We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short ski break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We decided to re-visit Kranjska Gora after having a lovely holiday there last year. Having reviewed hotels, we thought we would book to stay at the Skipass Hotel and what a good decision that was. The hotel has 10 bedrooms and is run by a family. The hotel is quite new (built in 2012), has a sauna and free wifi and safe. It is close to the village and ski area, about a 5 minutes walk. We contacted the hotel prior to arriving to see whether they could recommend anybody for airport transfers. We heard straight back and the family offered to do the transfers themselves. Very quick and easy, only about 40 minute transfer so before we knew it, we were out skiing. The hotel is very friendly, spotlessly clean with excellent food and a lovely walk in power shower. We booked on a bed and breakfast basis, but decided to eat at the hotel on our last night, the food was superb, just wished we had eaten there earlier. Also a nice bar area for a chilled out evening drink. The family were always on hand offering advice and wanting to make sure everything and everybody in our group was ok. We were recommended by one of the locals to try a ski away day, where a lot of the locals ski 'Vogel'. We asked at reception the best way to get there and they again offered to drive us there, to save us having to pay for a taxi which would have been quite expensive. We had an excellent days skiing and were then driven back to the hotel, after also being driven through Bled to allow us to see some of the famous sights. The village of Kranjska Gora may be small but has several apres ski bars at the bottom of the slopes, several bars and restaurants in the village with very friendly locals. We made some new friends, one of whom was the National Ski Champion for 9 years, who offered and showed us some tips/new techniques to improve our skiing. We have only been back 2 days and are already looking to book again for next year. We cannot recommend the Skipass Hotel enough. Thank you to all of the family for looking after us during our recent stay and making our break enjoyable. We may pass on the Grappa family shot though next time haha

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJBlainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Justin, Manager at Hotel & Restaurant Skipass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2015

Dear CJBlainey,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at The Skipass Hotel. I was so glad to read that we met yours expectations on your stay with us. Thank you also for taking the time to try all the facilities we have at the hotel and again I was delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant .We hope to welcome you again to the hotel in the near future.
Many thanks,

Nina Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a lovely week here, the rooms are spacious, really clean and nicely done out. The food and wine choices were excellent with a range of freshly prepared different dishes to chose from each night. The location of the hotel is perfect, only a short walk to the slopes/town centre and the bus stop is right outside perfect for any local sightseeing you want to do. The staff could not have been more helpful and we would definitely recommend this as the best hotel in Kranjska Gora.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Justin, Manager at Hotel & Restaurant Skipass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2015

Dear Mike,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at The Skipass Hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering a discreet yet professional service at all times so again your feedback is greatly appreciated. I have passed on your comments to my Food and Beverage team and the rest of the great team I am proud to have working at the hotel. I really do hope that you will join us again soon.
My best wishes,

Nina Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I just returned from the most amazing week long break at Skipass hotel! The hotel itself is small, only ten rooms, and run by a lovely Slovenian family in a very picturesque setting in Kranjska Gora.
Location - It is about a five minute walk from the slopes. There is a room down stairs you can keep your skis however we decided to rent a locker for 30 euro a week right on the slopes to save dragging them back and fore! Again it’s a three minute walk from the town where there is a small supermarket and a few bars. The beer and wine is very cheap in the area with a 500ml local beer being around 2 Euros and 100ml of decent wine 1.5 Euro.
Room - Really lovely, modern, clean and more than big enough for two with a good sized flat screen.
Service - We received a lovely warm welcome and all the family regularly checked in to ask if we were enjoying our holiday. The waiting staff were also excellent. Our bus left at 4.45 AM and a member of staff was up to make sure we had a cup of tea and packed lunch before we left!
Dining - This is where the hotel really comes into its own. The food was some of the best I have ever had! The breakfast was a buffet with a good selection and you could order eggs any way you cared for as well as pancakes. The dinner was a set three course meal with a choice of two options for starters and mains. I was a little apprehensive being a vegetarian however the chef far exceeded my expectations with a delightfully different and inventive menu every single evening! This is real fine dining with the food not only being delicious but also beautifully presented.
Skiing - My boyfriend and had never skied before and had an amazing time learning to ski in Kranjska each doing red runs by the end of the week! There is not an endless supply of runs but more than enough for beginners or those of intermediate level. The tuition and equipment arranged by Crystal was also good.
Overall we had an amazing time and would certainly recommend this hotel without a moment’s hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Justin, Manager at Hotel & Restaurant Skipass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2015

Dear Emma,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us at Skipass Hotel. I was really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked all of the finer details we provide our guests. We provide honest and genuine hospitality at the hotel so again I was really pleased that you received a warm welcome from my team and equally that you enjoyed all of the service you received during your stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to them. I hope we get the chance to meet your expectations once again in the near future.
My kindest regards,

Nina Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed in Hotel Skipass from 11-18th January and what an amazing time we had! On our arrival, despite being at 11pm, we were warmly greeted and instantly felt very welcome. Our room was superb, extremely comfortable, beautifully clean with lots of space and a lovely balcony looking out over the pistes. The food was wonderful, we tried to choose our favourite dish but couldn't. Each dish prepared with great attention to detail, tasting equally as delicious as the last and served by the excellent waiter Mefod, for whom nothing was too much trouble.

It was a real pleasure to meet the delightful family who run Hotel Skipass, their commitment and passion is evident throughout. Hotel Skipass is a perfect place to stay and we will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara_and_Kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Justin, Manager at Hotel & Restaurant Skipass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2015

Dear Sara,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Skipass Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
My knidest regards,

Nina Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent 10 days at the Skipass hotel in January.
Before our trip we read a lot about hotels in Kranska Gora and we thought that Skipass hotel is one of best. No, there is no doubt Skipass is THE BEST.
In this hotel you may find originally designed rooms and perfect restaurant, very modern sauna and comfortable parking, etc. Everything is perfect... Also In this hotel you may rent ski equipment and rent a car, buy skipasses not only for skiing in Kranska Gora and also in many places in Austria and in Italy.
Skipass hotel is a family hotel. The owners organised everything is their hotel in a fantastic way, that is why the atmosphere there is always homelike!
If you are planning to visit Kranska Gora, you cannot skip Skipass Hotel !

Room Tip: In the hotel are 10 rooms, the are all wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vasily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Justin, Manager at Hotel & Restaurant Skipass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2015

Dear Vasily,

I was absolutely delighted to read your feedback following your recent stay in our Skipass Hotel. I was really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us including the fantastic service that we take pride in delivering to all of our guests. I have passed on your comments to my team here at the hotel. I do hope that you will visit us again soon.
Many thanks,

Nina Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed with ski-pass from 11th-18th January, and it was honestly one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. This was the our first holiday to Slovenia and despite the lack of snow in Kranjska Gora the holiday did not disappoint, this was only due to having such an excellent hotel. The a la carte dinners were outstanding to say the least and the rooms were flawless. We were given an upgraded room when we got to the hotel with beautiful views of the mountains!!!
The staff were lovely and nothing was to much trouble, we didn't get the waiters name but he defiantly deserves a mention as he did an excellent job every dinner time and the odd morning at breakfast.
I want to thank all the staff for a fantastic holiday and we will be seeing you again for sure!!!

Ash&Dave

Room Tip: Choose one with a mountain view at the front of the hotel, u wont be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash-an-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Justin, Manager at Hotel & Restaurant Skipass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2015

Dear Ash and Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovation. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Kranjska Gora!
Best Regards,

Nina Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The stay of a lifetime. Here's just one line summary: You will never be treated better, or be more thoroughly spoiled, than you will be at the Skipass Hotel and Restaurant- I enjoyed every minute of that amazing vacation. If you will be visiting Kranjska Gora, this is the place you simply can’t skip!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AAnya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Justin, Manager at Hotel & Restaurant Skipass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2015

Dear Aanya,

thank you for your review, it is so nice to hear that you had an amazing time in our hotel! We look forward to welcome you again!
Greetings from Kranjska Gora,

Nina Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#7 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lipa
Hotel Lipa
#5 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#8 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Skipass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Skipass

Address: Koroshka ulica 14c, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Price Range: £101 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Skipass is the embodiment of warmth, cordiality and hospitality. Modern image, comfort, friendliness and great culinary experiences are the characteristics of this family hotel, which offers its guests only the best. Skipass hotel will always make you feel welcome! Become a part of the family and share with them the love of nature and gather new strength, recharge the batteries, to return to everyday life. And when you need a break again, remember, you are always welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Skipass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing