We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoing the Spirit of Julian Hospitality :)”
Review of Hotel Kotnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kotnik
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you want to feel the joy of standing at Julian Alps, Hotel Kotnik at Kranjska Gora is the right place for you :) Summer or winter, beautiful landscapes, intercultural enviroment, and friendly people are inspiring holiday :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this fabulous hotel in Kranjska Gora. Apart from its great location at the quieter part of town but within 2 minutes of bars and restaurants, the thing that makes it really stand out is the very visible attention to detail aimed at making your stay as pleasant as possible. All the staff were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms and other areas were kept spotlessly clean with towel changes very day. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of healthy choices of cereal, fruit, yogurt plus eggs, cakes, biscuits and of course lovely coffee. We also appreciated the complementary tea and coffee plus free internet in the lounge and the little sitting area outside this room to watch the world go by after a long walk or cycle. And, as everyone else has said, the attached Pizzeria is excellent with substantial, inexpensive, tasty pizzas. Don't stay anywhere else in Kranjska Gora !!

Room Tip: Recommend a room on the top floor overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

wonderful boutique hotel with exceptionally helpful staff. breakfast is very good and so is the restaurant- try the fish platter (for two). rooms get a bit too hot during the day and it would be nice to have at least a room fan. electric sockets take two round pins or Schuko. Kranjska gora is only 45 -50 minutes from Ljubljana. hire a car and drive into the Italian side just past KG. the drive is spectacular.
the only reason for 4 stars is lack of a room fan.
beers - larger mainly - Lasko and Union

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rina-menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Delightful small hotel situate in the heart of the village. Our room was very spacious and light with wonderful mountain views from two large windows. Quality exuded throughout our whole experience. Reception and breakfast staff were welcoming, courteous and professional. The provision of tea and coffee in the little sitting room was a welcome bonus. We enjoyed a thoroughly pleasant four days with them. There was a hiccup with the wifi connection but the staff were immediately responsive showing initiative to resolve the problem. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We would definitely recommend this hotel for location, price and most of all the hospitality.

The hotel is located a 5min walk from the small village bus stop (from / to small villages & towns and Ljubljana) and the same distance from tourist office, bars and the ski slopes. We came for two weeks hiking in the mountains and the room we were in was a lovely size and so immaculate, the balcony overlooked the mountains. The shower was amazing after long hard days out walking.

Breakfast was continental with eggs and bacon and if you didn't like the thick coffee there was the biggest selection of tea and other instnat coffee and cappuccino and if something wasn't there or to your satisfaction you simply have to ask. We found the breakfast a great choice, fresh and really nice.

Pizzeria next door is very reasonably priced and unless you have the appetite of a giant, you will find one pizza between two is more than enough and there is a lot of choice.

The best part of the hotel was the wonderful people who own / work there, we have travelled many places in the world and truly not met such genuine people who really want to make your stay fabulous - they don't know if you will be back or not but treat you as if you will be.

General tips:
Great place to walk from, buy the Ciccone book of walks in Slovenia and / or get a map for €6.50 with local cycling & walking routes from the Tourist Office in the village.
Hardest walk is to Vrisic Pass to see the image of the girl in the mountain, but it was early in May with no buses and 6ft of snow in places
Do the Tromje walk (3 countries). You get the bus to Ratec and walk through the village, up through the forest and are on/crossing the borders of Slovenia, Austria and Italy. Quite special. On the 2nd Sunday of September people from all the countries meet up on the mountain and have a party if sorts by all accounts.
Try the 'hotdogs' from the bakery, odd but very tasty

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HnS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A small hotel in a small and silent town. We stayed just three nights and were satisfied. Our room was big enough and it was very clean. Breakast was also good enough for such a small hotel. Coffee and tea maker was near the loby and free of charge. Staff was kind. We also had dinner which was good. There is a supermarket near the hotel and some very good restaurants. For those who like gambling, casino is very near and those who like nature and walking a beautiful lake is near. If you like to relax and enjoy the nature, then Kranjska Gora is for you in any season.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjana1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Charming hotel. We stayed there in winter time, everything was covered in snow and the overall impression was very nice, as the building is very nice and well-maintained from the outside, looks cosy and inviting, in my opinion it is the most beautiful hotel there. The inside was nice as well - although everything seems tiny at first, rooms were big enough, nicely furnished and very clean.
Hotel has a restaurant which is all right, but we preffered a hotel pizzeria which is cosy, original and have very tasty pizzas.
Only negative sides are: at breakfast some items were not replaced when they were out (small amounts so they dissapeard quickly), quite slow internet connection (but the plus is that it is free, which is not the case in other hotels there) and although we had two rooms and one apartment, we couldn't get neither one for late check-out (we have a little baby so we wanted a few more hours to leave comfortably).
Although there are hotels located closer to the ski slopes, which is a plus if you came for winter sports, we will surely choose hotel Kotnik again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lipa
Hotel Lipa
#5 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#7 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN HOTEL KRANJSKA GORA
BEST WESTERN HOTEL KRANJSKA GORA
#4 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kotnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kotnik

Address: Borovska cesta 75, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range: £61 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kotnik 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kotnik is a family-run hotel with a long, 30 - year tradition. It is located in the center of Kranjska Gora, know for its excellent restaurant and the oldest pizzeria PINO. Very kind employees and owners are a guarantee for the guests well - being and comfortable stay. All of our 15 rooms (single, double, triple and also rooms with four beds) in the hotel part are equipped in accordance with the standards needed (SATV, shower and toilet, Wi-Fi, telephone, mini bar, safe deposit box) Our guests can also use a fully equipped conference room, suitable for 10 people. A big parking lot in front of the hotel insures a free of charge and safe parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kotnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kotnik Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing