We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lek
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Broughton Astley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

A most enjoyable stay at this hotel.Great location.
All staff very friendly and helpfull.(Amazing all the languages they speak!)
Food rustic.As much as you can eat!Goes down well after a long day walking.
Room and bathroom clean.Fantastic mountain views.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    122
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
93
133
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

I was very surprised to hear of other visitors apparent problems with the staff at this hotel but I suppose it takes all sorts.
For us the situation was superb .. .. on the edge of the village only 5 minutes walk from the centre but with stunning views up the valley to the magnificent high white-coloured limestone mountain peaks. Opposite the pale turquoise river and man-made waterfall could be heard. We had paid the extra for a superior room with balcony which we felt was worth it for that view.
We had no problems whatsoever with the restaurant seating arrangements and can see the advantages to the management as once guests had finished their meals and left the room the very efficient staff were able to set their table for the next meal. We sat with a lovely friendly couple but would have been quite happy sitting with most guests present during our week there.
Being on a 'half-board' package we only expected a limited choice of dishes and were nearly always satisfied with our choices (helped occasionally by advice from our neighbours).
The rooms were very clean as were the common parts. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful.
Sadly for us we were unlucky with the weather for the 1st 4 days of our week (same all over central Europe though) and we couldn't see the mountains for that time.
The scenery around Kranska Gora really is something special and many keen walkers are attracted to the well-marked trails there. Shopping options are limited as are places to buy lunchtime light snacks. We were happy to eat in every evening so didn't really test the village restaurants.
We would certainly go back to the resort and having looked at other hotels there and spoken with guests we would also choose the Hotel Lek again next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telf36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

Stayed in the Lek for a ten day walking holiday in July. Hit a heatwave so walking was curtailed. Hotel is located on the outskirts of the town and is very quiet with wonderful views. Room very spacious with a pleasant private balcony. Bathroom adequate and clean. Pleasant indoor swimming pool just about large enough for a proper swim. Patio area with about a dozen sun loungers (not enough). Younger staff generally helpful. Seem to have a lot of regular guests and popular with Italians.

Restaurant overall very disappointing. Breakfast was fine with a good choice. The evening meal was standard canteen fare and it felt like a canteen with the main course served onto your plate from a hot tray. Result was I got more than I wanted and it was pretty bland. One issue really annoyed us. In the evening you are given a sheet with the drinks offers for that night which includes wine (incidentally the wine list has nothing under 20 euros a bottle) and on the bottom of the sheet it says as a result of HACCP (google it!) the restaurant is unable to store opened bottles of wine and you cannot bring wine into the restaurant. What a joke, keeping an open bottle of wine to drink the next night has never been an issue in any hotel we have stayed at in the last thirty years. After that we had absolutely no qualms about buying wine from the supermarket and enjoying it on our balcony. There are plenty of genuine hazards in this hotel without inventing them. Food is cleared away well before the advertised closing time, so don’t be late for meals.

A couple of incidents are worth recording. A door leads off the restaurant onto a pleasant outside terrace with half a dozen tables. Why these are not laid for breakfast during fine weather is beyond me as they would be very popular. We noticed that the guests took a cup of coffee outside after breakfast and on the second day we followed suit. The following we were the last in the restaurant and set off for the terrace with a glass of fruit juice when one of the waitresses said we weren’t allowed to take it outside. I pointed out we had been outside on the previous day and at this point her supervisor intervened. We repeated what we had said to the waitress and at this he completely lost the plot. He started shouting at us saying he was the restaurant manager and he decided what is and isn’t allowed. It was outrageous behaviour and when it looked as though I was going to ignore him he had the nerve to say that we would be charged (ie bar prices) if we took the juice outside. It was thirty seconds of Fawlty Towers. I should have ignored him or thrown the juice at him, he certainly deserved it. In the UK I would have packed up and been away in an hour. We noticed the Brits were always stopped from going outside but the Italians always seemed to slip out.

When we arrived we noticed a note at reception saying there was to be a private party on the Saturday and guests were asked for their understanding. Fair enough. However the party turned out to be a wedding and we were immediately above the venue in the basement and when the music started at 21.00 it was clear that we were in for a long night. The volume was totally unreasonable. At 23.45 I went to ask at reception when it was likely to finish but the receptionist was very defensive. She said it was an important day for the couple etc etc (the music was extra loud in reception) and did not know when the music would finish. I said the guests at the hotel had paid a lot hoping for a quiet holiday and she said that the rates at the Lek were in fact low, and the hotel depended on the extra income. She kept repeating this low room rate comment and was totally unsympathetic. The amplified music finished at 02.00 to be replaced by community singing to an accordion. I finally got to sleep at 03.30. Guests we spoke to at the front of the hotel were less bothered by the music than by the rowdy smokers who had nipped outside.

The hotel is owned by an international pharmaceutical company called Sandoz (not sure why they are in the hotel business but it explains the HACCP nonsense above) but there is something not quite right with the concept of service, particularly in the restaurant. One star awarded (just). Just behind the Lek is the privately owned Hotel Miklic which gets good reviews here and was serving food well past 21.00 when we visited.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank googlepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Great place, excellent food and accommodation, professional staff. Highly recommended. A must return next summer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

If you like summer hiking in the mountains and you don't require breakfast or dining facilities (unless you are an Italian) then this is the place for you. The Lek is beautifully situated on the edge of the town nearest the Triglav National Park and whilst the decor was dated, the hotel facilities were perfectly adequate.

However, the dining arrangements appeared to be a relic of the old communist regime. You will sit where you are told to, with whoever the maitre'd decides, even if (as was the case on most days) the restaurant was half empty. He reserved 'treats', such as ice-cream, until an Italian coach-trip arrived. Residents were then advised that they could help themselves once the Italians had left!

Querying these 'arrangements' resulted in the maitre'd screaming at you across the half-empty dining room as you squeezed into your chair backing onto the only other diners. This restaurant is great news if you want basic food served with a main order of public humiliation.

Complaints to the reps were not worthwhile as this man already had a notorious reputation. Due to his awful behaviour we ate out every day (after passing his scowling face at the reception desk) even though we had paid for half-board. On the plus side, at least this meant we had decent food for the second week.

Kranjska Gora - Definitely; Hotel Lek - only with a senior staff transplant.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J0urneyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and there are many beautiful walks in the environment.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarjaAnderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

What didnt we like about this hotel and holiay ----- nothing!
First time in Slovenia and we would definately return again.
Hotel staff excellent.
hotel was comfortable and very clean.
Food was plentiful and delicious.
Only about a 7 minute walk into the main square/town where they had free nightly concerts.
Access easy to all local walks/buses and ski slopes.
Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyannsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#8 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#7 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#5 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lek

Property: Hotel Lek
Address: Vrshishka cesta 38, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#2 Spa Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lek 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lek Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing