over the road, free of charge. Both hotels offer spa treatments (extra charge) but we didn't use those. There's a bar and lounge area and tables, chairs and loungers outside. The location is good, just a couple of minutes to walk into the centre of Kranjska Gora, and a few minutes to the bus stop.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nicc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Just back from a 1 week skiing holiday booked with Crystal. Had a family room with 1 king size double and 2 single beds - it's one of the largest family rooms we've had anywhere. All nice and clean. Very friendly staff at the hotel and at the ski school. Good sized swimming pool (approx 12m long and good width). I was a bit disappointed to find out dinner was buffet style, but I needn't have worried - the food was very good and there was always plenty of choice, with the exception of desserts, which didn't vary too much. The children ate loads! The hotel is well located for the the ski school and pistes ()5mins walk). My wife and children were first time skiers, and Kranjska Gora proved to be an excellent choice, with a range of blue runs for them and very good instructors. We got lunch each day at the supermarket for less than 15 euros for the 4 of us. All in all, a great holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RPM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Just spent a two week skiing holiday at this hotel. I cannot really fault anything - service, rooms, swimming pool, food and location all excellent. Perhaps the only criticism is the "sameness" of the dessert buffet but mains, salads, starters all very good choices available. In fact as stated we were there for two weeks and there wasn't a repeat main meal once! A word of advice - do not be fooled by your tour rep when they state that their lift pass prices are the best available - they can be obtained much cheaper at the Hotel Kompas reception desk!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Got a good deal on a week's break and went for it without knowing quite what to expect from a resort and country which were new to us. We were not disappointed!
A quality of service, food and accommodation which would have justified a much higher price, a beautiful location, excellent facilities and a view from the balcony to die for. A very short walk into the quiet centre of this peaceful resort made it the perfect setting for a great relaxing short walking break and top value as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at the Kompas over the Christmas period travelling with Inghams and were really pleased with the whole experience. The Hotel was very clean and well kept, our room for 2 adults and 1 16 year old sharing, which we thought could pose problems was no problem at all, the room was much larger than we expected with very comfortable large beds (no sofa bed or equivalent !), there was plenty of storage and hanging space for all our needs. The room also has table and chairs, mini bar and flat screen TV with over 30 channels, a mix of Slovenian, Italian, German and English language. The bathroom was not over spacious but had a good sized shower and a very large heated towel rail, which turned out to be very handy as we had a couple of damp days. All of the staff in the reception, restaurant and bar were very helpful and willing and spoke good English amongst other languages. There is free Wi Fi available in reception and in all the rooms which worked very well.
We couldn’t fault the food, the breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied and the evening meal provided a good choice to suit all the mix of nationalities staying there. Our only negative comment is that there were no“free” non alcoholic drinks provided for the evening meal. The normal, tea, coffee, chocolate, water, milk, fruit juices etc were available at breakfast but for the evening meal there was no water, or coffee available, we expected to pay for wine, beer etc but might have expected to be able to get water or coffee included as part of the meal. On Christmas eve there was a gala dinner for which some complementary drinks were provided and there was an excellent octet of local singers who provided some festive entertainment and also returned the next evening to give a free concert which was wonderful. We used the pool and spa facilities and liked the big fluffy dressing gowns and slippers they provided, although not overly large it really depended on what time you went to the pool area as to how busy it was, go at the end of a days skiing when the slopes shut and you must expect it to be busy. The ski lockers were allocated on a 1 per room basis, we would have struggled to get 3 sets of ski’s and boots etc in 1 locker and reception was kind enough to provide another locker for us.
The hotel is literally 200m from the ski hire shop and the bottom of the slopes. For us the skiing was varied enough, with enough runs to keep us entertained for the week, the slopes are open 9 – 4 and there is night skiing 7-10 for 6 nights a week. There are a number of eateries and snack bars at the bottom of the slopes selling drinks and snacks, it seemed a bit hit and miss what was available depending on what time you went in though. Kranjska Gora is a lovely village and we really enjoyed the traditional, relaxed and non commercial approach to Christmas they have, it was great to get away from all the hype! There are a good number of bars and restaurants in the village to try, the bars we found especially cheap, there are also quite a few shops to wander round, market stalls and 2 well stocked supermarkets. We really enjoyed our stay at the Kompas and Kranjska Gora, we would love to go back and explore the Kranjska Gora area, the walking looks great, and the rest of Slovenia and would not hesitate to stay at the Kompas again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunsnowandwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#8 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kranjska Gora
Best Western Hotel Kranjska Gora
#4 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lipa
Hotel Lipa
#5 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kompas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kompas

Address: Borovshka cesta 100, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range: £80 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kompas 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hotel in Kranjska Gora lies just off the village centre and right at the foot of the ski slopes, surrounded by a vast hotel garden and green meadows. In addition to the accommodation facilities, this hotel is praised for its rich culinary offer and the possibility of relaxing in the wellness centre, while its meetings and events offer allows the organisation of various events. The hotel offers 149 comfortable, modern-style rooms of various sizes and 5 suites. All rooms are equipped with cable TV, direct phone line, safe deposit box, bathing tub with shower and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kompas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kompas Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing