We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”
Review of Hotel Lek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lek
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed at the Lek with our two children aged 5 and 9 over Christmas on a half board basis and thoroughly enjoyed our time.

The hotel is situated relatively close to the slopes although it does feel like quite a trek when wearing your ski gear!! It was nice and quiet and our room had a fantastic view overthe mountains.

The majority of the staff were helpful and friendly - especially the waiters and cooks! We had a few issues with some of the others but generally if you are patient and polite they will be to.

The food was delicious and there was always a wide range to choose from wth something to suit everyone. Some of the reviews have commented on it being 'a bit samey' but what do you expect if they offer you a wide range of 3 meats and fish plus a vegetarian option every evening? A MUST is the nut soup (I wasn't so sure to begin with either) - it was fantastic, i wish i had the receipe!!

The ony problem we encountered the whole time we were there was the size and number of beds in the room. There were 4 of us... And only 2 single beds and a single size sofa... I thought there had been a mistake but apparently that was the room we were allocated - and there were no other rooms available in the hotel. As far as we were concerned we had booked a LARGE LOFT ROOM that slept 4 with room for a 5th bed. Eventually we were given a camp bed which in itself was adequate but the room was small before it got in there!! As a result we were squashed in like sardines in a tin for the week. However we didn't let it spoil our holiday and the resort and skiing were fantastic so a good time had by all!

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The room sizes
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryandco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    125
    41
    9
    2
See reviews for
95
137
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Stayed here for one week before moving-on to Bled.

The hotel is situated on a quiet by-pass road, but very close to the resort centre.

The better rooms are quite spacious and have great views of the mountains.

There is a jacuzzi and pools -these are a little small, but adequate. The sauna incurs a charge.

We stayed on a half-board basis, the restaurant is OK, but choices at both breakfast and dinner are a bit limited. Though it is a buffet, it is not really self-service, and some of those serving were not that pleasant. Guests in a hotel should be put at ease, not fee like school-pupils queueing-up for the dinner-lady!

Diners are asked not to bring their own drinks into the restaurant with them, and a Slovenian law is quoted as the reason for this.

On one occasion, I brought a small bottle of mineral water with me to dinner - to take medicine with - and the head-waiter made a bee-line for me to tell me I couldn't drink the water there. He wasn't rude as such, but his manner was forceful and it was entirely unnecessary, as we were purchasing drinks, anyway. It was difficult to relax at dinner that evening, and left a rather sour taste at meal-times for the rest of our stay. We did complain about this to the Travel Agent upon leaving.

The waiters and waitresses, while very well-mannered, were far too anxious to take plates and cutlery from guests, often before we had finished. One got the impression they felt they had to be doing something as the head-waiter (yes, the same one) looked-on. Dining just never felt relaxed.

There is an internet terminal in reception, which is free, otherwise guests who want access in the hotel have to purchase paid-for public wireless access.

Reception staff were generally very pleasant and the hotel is certainly clean.

Kranjska Gora itself is a very pleasant little town and a great base for walking, hiking, etc, or just chilling with the nice scenery.

I'll certainly come back to Kranjska Gora, but don't intend to stay in the Lek again - there are more enjoyable hotel experiences here than this one.

  • Liked — Lovely views, decent room
  • Disliked — Dining, not relaxing, especially evening meals and the OTT attitude of the overweight, balding head-waiter
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Quite a big hotel, we booked a room with balcony which was nice to sit out on. Views were great, but the room was very good too! Buffet breakfast and dinner, which although it did have a lot of choice was a bit disappointing quality wise - but that is being picky! The whirlpool was great, as was the whole swimming area although there isn't much room outside for 'lounging'.

  • Liked — Modern, clean hotel
  • Disliked — Noisy children in the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopefulTraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2008

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Lek. First of all the resort of Kranjska Gora. Lovely place. Very scenic. Very laid back feel. We arrived on 15th March to be greeted by very little snow on the slopes (in fact only 2 slopes open, then down to one on the second day). However we were first time skiers so our initial dissappointment about the lack of snow soon faded, there was plenty for us!!
We had pre-booked ski school with Intersport Bernik and our instructor was excellent (Petra). Very patient with a good sense of humour. Finally plucked up courage on the last day to ski from the very top. Be careful on the chair lift. Sudden drop resulting in my wife and I falling flat on our faces.
Village of Kranjska Gora was very quiet with few restaurants open in mid- March. Great value for money though. Difficult to spend money. Everything pretty cheap.
Hotel Lek good. Rooms roomy! with balcony and flat screen TV. Very clean. Staff pleasant. Breakfast fine, dinner dissappointing with poor quality main courses. Swimming pool area excellent. Sauna superb but no costumes allowed!!! When in Rome.......
Bar a bit strange. Downstairs out of the way. Nice though, although we were told we were not allowed to play cards?!!


Overall though a lovely place, and ideal for new skiiers.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank werdnaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Very pleased with both hotal and staff, lovely and clean and nice and warm after a good days skiing...

Food was good always something to pick from and you could always get a snack at the bar, downstairs.

Free internet for use for all customers. Nice idea with the dressing gowns and slippers if you use the swimming pool, sanua..

Not much in the town, apart from a few bars, supermarket, sport shop

  • Liked — Always clean
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

We Stayed at the Hotel Lek arriving on the 5th January 2008 for one week we booked through the Thomsons website.

Hotel Lek is comfortable, warm,clean, friendly hotel with the added bonus of a good snug bar downstairs and a swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna.

Two things that were disappointing after 4 days we had grown tried of the evening meals as they lacked variety and the transfer time of 3 hours from Salzberg Austria was longer than the flight from Manchester.

The Breakfasts were good plently of fibre to boost your energy levels for a full day skiing.

The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels supplied on a daily basis.

Drinks in the hotel were good value approx £1.50 for a beer.

The resort overall was great for beginner skiers and the learn to ski package purchased with thomsons was great value for money.It included 12 hours tuition, ski and boot hire and 6 day lift pass for £182 pp.

Thomson ski package worked out cheaper than booking through the ski shop in Kranjska Gora.

Overall Hotel and Resort i would have to give it a 5*.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and warmth
  • Disliked — Variety of evening meals
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BPASouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

This has got to be one of the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in, i cannot fault it at all. We went over to Kranjska Gora for a long weekend, just to relax and thats exactly what we managed to do, time stood still. The staff were very helpfull and friendly and spoke good english. The outside of the hotel is immaculate with tennis courts, childrens play area and seating. As you enter the reception it is welcoming. We had a superior room with a balcony which overlooked the most fantastic of mountains views you will ever see. The leaves on the trees were changing colour which was stunning. The room was very clean, and i am fussy..i like it nice...cleaners came in everyday to clean and change towels..Breakfast is ok, with enough varieties of food to cater for everybodies taste. We did'nt eat at night in the hotel, went to the village where there is a good selection of restaurants, the Lipa has great pizza, freshly made...the prices for drink and food are very cheap compared to the UK.
The swimming pool and big hot tubs are also nice, would be good to relax in there after skiing all day..The hotel is not far from the village about 5 mins walk.
The village itself was fairly quiet when we went, it was the slow period after summer and before the skiing starts...we hired a couple of mountain bikes from the Enca lounge, a small coffee/bar in the village run by Jay, a english guy who gave us some good local advise on the area..The biking and walking is second to none..on weekends at this time of year a ski lift takes hardy mountain bikers up the hill to a bike park...its the real deal...great facility..Overall the village is lovelly, very clean and tidy,(this goes for the wholeplace including the airport, no litter anywhere), people friendly, its a rustic, idylic place to stay..i can't wait to go back...

  • Liked — Just about everything.
  • Disliked — Pillows to low and slow hairdryer
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeggoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#7 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#9 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lek

Property: Hotel Lek
Address: Vrshishka cesta 38, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#2 Spa Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lek 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing