We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in town”
Review of Hotel Kotnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kotnik
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
odsmal
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Still the best in town”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Our last visit did not make us disappointed.
The same very friendly manager, Romana.
A pleasant room, clean and with everthing
you need for a short or long stay.
The Location is great.
The food in the restaurant is great.
The only constant little downside is the
somewhat stressful atmosphere among
the waiters there.
Apart from that, everything is very fine

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Kotnik for 5 nights in early September as a base from which to go walking in the surrounding mountains.

The location of the hotel is great. It's right in the centre of Kransjka Gora and within easy reach of the trail heads. Our room (we were in the one bedroom suite on the top floor) was huge, well equipped and very clean. The views out over the rooftops towards the mountains were beautiful.

Some of the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful, others were less so which was a shame.

Unfortunately I agree with Amber Rambler about the flies. We got really frustrated constantly batting them away in both the restaurant and the pizzeria. We also found a dead fly in our scrambled egg which really put us off our breakfast but didn't seem to concern the staff.

That said the pizzas are excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a view then ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungCoupleBeckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield,UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The hotel is a fine building in beautiful condition and my room was lovely and spacious, The breakfast is as good as you will get short of one guest house I recently visited in the USA where the host was a gourmet chef. For example, one does not expect a choice of nine cereals plus nuts and raisins. If you want hot a fairly decent bacon and scrambled egg, a choice of cakes and fruit and more.

But what was exceptional was that all the staff were friendly and helpful, including in their restaurant and pizzeria alongside the hotel. My only adverse comment is that the restaurant food while of good quality lacked imagination, was somewhat over-cooked and occasionally far too salty (when none should be added unless by the customer) but I am told by other visitors that this is Slovenia, not this hotel in particular and I did run into this elsewhere myself including in Ljubljana. That is the only reason I did not give six stars out of five!!!

Petra deserves a special mention. Throughout my stay, nothing was too much trouble for her and when I arrived she spent a lot of time explaining every little thing I asked, giving me every prospect of making my stay as enjoyable as possible and getting the most of what the area around Kranjska Gora has to offer.

While I write a little additional advice that you will not find in the guides. The Vrsic Pass just south of Kranjska Gora is stunning but the best route is not publicised. I was lucky to figure it out while looking for an alternative before I even left home should I want to avoid having to go through 50 hair pin bends on both the outward journey and then back again. After going only to the top of the pass and back to Kranjska Gora on my first day there I realised as most people will agree that the views on that stretch are far better going north through the pass so I went on my alternative route the way I am about to tell you and I strongly advise you do the same. You'll need to hire car and be a confident driver but the road is excellent and the hairpin bends well laid out even if rather testing.

From Kranjska Gora head west into Italy but make sure your car hire allows you to do that. You will go through lovely scenery most of the way turning south in the vicinity of Tarvisio and onto Lago del Predel just before you head more or less eastwards back into Slovenia. You will see that on the map at http://maps.nokia.com/46.4456805,13.6952628,12,0,0,normal.day just below the SP76 route label on this map. Stop there and have a good look as it is quite beautiful. From there head towards Bovec on the 203 but turn left to head towards the pass before you quite reach the town. Bovec is sleepy but quite smart and a good point to head for a break and a coffee en route.From Bovec the views of the mountains get better and better on the 203 towards the Vrsic Pass but they already have been so good, you might not be expecting anything better. From Trenta they are stupendous yet even so they still get better until you get to near the summit when IMO the views have tailed off a little. But as you start downhill from there they are near their best again and only diminish in beauty a little most of the way down. But finally, do stop off at the tiny lakes very near to the road (at first it looks like there only is one) only about 2 km before you reach Kranjska Gora. From the road it looks like nothing but stop the car and take in the fabulous view, if not as close up to the mountains as in the pass, almost as stunning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contrajur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is in the centre of the village. Romana the owner has this place spotlessly clean. We had a nice room overlooking the mountains. Breakfast was good. We had dinner in both the pizza place and hotel restaurant.. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

A nice hotel just in the center of Kranjska Gora with comfortable rooms and a very good restaurant. We were there 4 nights and we enjoyed very much both at the room as well as at the restaurant below.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is not the lap of luxury...who cares. You are in Slovenia in a picture perfect mountain town staying in one of the main squares. Some rooms (ours) were just above the really good pizzeria downstairs...the only issue was the smell of great food wafting through our room. We fit a family of four into the room ( they have one or two to fit a family). We did not interact with the staff much but just a great town and a solid choice of hotel in this great town

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaldon, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in June, with a party of 17 ramblers. The rooms are large and attractive,very comfortable beds, and everything was clean and smart. The hotel manager couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. They have a very nice terrace at the front, looking out over the town. There is a small lounge downstairs with tea and coffee making facilities, and a 2nd room with a large flat-screen TV.
The restaurant and attached pizzeria were OK - food was acceptable if unexciting, but I'd definitely stay there again if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor at the front have a sloping ceiling - not a big problem but I did manage to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#4 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#7 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Klass
Suite Hotel Klass
#9 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#8 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kotnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kotnik

Property: Hotel Kotnik
Address: Borovska cesta 75, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kotnik 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kotnik is a family-run hotel with a long, 30 - year tradition. It is located in the center of Kranjska Gora, know for its excellent restaurant and the oldest pizzeria PINO. Very kind employees and owners are a guarantee for the guests well - being and comfortable stay. All of our 15 rooms (single, double, triple and also rooms with four beds) in the hotel part are equipped in accordance with the standards needed (SATV, shower and toilet, Wi-Fi, telephone, mini bar, safe deposit box) Our guests can also use a fully equipped conference room, suitable for 10 people. A big parking lot in front of the hotel insures a free of charge and safe parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kotnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kotnik Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing