We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for vegetarians”
Review of Hotel Lek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lek
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for vegetarians”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed here for a week c/o a Crystal ski trip. The room, facilities and service were excellent we had a room with balcony and mountain views. Well laid out and clean. Staff very helpful. We are both vegetarians and the kitchen staff went out of their way to ensure that there were several different vegetarian choices available for us, in addition to selections from the very extensive buffet. The food was great - just what we needed after days of high activity. So highly recommend for a family with one or more vegetarians - but do let the hotel know in advance.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    126
    41
    9
    2
See reviews for
95
138
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

First let me say this Hotel is really lovely with excellent facilities, location and food. BUT this is severely compromised if you are booked in with Crystal Holidays. We, and my sister and husband, booked our holiday through Crystal Holidays and we were allocated one of the older, dark tiny rooms, even though we had paid extra for superior rooms. These Rooms were classed superior only because they had a minuscule balcony. Our bed (4'6") screeched with every movement making it impossible to sleep but this proved to be a blessing in disguise as we were moved to a different room which was faultless. Clean and bright with a large balcony, albeit no view.

Having spoken to many English guests we found that all those who had booked through Crystal Holidays had inferior rooms (some in roof space with high windows) but still deemed superior but those booked through INGHAMS had the better newer rooms.

I would highly recommend this a hotel but avoid booking this through CRYSTAL HOLIDAYS.

Room Tip: Don't book through Crystal and ensure you get one of the new extension rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Olive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We visited this hotel as part of a package tour through Blakan Holidays. Having read the tripadvisor reviews we paid the extra for balcony rooms and steered clear of the attic. If truth be told the upgrade wasn't a lot of money and more than worth it. Although situated on the edge of Kransjka Gora the village isn't big so it is only a short walk to the centre. Nestled amongst the Julian Alps there are some stunning views to be had and as such the location is ideal. Our room was spacious and comfortable with plenty of storage space which I guess is useful for the winter sports crowd. The bathroom didn't have a bath but was otherwise perfectly decent although the shower head had a life of its own and occasionally would fly off the bracket and soak the bathroom. Our room was at the side and didn't have particularly good views but it was close enough to reception for us to take advantage of the free wifi. We had a bit of a noise problem one night from an adjacent bedroom where a party seemed to be being held but otherwise the room was quite a relaxing place.

All the hotel staff were helpful and very friendly. They all spoke English to a good or fluent standard. We were on a half board deal. The food was very good. Don't expect haute cuisine. You get a buffet which is heavy on the carbs, just what you need after a day's hiking or skiing in the mountains. Slovenian specialities and more international dishes are on offer, nothing fancy but all fresh and tasty. There was a red and a white wine on special offer each evening along with one of their range of beers. The prices were good and we availed ourselves of the offers each night. A buffet breakfast in the morning also hit the spot. Once again nothing fancy but perfectly acceptable.

There is a small bar area downstairs where prices were reasonable. Other facilities include a gym, pool (a bit on the cold side) and spa.

Happy to recommend the Hotel Lek!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Hotel was really good, Excellent food even though it was a buffet. They had a nightly guest beer and bottles of wine from around the globe which were fantastic value. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and efficient and could not do enough for you. The indoor pool area was great, just what you want after a long day in the mountains. The only negative about the hotel was the lack of a public lounge. The bar was in the basement and not very welcoming.

We did not appreciate that the bus up to the Vrisic Pass only ran at weekends in September which was a big disappointment.. On our last day however the hotel very kindly picked us up at the Vrsic Pass on brought us back to the hotel in time to get transfer to the airport at 5pm. We had the walk of the week at high altitude. Would also recommend the cycle ride to the Italian lakes ( breathtaking).

Room Tip: We had a very quiet large room on the first floor which was north facing so no sun on the balcony. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Probably the best hotel in Kranjska Gora with superb mountain backdrops, excellent service and the food isn't bad either! The 'superior' room was spacey, clean and quiet and the staff always on hand to sort out any of the niggles you might be having with pretty much anything.
The pool area is great with the pool itself not being massive but adequate after a good trek into the mountains; there is also a kids pool, jacuzzi and infinity pool area with sun loungers just outside and a bar just around the corner.
As a summer base this was impossible to beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FatCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kranjska Gora, Slovenia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

First positive thing is that this hotel is not owned by HIT Alpinea which is automatically raising the Staff quality...all are very kind, helpfull...prices are not even high for what U get and the quality of the products they serve is really good...not only the food but drinks, wines and aperitifs-all better standard than anywhere else in Kranjska Gora. Sauna - very rarely U find it crowded...whenever I have been there I was mostly alone, from time to time some people from the swimmingpool were coming but even that is not a problem while there is really enough of space (1x infrared sauna, 3x finnish sauna, 1x turkish sauna, 1x round whirlpool, 3x showers, and if U wish U can even have a sunbath right there, drinking water available for free)...

Very romantic bar in lower floor, i-net and wireless access for free, tennis field beside and walking&hiking exits are right in front of U.

What else?...don´t waist your time...go there and check it by yourself!

Room Tip: ...choose the view towards Prisank mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were happy to stay at this oustanding hotel for the third time. Eveything was more than excellent - superb staff, spacious room with big balcony full of flowers, great swimming pool and sauna centre, delicious food, daily offer of beverages at the most reasonable prices (remember the prices in British, French or German hotels - abolutely incomparable). Lek is our favourite hotel in Slovenia.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jazbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#7 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#9 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lek

Property: Hotel Lek
Address: Vrshishka cesta 38, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#2 Spa Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lek 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing