We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great self catering ski option”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kranjska Gora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kronau Chalet Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a great option if you want self catering in KG. Chalet very spacious, well equipped, plenty of room for 2 couples and had everything you need. Very well maintained, excellent central heating system kept us warm and cosy and wifi available to check your emails / browse the net etc. Property very well maintained and looks brand new. Great cleanliness standards.

Dejan as others have said is fantastic, very responsive to any requests, on hand and really goes the extra mile. He was round every other day helping us with something or other.

Ski slopes are around 20min walk so this is the only draw back, if you are happy to walk in each day - as we were - and enjoy the view of mountains as you walk in then its fine. There is a supermarket close for shopping. However you do get great value for money being on the edge of the resort and we thought the price we paid was competitive.

All Slovenians we met were very friendly, welcoming and helpful so Slovenia is a good option in general for your ski break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed_Pyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arrived on December 21st 2013 and stayed for 1 week in chalet 19.
This place is amazing!!!! It was a luxury home from home and we intend on returning one day.
Dejan, who owns the complex is the most helpful person we have ever met, nothing is too much trouble and he really goes that extra mile to make sure you know everything of what's available within the town and surrounding areas. When we arrived there was no kettle, seeing as us English love a cuppa he made sure we had a brand new kettle within 24 hours!!! He also supplies use of a locker at the ski centre which is fantastic as you can leave your ski wear etc there overnight.
I have to say that Crystal ski were pretty useless, they sold my husband and son a full days snow board hire & ski passes for the Monday but the slopes close at 4pm on a Monday where other days they are open until 10pm!!! My husband tried to complain but we were fobbed off with a tale of how a form has to be filled in & sent onto area manager, when quite frankly Crystal ski had put their reps into resort only 1 week before we arrived and they didn't have a clue what they were doing!!!!!
The chalet is very warm and cosy and Dejan had put a small christmas tree up and there are nicely lit trees in the gardens.
Kranjska is fabulous for being on the border of Austria, Italy , Hungary & Croatia one thing we really regret is not having car hire, we expected there to be much more snow so decided against car hire before we left, consequently we had 3 days of torrential rain so our 9 yr old daughter got a little bored at times as it was too wet to ski or sled.
The restaurants in Kranjska are fab and very good value we ate at the Hotel Kotnik which has a fab pizzeria with traditional oven so all pizzas cooked to order & fresh, plus we loved the hot chocolate in Charlie's caffe, the best hot chocolate ever, we also visited the Chinese restaurant on Christmas Eve as it was my hubby's birthday, the food was delicious and not like the processed stuff we get served back home.
If you are keen skiers/boarders then unless Kranjska gets more snow then I'm not sure this is the place for you, but we loved it here and so did are 2 children...well done to Dejan for making our christmas in Kranjska special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatHLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed in chalet 24 for 4 days at the beginning of December. It's really well located, just a 5 minutes walk from center of Kranjska Gora.

Chalets owner, Dejan, greeted us at very front door of our chalet and gave us a proper look around of the log house and surroundings.
With just the three of us in the house we had two bedrooms, a beautiful (and spacious) living room with kitchen, a beautiful bathroom... Garden is really nice, with pine trees decorated with christmas lights... and that was really nice when night came:)

What can i say about Kranjska Gora? Well, not much - you have to see it yourself. I've been here many times and every time i'm overwhelmed by its beauty.

Overall, i'd recommend Kronau Chalet resort to everyone. Simple as that.

Dejan, thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLuckyVandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in the Kronau Houses and we wanted to stay longer we were so settled in our little Alpine home. Yes it is a very clean home from home, the garden and views are amazing, it was a gorgeous retreat after our many trips and hikes out. Kranjska Gora is as beautiful as the Canadian Rockies. We will not spend the money the to go back there but would return to Slovenia instead at a fraction of the cost, it is a very clean and welcoming country. Eating out is cheaper than the rest of Europe and the beer and wine are excellent. We will definitely be returning in the future and would wholly recommend the chalets.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank daydreamerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in Chalet 24 for one week at the beginning of September and we absolutely loved it. With just two of us in the house we had more than enough space with two bedrooms, a beautiful bathroom, our own little garden and a spacious living area with kitchen and dining area. It felt so private and comfortable that it really became our home away from home for the week. Dejan, the owner, was always around to help out with everything from restaurant recommendations in Kranjska Gora to where was good to park in Ljubljana. The resort itself is a short stroll from the centre of Kranjska Gora and is surrounded by the lovely Julian Alps; a beautiful sight to wake up to in the morning! Overall, Kronau Chalet Resort is immaculately clean, comfortable and friendly; we didn't want to leave and are already considering a second trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Well equipped chalet (number 22). Comfortable, clean, brand new, lots of space, nice private garden and scenery. We stayed for one week with just 2 people so we indeed had lots of space. Dejan the owner is always around for a little chat and to answer your questions or give some tips about what to do or nice places to eat. To be short; it's one of the best accommodations you can get!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamstertravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at Chalet 19 Kronau Houses for 2 weeks in August. We had a wonderful time. The chalet is very well equipped, spacious and comfortable. All was very clean and well kept; the owner Dejan is always only too willing to help with any queries and takes great pride in providing an excellent service. The garden space and patio was peaceful and pleasant; a good spot to relax and admire the mountains while enjoying breakfast!
The chalets are very well placed, with access to the supermarket and all village amenities very near at hand- within 5-10 mins walk. We hired a car which allowed us to travel all over Slovenia, and the parking space right outside the door is very handy.There are lots of hikes out from Kranskja Gora too- and hiring bikes is easy in the village. We all enjoyed the chairlift and summer toboggan ride too!
Definitely worth more than 3 stars!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamiellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lipa
Hotel Lipa
#5 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
House Neza
House Neza
#3 of 33 in Kranjska Gora
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Depandansa Tina
Depandansa Tina
#27 of 33 in Kranjska Gora
4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#16 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#8 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronau Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronau Chalet Resort

Address: Bezje 19, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Kranjska Gora
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KRONAU CHALET RESORTThe complex of appartments offers the unique ALPINE HOMES – apartments with all comfort and an additional offer for your quality vacation and holidays.KRANJSKA GORA, once KRONAU, lies in the heart of the Julian Alps and is certainly one of the most beautiful regions in the Alps. The fact that you are right now on the slopes, and within an hour and a half already on the Slovenian coast or even in Venice, is really amazing.Staying in the peace of the Alpine world which is so far and yet so close – almost around the corner of the everyday life stress – still offers all the comfort of nowadays. It certainly brings you a beautiful life experience, the welfare and first of all the quality of your stay.The unique alpine scenery – Triglav National Park with pristine nature, Soča Valley fishing and culinary delights, close Carinthia with the lakes, golf courses and ski slopes – can become a place that enriches your life.KRONAU village has its soul and quality. With his appearance by imitating classic alpine architecture and with its modern rustic hint it will ensure you to realize the motto STAY-ENJOY. With our personal approach and the high quality of our offer we want to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing