We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location for great walking. Friendly and welcoming.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kompas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kompas
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Barnet
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb location for great walking. Friendly and welcoming.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Lovely view of the mountains from our room. We stayed a week and enjoyed some great walking either directly from the hotel or by using the local buses. Good variety of food at both the breakfast and evening buffet. Our room wasn't huge but it was adequate. We enjoyed using the balcony although it didn't get direct sun. Would love to return to Kranjska Gora and the Kompas.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    76
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
56
60
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

The rooms were simple and comfortable. The hotel was conveniently situated within the resort. The restaurant and lounge area were frequently crowded, so we tended to go elsewhere to hang out.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Very pleased with this hotel
The food was excellent and the difficult part was choosing what to have, as there was so many choices on offer all done buffet style. We arrived back late from Venice one night and having given them notice of this a ‘salad’ was to be kept for us, this salad was way beyond our expectations. On our going home early departure a cold breakfast (packed lunch) was supplied and again it proved impressive.
Great view from our room/balcony in such a peaceful location yet only a few minutes walk to the shops, cafes and supermarket. For what it’s worth the police station is just across the road although it doesn’t look like one.
The indoor swimming pool is around one metre deep with lots of space to relax and there is a small kids pool.
All hotel staff encountered was friendly and all in all it was a very relaxing place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strath101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

We stayed on the kompas saver rate which included lift pass and ski/boot hire. It was very good value. The hotel itself was good, we had a slight problem when we arrived at 1.30pm to find our room was not made up.
Once made up our room was very nice, comfy twin beds and a good size with a nice balcony for chilling our drinks. It was very warm at all times in the hotel kompas, a little over warm at times.
The buffetts for breakfast and dinner had plenty of variety and although we are both vegetarian we never stuggled to find enough to eat.
The kompas pool is a bit dull but you can use the Larix pool complex over the road for free and this one is much better.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saldoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goderich, ont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

I cannot describe how pleased we were with the hotel. We travel the world and in our opinion, the Kompas is at the top of our list.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunoGoderich_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Stayed in the Kompas for a week’s skiing from 28th Feb 09. The hotel was spot-on. Rooms were clean, roomy and comfortable. The food was very good indeed. I’m vegetarian and usually had a choice to tempt me on top of a good selection of salad. Breakfast was a varied buffet with the more traditional breakfast choices as well as a great array of continental goodies (my preference - being a bit of a non-typical Brit in this respect!). The bar area was pleasant enough with free WiFi but not exactly buzzing while we were there. Didn’t venture downstairs to the nightclub though…

The hotel was located an easy stroll from the slopes and had secure ski lockers big enough for board and skis for two (as we ended up doing a bit of both but more on that later). The hotel had a small pool and Jacuzzi which you can use for free, but the one time we tried to use it a large family was monopolising the Jacuzzi (so we didn’t get a look in) and the pool was really too small to actually swim in unless empty (which probably only happens during the day when most people want to be on the slopes). Gave it up as a bad job after about 20 minutes before I was tempted to drown the vile children throwing themselves at me. (Disclaimer: I consider all children to be vile, almost without exception ;-)).

Unfortunately we were rather unlucky with the weather. We had several days’ rain which turned the slopes to mush. Some lessons continued but conditions for skiing were pretty lousy. My instructor did his best mixing lessons with theory but my husband’s instructor (a more advanced class) called off her class for one day as she said it was too dangerous and they could easily damage their knees. We had wanted to do some boarding as we’d had an introductory class before leaving and given the conditions, this was probably just as well as the slush made for quite good beginner conditions! We booked a two hour private lesson which was just enough to get us using the lifts. Got a really good deal (two for one I think) on hiring boards (as well as the skis) for three days so spent the afternoons practicing our boarding skills (when we could face the rain). Towards the end of the week, the rain turned to snow and the temperature dropped. Conditions improved and we even got some night boarding in which was fun. Although the weather meant we didn’t get as much skiing in as I would have liked, my impression was the number of runs was quite limited. I suspect given perfect conditions, even as a low-ish intermediate skier (year three), I would have been getting bored by the end of the week. The slopes are a series of mostly quite low runs spread out side by side with some longer ones as you moved to the right (facing the slopes). Beginner and second year skiing would probably be fine with plenty of opportunity to build skills.

Our last half day turned glorious. Wall-to-wall blue skies, cold with a fresh sprinkling of snow. The slopes had a whole different feel; it was Saturday so local people were out, the bars and restaurants at the bottom of the slopes had decks and terraces full of people relaxing in deck chairs in the sun and had we had a week like this I’m sure I would have come away feeling this was a perfectly nice resort – certainly for beginners. Just be aware that either end of the season can be a bit risky.

One other word of warning (or recommendation, depending on your perspective!). The resort seems to be very child-friendly if the child-soup you are forced to wade through in every bar, restaurant and hotel is anything to go by. It drove me a bit mad (being a kiddie-phobe). If you are looking for a peaceful, grown-up atmosphere, this maybe isn’t the resort for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastmoorWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

We booked two weeks in the Hotel Kompas on a cut-price deal, and thought that as we had paid a very low price, we would get small rooms with no views. We couldn't have been more wrong. Our room was spacious, on the second floor and with a breathtaking view across to the Julian Alps (the best view in the hotel, as far as I was concerned). The room was immaculately cleaned every day and was very comfortable, with a lovely balcony. The buffet-style evening meal was ideal, as there was a lot of choice and you could have as much or as little as you wanted.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. They also spoke excellent English.
The pool was a little on the small side, but it was fine if there were not too many people in there.
The location of the hotel was the best in Kranjska Gora. Set in its own grounds with lots of trees, it was very close to the village centre with its restaurants and bars, but far enough away not to be disturbed by noise.
I would certainly return to this very welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#3 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#7 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#5 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kompas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kompas

Property: Hotel Kompas
Address: Borovshka cesta 100, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kompas 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hotel in Kranjska Gora lies just off the village centre and right at the foot of the ski slopes, surrounded by a vast hotel garden and green meadows. In addition to the accommodation facilities, this hotel is praised for its rich culinary offer and the possibility of relaxing in the wellness centre, while its meetings and events offer allows the organisation of various events. The hotel offers 149 comfortable, modern-style rooms of various sizes and 5 suites. All rooms are equipped with cable TV, direct phone line, safe deposit box, bathing tub with shower and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kompas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kompas Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing