We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed it very much” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liznjekova house

Liznjekova house
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most well preserved secular building is the 300-year-old Liznjekova house in the centre of Kranjska Gora. This was a rich landowner’s home and, at one time, it was also an inn. The wooden part of the house was built in the second half of the 17th century while the small, brick room beside was constructed in the 18th century, in the Baroque style. In its time the Liznjekova house was an example of the most advanced architecture in Slovenia. Its design was the prototype for other farmhouses with a cellar that served also as a barn, it had a brick ground floor with a wooden living room, a brick-built black kitchen, a small bedroom, broad hall, small room and another small bedroom off the hall and one wooden pillar above the entrance. The house retained its original architecture until the end of the 19th century. Since then, nothing has been changed apart from the ground floor windows and new walls which have been installed in the hall and the side entrance. In addition to the black kitchen and the old room layout, nowadays the building houses an ethnographic museum collection and a permanent exhibition of the life and work of Josip Vandot, the author of the popular children’s stories about Kekec.
Kranjska Gora, Slovenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it very much”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We passed this house many times before and never entered. This time we decided to step in and we weren't disappointed. I studied ethnology and have seen quite a few museums of similar types.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MayXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We went on a Sunday, and the curator spoke no English, but we managed nevertheless. We were left to wander around on our own. It is an interesting place, with an eclectic array of farm implements, and an insight into Slovenian life from days gone by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EssexGirllala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old Slovenia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very interesting museum showing life in days gone by. The curator was first class and spoke excellent English. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BozNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction, well worth a visit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Visited here in the last 2 hours of our skiing holiday, yet it was one of the nicest attractions we visited all week!
The guide was very friendly, and had a wealth of information about the home, which represents a typical Slovenian home in past times.

It is to be found on the right hand side of the road, after passing the church and the market square, about 3 mins further down as you walk away from the centre of town ( its next door to the St Martin restaurant).

Great for adults and children - and only 2.5 euros per adult - excellent value.
The guide doesn't rush you round and is a genuinely nice guy - we learned a lot in our little tour of the house and stables about how people lived in the village over 100 years ago.

This house / museum was so good, that it felt that the original owners still lived there, and had just popped out to let us look around... the furniture, tools, fixtures etc, and indeed the atmosphere inside were that good!!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank smallstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liznjekova house also viewed

Kranjska Gora, Upper Carniola Region
Kranjska Gora, Upper Carniola Region
 
Kranjska Gora, Upper Carniola Region
Kranjska Gora, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Liznjekova house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing