We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Happy Days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
S.Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oh Happy Days”
Reviewed 27 February 2007

We had snow. 2006/2007 saw a lack of snow in Europe but Kranjska Gora bucked the trend with artificial and real snow for our trip in February 2007. There were 18 of us in total ages 5 to late 40?.

The hotel was modern with lots of marble and glass with two lifts serving all floors. Our room was a double with a double sofa bed, which when down meant you had to step over it to walk round the main bed and you couldn't open the balcony door fully. But apart from that and no bath just a shower the room was fine. Loads of hanging space for all the clothes we packed and never wore (always happens).

The breakfast was vast, hot pancakes went down well with the boys and sausage, bacon, eggs for the bigger boys and the odd pancake, well its rude not to!

Remember the days of skiing before children. Up early on the chair lift before the Germans start queue jumping, its changes when you have to carry three sets of skis plus poles to the slopes each morning and afternoon, BUT, its worth it. KG is ideal for families, lads week away no, families a big yes. The ski school was very good but so busy my boys could only get in the 1pm to 3pm session, which broke the day up. Get yours in to 10.30 ski school. Which means you can get off for a couple of hours before lunch. We manage each morning at breakfast to 'borrow' bread rolls, cheese, meat etc to make up our lunch. Tight. No just practical.

After a days skiing we would go swimming at the Larik Hotel, which is a sister, hotel to the Prisank and part of the HIT Holidays empire in KG. 4-course dinner really very good and the bar in the hotel was adequate. We ordered the kids pizza from the in house pizzeria a couple of times which was great value at 4 euros for 12' pizza which they had with us in the main dining room. No nuggets and chips at this hotel! Which was great. There was bar across the road called Papa Joes, which was good for pre dinner beers. Not a lot of nightlife in KG. Or maybe I'm getting to old to look for it. The boys managed to slip out to the casino one night and I managed to transform my free 6 Euros (courtesy of the hotel group HIT) to 50 Euros.
Key tip: Get your ski and boot hire sorted as soon as you arrive, at the hire shop opposite hotel. Hire a locker at the hotel 5 Euro deposit. Nothing for under tens to do in hotel. Don't expect challenging skiing.


  • Liked — clean and modern
  • Disliked — sofa bed took up to much room.
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ShaldonBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    100
    24
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
106
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead_tyne_&_Wear
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2007

Went to Kranjska Gora in the first week of Feb. Pleased that the resort had snow. Booked a Ski Deal with First Choice this included ski hire, ski school and ski lifts on a HB basis it was not cheap for a party of 3.
Stayed in the Prisank, the hotel was approx 100m from ski runs, a distance that became a work out in itself when carrying poles, ski and walking in the ski boots.
There was a closer hotel, Larix, however at the time of booking we felt this may have a lot more noise at busy times ie ski championships, therefore choose the Prisank.
Breakfast was excellent, unlimited food offering a wide choice of selection for all tastes. Evening meal although a limit of 3 types of main meal where surprisingly very very tasty. 4 choices for dessert, Ice Cream, Cream/Pastry cake, fresh fruit and fruit cocktail. We were offered drinks with our evening meal, however we were never offered the price list first.
Ski Instructors were friendly and always there to help. We had a young gentleman Marcos who would happily ski next to you to give you confidence on a more challenging slope during evening ski. Our rep wasnot of great use when my partner slipped and twisted his knee, good job we had a Physio on a ski school class for advice/care. All in all the town is lovely, one supermarket outside the hotel, two car hires, 3 places to hire ski equipment companies, plenty of places to eat and drink. Kranjska Gora is not very far away from the borders of Italy and Austria, very easy to visit other neighbouring countries. Would certainly go back and do other things I did not have time to fit in on the first visit ie Husky dog rides, Lake Bled and Venice. Apparently flights to Kranjska gora are available direct from Manchester, at the time we had to fly from Gatwick.

Helpful?
7 Thank Barbara_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

This is our 3rd visit to Kranjska Gora, but our 1st stay at the Prisank (their appartments were full). This & indeed most of the hotels in KG are owned & opperated by HIT holidays.

We had a family room, which was really more of a suite as it comprised a largish room with a table, chair & sofa bed, sideboard & TV & tons of storage areas. There was a separate good sized room off of this with a double bed . The rooms & common areas are spotless, but lacking character. The staff are all helpful & most if not all speak english.

Friends had normal roons which comprise one room with a double bed and double sofa bed. although big enough for adults, everyone (3 different people - young & old) that slept on the sofa bed had a bad back as a result of it.

The Restaurant food is a bit grim, typical buffet style various meats in gloopy gravey, over cooked veg etc, however the pizzeria is definately the best in the village, huge & devine. There is also a coffee shop but this is always very popular & very smoky.

Downstairs there is also a cocktail/pool bar which also has no charatcer but the cocktails are fine and you don't come to KG for the apres SKi!

Biggest downside that would put me of staying here again were the bells!!! Rooms at the front (especially on the 3rd floor) are almost opposite a lovely old church whos clock tower not only chimes every 15 mins, but bells also ring out on the hour and every time there is a mass (there were a lot over christmas!). This was mostly a problem for us when the bells ring incessantly at 7am every day.

I won't disuade anyone from staying here, but personally I would always ask for their appartments 1st, they are next door, lots more space, cheaper & more flexible.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food & External Noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Opt for a rear room overlooking mountains
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank skcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2006

We stayed at the prisank for a week in June 2006. The location of the hotel is great as its right in the centre of the resort close to all amenities. The room was large, very comfortable and clean with a huge bed, sofa, desk and chair and loads of room for clothes etc and bed linen was changed half way through the week. It was definitely well worth paying the extra for a room with a balcony and mountain view as the views are stunning. The bathroom was large with a roomy corner shower, always hot water and all spotlessly clean with fresh towels every day. The staff were efficient and nearly all spoke good english. The food was excellent with a good variety, the only tiny downside was that there was sometimes a queue to get tea/coffee etc at breakfast time. I'd definitely go back there and would recommend it as a top class hotel in a great mountain resort.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank JulieNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, Engalnd
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2005

We, a family of four, shared a room, which meant making up a sofa bed each night and made the room rather cramped. Great room for two people though. The room was spotlessly clean and well furnished. The food was of variable quality, but there was a good choice. The dining room is very impersonal, although the waiting staff were friendly. The hotel has its own pizzeria, which is excellent.

Helpful?
31 Thank kevhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#7 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#4 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#8 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#5 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora

Property: Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
Address: Borovska cesta 93, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia (Formerly Grand Hotel Prisank)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#6 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada hotel & suites Kranjska Gora has become one of the most remarkable architectural elements of Kranjska Gora for its fascinating presentation. The comfortably furnished rooms offering a view of the mountains, combined with the exquisite furnishing of the hotel, make it a perfect place, especially for tranquil guests expecting the best comfort from their holidays. The hotel lies within a mere 100 metres from the ski slopes, yet right at the heart of all town activities due to its location next to the main promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing