We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kotnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kotnik
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed for 3 days and we are both in love with the Hotel, Staff and area. The suite was warm , spacious, bright and clean. Very modern fixtures & fittings including 2 flat screen tVs, DVD player and minibar. Lovely quiet hotel and in central location. Hotel Restaurant was lovely plus the pizzeria they also run had excellent food and high level of customer service. Breakfast consisted of wide range of options - one small drawback was the 'fried' eggs were always served fairly raw. Staff very helpful on 'what to see and do'. We will definitely go back next year for a longer visit and we can't wait.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IncidentalT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    35
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longniddry East Lothian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

Sandy & Eff. lawrie.
Longniddry.
Scotland.

Just returned from another great holiday in Kranjska Gora.
The Kotnik is as good as last time. Staff are really friendly with a great sense of humour, and the food is so good we both put on weight, despite walking for 5 to 6 hours every day. We had a double room this year with just the two of us , it was like an apartment! The menu for half board is a selection from the main menu and has 10 different 3 course meals. You can however take a starter from any meal and combine it with any main course and any sweet..If you like a fish try the trout..

.A typical meal would be...Soup...with fresh bread...Trout with all the trimmings..a separate bowl of salad each...Fresh pancakes with ice cream , filled with crushed almonds..and a glass of wine each..And beware ..the portions are enormous!

Any problems...just tell Romana..she can converse in six different languages and switch from one to another at the drop of a hat.. Puts us to shame.. We will be back next year definitely.

  • Liked — Cleanliness.. Space
  • Disliked — The Tv but never watched it..
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyandEff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

I booked the Kotnik because I had seen it on previous trips to Kranjska Gora and it looked lovely. Backed up by the reviews here I thought I couldn't go wrong.

Sadly we were very disappointed. Firstly the parking was a free-for-all car park in front of the hotel which was full on our arrival. We had to wait for at least 20 minutes for someone to leave before we could park.

The lady on the desk on arrival was friendly and helpful enough. But the room just seemed plain, dull and uninteresting, with insipid wooden furniture and a really horrible threadbare armchair which seemed utterly pointless.

The room was too hot, with just a small window which even when fully open gave little light and no fresh air. It wasn't even that hot a day. Having to have the window open also made it a noisy as well as uncomfortable stay. You could also hear noises from other rooms.

The hotel has a popular restaurant and pizzeria which seemed OK but not as spectacular as others make out. In fact the lads staffing the pizzeria were quite rude and arrogant.

The final straw came at breakfast when, after a poor night's sleep, we were confronted by a dreadful buffet selection with flies happily sitting on the bread. The coffee was the worst I have ever tasted.

We were due to stay for two nights but made our excuses and left after just one night.

Overall the Kotnik is not the worst hotel I've ever stayed in but it just didn't suit us at all, with no good features to linger in the memory. You can easily find nicer small hotels and guest houses in Kranjska Gora, don't bother paying the extra just to save a five minute walk into the centre.

  • Liked — Look nice from the outside.
  • Disliked — Hot, uncomfortable, dull, uninteresting room. And the strange armchair!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmberRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Kotnik as part of a two centre holiday through Inghams.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Romana who checked us in and offered us welcome schnapps. Our room was spacious with a double bed with wooden frame (watch your legs, ours are covered in bruises!!) a dressing table and couple of chairs. There was also a mini bar which was reasonably priced. This was also a family room as a door led you two a small room with a bunk bed in. The TV had lots of channels including Sky News, Discovery, National Geographic and Animal Planet. They were all spoken in English with Slovenian subtitles. The bathroom was quite small with a walk in shower. The room and in fact the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Bath towels were very small in size and just about wrapped around you.

Our room was on the first floor right over the terrace bar/restaurant. I think we were really unlucky being allocated this room as it was extremely noisy in the evenings with people eating on the terrace and in the restaurant underneath us. You constantly heard chairs being moved about and people talking. The soundproofing in the rooms was very poor as unfortunately we could hear other people’s toilet habits which weren’t very pleasant. Also, every morning between 5am and 6am we were woken with the delivery of goods to the restaurant.

We were on a half board basis so were issued with “tickets” to get your evening meal in the restaurant and your free drink. The first night was very confusing as being hotel guests we did not get the A La Carte menu but a small menu which had 10 different menus all which had starter, main course and sweet. We thought you had to pick one but it turned out you could basically have what you wanted from any of those 10 menus! The first night we had veal which was 3 escallops’ just pan fried and it was superb. As the week went on though it was pot luck what you got!! For example hubby enjoyed his veal so much he asked for it again and it was totally different. He was rather disappointed to get one small piece of meat in a gravy sauce. Another example was “Turkey Garden Style” which hubby had one night. This was pan fried turkey with lots of garden vegetables. I was regretting not having that as I was missing my veg. Next night I ordered this dish and got pan fried turkey with not one single vegetable.

We also felt that in the restaurant we were treated quite differently to the non residents who were eating in the very popular restaurant. Over the week upon speaking to other guests who were also staying half board, they too felt the same, service was not as good. On our last night we had pizza which was huge and delicious except it took 50 minutes to serve as I think our waiter forgot to order it! Drinks were very reasonably priced with half a litre of house wine at just over £3. It was lovely as well.

Breakfast was buffet style. There was a large stainless steel utensil which was being kept warm by a tea light and inside was bacon, sausage and fried eggs. Sadly the food was not even tepid. The eggs were like plastic and the sausage were like little bullets. So we stuck to the Continental breakfast and I thoroughly enjoyed the seeded brown bread.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Kranjska Gora. There is so much to do there. We hired bikes a couple of days which were excellent value at 10 Euros per person for the day. We cycled into Italy and visited the lakes which were beautiful. There are excellent cycle paths in the area. Watch out for the roller bladers though, it is a very popular sport on the cycle tracks. We also went up the chairlift (the second one was very very scary) and that cost only 14 euros for the two of us return. You can actually toboggan down but sadly I chickened out and now wished we had as other people said it was great fun, I think I was too stressed from the single seat chair lift!!

We will definitely return to Kranjska Gora but next time will do DIY rather than package and stay in one of the many private apartments in the village. Eating/drinking out is so cheap and there are some wonderful restaurants that others who had eaten there told us about.

  • Liked — Nice homely clean accommodation
  • Disliked — The service and treatment in the dining room in the evening. The noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2007

Hotel Kotnik is a small (15 bed) hotel situated in the centre of Kranjska Gora, within a 10 minute walk of the main ski slopes.

We stayed for 4 nights in February during the English Half Term School holidays. Despite this the town and the slopes were not too busy.

Our room was spacious and well equipped. Both the Pizzeria and Restaurant attached to the hotel were excellent. Unlike many establishments of this size, the restaurant has an extensive menu. Prices are also very reasonable.

However, the most impressive feature was the quality of the service. Romana and all the staff were extremely helpful, indeed when my wife injured her hand during our stay , a member of the hotel staff insisted on driving her to the local Doctor!

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank msh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2006

What a superb hotel, one of the nicest i have ever stayed in (and I stay in a lot) Our room was so big couldn't see the telly from the bed!
Beautifully presented comfortable quiet room, very reasonable prices, not just for the room but the meals also.
Helpful staff, great restaurant (full of locals as well; good sign)
Could not recommend more highly.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#3 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#8 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#7 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kotnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kotnik

Property: Hotel Kotnik
Address: Borovshka cesta 75, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kotnik 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kotnik is a family-run hotel with a long, 30 - year tradition. It is located in the center of Kranjska Gora, know for its excellent restaurant and the oldest pizzeria PINO. Very kind employees and owners are a guarantee for the guests well - being and comfortable stay. All of our 15 rooms (single, double, triple and also rooms with four beds) in the hotel part are equipped in accordance with the standards needed (SATV, shower and toilet, Wi-Fi, telephone, mini bar, safe deposit box) Our guests can also use a fully equipped conference room, suitable for 10 people. A big parking lot in front of the hotel insures a free of charge and safe parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kotnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kotnik Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing