We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Kompas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kompas
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We (my wife, my 3 and a half month old daughter and myself) spent 4 lovely days at the hotel Kompas. The location is great, just a couple of minutes away from the centre of Kranjska Gora. The facility is modern. Rooms are clean with a balcony to relax on. Staff was professional and polite and we felt like at home.

The food was very good and there was plenty of choices for breakfast and for dinner (buffet).

The only negative that we can think off were the mattresses that were too soft and we had our backs hurting after a night sleep.

We definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dabendji2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had 10 days at Hotel Kompass and throughly enjoyed our stay. The room was compact and spotless my only gripe was no air-conditioning (temperatures most days were 30 degrees) so we had to leave doors open!
The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was acceptable I did get a bit fed up with breakfast after a few days but could always manage to find something to eat. The location of Kranjska Gora is stunning beautiful walks all around and good access to places nearby on the public transport. All in all a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maddy672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned to UK after a week at the Kompas Hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable and a decent size. We found all the staff cheerful and always prepared to give help and advice.The down side with the room was that it had no air conditioning and so we slept with our balcony door open,which was ok until 5 am when suppliers wagons started arriving,as our balcony was above the loading bay. Our biggest disappointment was with the food which was all buffet style. Generally everything was overcooked.Meat dishes were lumps of gristly meat submerged in thick gravy or sauce. Vegetables seemed to be of the tinned variety and pasta was stodgy. We have eaten buffet food in lots of hotels and from our experience this was some of the worst. Having said that, I wouldn't rule out staying at the Kompas as the positives outweighed the negatives and we enjoyed our week even though we had five days of wet weather,.Kranjska Gora is great for anyone who enjoys walking and Alpine scenery.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

stayed 1 week feb 2013 with my husband. We re in our late 20s and it was our first snowy holiday. We flew into salzburg so had a 3hr transfer which was a pain but the scenery is amazing on route. Hotel is clean and has everything you need. The location is good for slopes and village really easy access to everything. We didnt prebook anything as we wanted to wait and see what we fancied doing day by day. We hired skis and snowboards from intersport at the bottom of the slope you get discount if youre staying at the kompas prices around 15 half day 28 full day skis or snowboard both with boots and can return til 10pm. Lift passes available at the slopes at 30 full day. The hotel is very warm so take some cool clothing for when you are in the room or at dinner. We had our big window open whenever possible. Food at hotel was better than expected we were half board and had dinner at the hotel every night there was always something good. Only small issue was the lack of manners from hotel staff. Not a big deal just noticable. Our room had a stunning view of the mountains and the village is beautiful. We did two afternoon trips to the capital City and Lake Bled. Dont miss Bled it's not too far and really Lovely to See. was busy due to it being half term Locally. Lovely place and good value hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessie28Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed in Hotel Kompas for Feb half term, it was our first family ski holiday and was a great choice.

The hotel is in a great location for both ski-ing (just over the road) and the village. Had a family room which was basic but large and comfy with a very good shower. Would recommend taking a kettle & tea bags as we would have appreciated a hot drink in the room whilst relaxing after ski-ing. There's a mini bar in the room which we used to store drinks bought at the local supermarket (where prices are very reasonable 1euro for a bottle of beer).

Used the leisure facilities to relax, pool was perfect temperature for a swim and was never busy.

The only disappointment was the food, breakfast was the usual buffet and adequate. The evening meals were again buffet style, we are not a fussy family but found the food rather bland and unimaginative.

Drinks in the hotel are more than in the local bars but are still reasonable (comparble with uk prices).

We all used Inter Sport for ski lessons (see seperate review). The area is perfect for family ski-ing, beginners and intermediates. To say it was half term it was not busy with only on occassion having to queue a few mins for a lift. Night ski-ing is available on a couple of slopes every night except mon which we thoroughly enjoyed. There is an ice rink adjacent to the hotel which is reasonably priced (3euros adult, 2euros child). The area is catering for family holiday's so there is little nightlife, just what we wanted after a day's ski-ing.

Eating out is cheap with portion sizing being large, you must try the Slovenia pizza's.

We were travelling with Crystal and thought the kids (8 & 6) would enjoy the dog sledging, however although it was enjoyable it lasted no more than 10mins, as it cost 130euros we were left feeling ripped off.

We all enjoyed Kransjka Gora and it's ski-ing environment being quiet in comparison to the more popular ski resorts that we intend to return here next year.

Room Tip: Bring a kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank i_buckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here as a party of 6, 2 of us having booked separatly however we still managed to be sat together during all meals which was good.

Hotel generally was very good, not even a minute walk from the first slopes, swimming pool, great views.

We booked 2 days later than the others we travelled with and had to pay a little more as the holiday price increased. We were on the second floor and the others on the first and the room we stayed in was slightly bigger with a balcony and a larger bed, also a bath. There was a mini bar in the room however quite expensive so we did not use - also the fridge was not cold. The rooms were very clean and cleaners friendly, very powerful shower but quite tempromental when it came to switching from warm to boiling hot to freezing.

Food was good, I am quite a fussy eater. Generally a different pasta and soup every night with a large range of meats and cheeses. Lots of typical 'all inclusive' desserts and fresh fruit. Although we were half board, we did think we could at least get a glass of water with our meal but this was not allowed and drinks were very expensive in the hotel. A 500ml bottle of water as 2euro 20 when the same brand of water was 50 cent in the supermarket for a 1.5 litre! We had to then pay for bottled tap water each night otherwise we would have gone thirsty.

The hotel in itself was good, the only gripe we had was the heat. Everywhere was just too hot within the hotel, we slept with the door to our balcony open every night and it was -15 outside.
I would definitly stay here again, and would also reccommend the hotel.

Just to add, the reception is not very ambient to drink in, try Vopa bar. Also if you're stuck for lunch the pizza place 'bor' is very good. 5 euro for a large pizza which is cheaper than the burgers etc on the slopes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank led92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We had 3 nights at this hotel during October half-term. On first arrival we thought we may be the only people at the hotel; we only saw other guests at breakfast! It was a quiet and relaxing stay with beautiful views of the mountains.
There was a mix up of rooms when we arrived, which I think was down to the booking agent, but it was quickly and efficiently sorted.
The Spa was small, but clean and relaxing. Although we were a little shocked to find there were no towels available - a trip back to our room to collect towels and robes was a little annoying (especially after having a massage).
Breakfast was basic, although it did improve on the last day when there were more guests staying in the hotel.
The bar was a bit hit or miss. Some drinks unavialble and the same cocktail was served veyr differently on separate days!?!?
This was a great location for exploring this region! Would definitely consider returning to do some more walking - minus the unexpected snow in October!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to face the mountains but do request a room with a good view just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#8 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kranjska Gora
Best Western Hotel Kranjska Gora
#4 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kompas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kompas

Address: Borovshka cesta 100, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range: £80 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kompas 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hotel in Kranjska Gora lies just off the village centre and right at the foot of the ski slopes, surrounded by a vast hotel garden and green meadows. In addition to the accommodation facilities, this hotel is praised for its rich culinary offer and the possibility of relaxing in the wellness centre, while its meetings and events offer allows the organisation of various events. The hotel offers 149 comfortable, modern-style rooms of various sizes and 5 suites. All rooms are equipped with cable TV, direct phone line, safe deposit box, bathing tub with shower and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kompas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kompas Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing