We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality for a Slovenian Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Lek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lek
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good quality for a Slovenian Hotel.”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We're here in Summer, as an alternative to a beach holiday as we understood that there was a lot of outdoor activity, and there is. Day 3 & we've walked lake Bled, cycled to Italy, and had a day at the Luge, so there are many things to do in Kranjska Gora, and we haven't even done a mountain walk yet. So the hotel; well Lek is rated as a 4 star, yet in English standards it would probably be a 3 star. For half board, the food is all buffet, and its mass produced, and over cooked, but what else would you get with a hot buffet. If you have kids it works well, as there is a good selection of food, and treats, and they care for kids. If you're here for the food then you've picked the wrong Country; try Italy perhaps, but if you're here to explore something different at reasonable value, with great surroundings, then I'd recommend it, & I've had a really enjoyable time so far. If you're a teacher looking for a group holiday - then it's your dream come true!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyBoy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    126
    41
    9
    2
See reviews for
96
139
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Very mediocre, Staff were variable - silly rules in restaurant about not taking in open bottles, no corking bottles for the next day, even water!
Skylight window in room, so no view. Bathroom smelled of sewerage several times. It was sorted when reported, but built up again overnight. If not reported, it became really unpleasant and the whole room smelled.
Restaurant food was unimaginative and global -same or similar selection from serve- yourself every evening.
Packed lunches were provided if booked night before but were very expensive (5 or 8 €). Supermarket nearby sells filled buns.
Good thing to do is to hire bikes from shop next to Tourist information. It is only 7 km to Italian border along a flat bike path. We paid 7€ for a day's bike hire. Nice town over border which had a leather market.
Avoid the fruit seller in the town unless you want to be told-off for buying only one item of fruit, having less than 250g cherries, more than 1 thin plastic bag, or touching fruit before buying. You will get banned if you infringe any of his rules.
Pros- area, scenery, strenuous walking
Cons - Not many chair lifts etc. If you want to get to a mountain top -you have to walk all the way up, and all the way down.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnserLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Kranskja Gora is a great place to stay at the end of May/early June. Their summer season hasn't started yet and so it is very quiet, but the weather is good and you can enjoy the walking and cycling without the crowds. Hotel Lek is in a quiet location, on the village edge but only a few minutes walk to the center where you can hire bikes for just 7euros for 6 hours. There are two good flat cycle routes, one to Italy and the other in the opposite direction to some scenic waterfalls. Both trips are c. 40km. Our room a the Lek was a good size. We paid for a superior room with balcony on the ground floor, which was useful on the one rainy day because we could lunch on the balcony and still admire the good views. The pool area is great for children, swimming pool plus separate whirlpool area kept them busy each evening. The restaurant is a good size so you don't feel crushed in and the views from there are good too. Breakfast is decent enough although the same every day, cereals, yoghurt, very good selection of breads, hot dog sausage, bacon, scrambled and boiled eggs. The packed lunches weren't great, a dry roll without filling, chocloate croissant, apple and apple juice - again the same every day. The evening meal starters were a good selection of salads/ bread/ cold meat. The main course revolved around meat and potato. The meat was good, the potato and vegetables generally not. We did have a very good pasta one night. Desert again the same every night - cakes and ice-cream. Wine is very reasonably priced c. 7 euros a bottle. The afternoon tea provided was poor. It was served in a basement room, dark and out of the way. The pastries advertised in the Inghams brochure didn't make an appearance, we had dry biscuits every day. On the last two days there was a conference and so tea was served in the bar, this was much better, a comfortable area, light and a pleasant place to enjoy tea. Prices in the hotel bar for drinks are expensive for this area, it is much cheaper to have beer, coffee or ice-cream in the local bars which are only a few minutes walk away. Hotel staff are great, very helpful throughout.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Have just returned from a week here. We travelled with a variety of ages, 12 of us in total, from parents, 20 yr olds, 14yr olds, 11yrs and 7yrs. We had a lovely time! Hotel is spotless, staff extremely polite, fun and helpful. Food was great, there's plenty of choice there for everyone... Don't listen to the negatives on here, I don't understand why some people complain, maybe they are just some of life's moaners, believe me, I have travelled and stayed in some fantastic hotels and this one was brill. Short walk to the slopes, but as said on here previously, hire a locker, then you don't have carry your equipment back with you. We did have some glorious sunny days, which did make the snow slushy by the end of the day, but it is coming to the end of the season here. Your lift pass does include night skiing too, so thats a bonus! Supermarket sells ready made sarnies, or the small bars do hotdogs, chips etc . Have a look in the village church, its beautiful. My husband and two older kids are brilliant skiers/boarders and did say they found the runs boring and not very challenging, but as I tend to remind them our March holiday is our "family" ski holiday, their January "boys" holiday is for their black run experiences! Lovely swimming pool, jacuzzi and smaller pool which is free, as to is the internet in the reception. All in all for the price we paid for the holiday we felt it was complete value for money

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecookiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Just returned from our third consecutive visit to this lovely Hotel. Again it was great, the service and staff were excellent and any request was met quickly and efficiently. The cleanliness is superb and our rooms were spotless and thoroughly cleaned each day.

The views from the superior rooms on are beautiful and are well worth going for. It is really well located for the slopes if you are skiing and is only a 5 minute (max) walk with skis etc.

Restaurant service is very good, the food is fine and plentiful managing to satisfy a fussy teenage boy!

All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Masons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at Lek whilst on a 1 week Ski holiday in Kranska Gora. We booked through Iglu / Crystal which were both very helpful. We found the trip to Slovenia to be much better value than neighbouring Italian and Austrian resorts, the resort is just 7km from the Austrian border.

The hotel was great for the price. We stayed half board, the food was relatively good and there was lots of variety - bring your own tea bags if you're a tea addict like me, Slovenian tea was a little odd! The room was great - spacious and spotless. We paid a little extra when booking for a large twin. There was free WiFi in the lobby and the swimming pool / hot tub was spotlessly clean and free to use. The location of the hotel was a short 5 - 10 min. walk to the chair lifts. We rented a locker at the Eurosport Rental place right beside the lifts which was great, no trapsing about in ski boots or carrying equipment. The hotel bar was expensive but I suppose they always are. There are always drinks offers at dinner if you stay half board and the local lager 'Union' is 80c from the local supermarket (5 mins away)! Staff were very friendly. We had no problems at the accomodation at all, would highly reccommend. The other crystal hotel 'Hotel Larix' also looked fantastic and was right next to the slopes.

The resort of Kranska Gora itself was also a pleasant suprise. We didnt travel with children but we did notice that the Slovenians seemed very geared towards little ones, and made a big fuss over them at the hotel, in the resort and on the slopes which was lovely. It hadn't snowed for a couple of weeks when we were there but the maintainence of the slopes was good and conditions more than adequate, there were snow cannons everywhere. The resort had about 3 chair lifts, 8 button lifts and was linked to the smaller resort of Podkoren by another chair lift. Our only complaint of the resort was that the runs were a little limited and although there were 2 good blue runs at the bottom of the resort most of the other runs were red / black. On our first day our planned red run was closed and we had to go down the World Cup black run to get back down! Great for us, as we're confident skiers but not so great if you're less experienced, there was no warning at the bottom of the lift of run closures so could take some people by suprise! The resort was fairly quiet at night but there was a bar called Vopa that has a nightclub downstairs which seemed popular and busy everynight with sport, quizzes, live bands etc.

Overall, I'd reccommend this hotel and resort. I dont think we will return as the resort just isnt big enough for us, other than this we had a great time and found it to be good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MrsM1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Standard room very clean and functional. bathrobe supplied by hotel for use in the swimming area.
Dining area large & spotless clean, staff very helpful and pleasant..this was my first time in Slovenia but hopefully not my last
Bar prices slightly higher than the local pub's but not to extreme.
Good food, typical breakfast, various cereals. eggs and bacon, fruit.
Evening dinner choice of 2 soups, 3 main courses, salads, and various sweets/ ice cream's

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnymurray66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#7 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#8 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lek

Property: Hotel Lek
Address: Vrshishka cesta 38, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#2 Spa Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lek 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing