We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Kranjska Gora
Certificate of Excellence
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel again earlier in the season, and I can honestly say this has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The rooms are large, bright and airy which fab views of the mountains and town. Everything is really clean too. We had a family apartment which is HUGE and spread over two floors, encompassing a kitchenette and a large table to eat at. There was also a great balcony too. The food in the hotel is FAB. And the staff are all so friendly and helpful and welcoming. I cannot praise Gregor the owner of the hotel enough, he went out of his way to make our stay perfect. Right from the emails sent at the start of the booking, to the entire time we had the pleasure of staying at the hotel Miklic. Don't look anywhere else in this lovely small town. This is THE place to stay if you want to feel like an individual who is a worthy customer and not just a paying number.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and airy but either of the family rooms are amazing, spread over two floors with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellyWellyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    27
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
113
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have stayed at Miklic Hotel and had a dinner at their restaurant as well. Clean, well furnished rooms, very, very friendly staff end owners of the hotel. They give you a feeling you are special guest. Marvellous !

Restaurant serves traditional food, but together with very enjoyable and frindly service it is a fantastic experience. Place to go to feel at home and being served as king !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erjavec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We checked various Hotels reviews in the area, and were trying to avoid the schedules of Saga Holidays due to their reputation of being Saga Louts and decided to go independent.

We contacted the Hotel Miklic directly by e-mail, and received detailed responses to all our questions very promptly from Gregor who also arranged our Airport transfers at a very competitive rate. On arrival we were met by our driver and whisked away to Kranjska Gora, with some commentary on the way. There was a slight language barrier, but the driver did speak German and although mine is a bit rusty we managed reasonably well.

On arrival at the Hotel we were met by the director and another staff member and were taken directly to the room (no. 5), which turned out to be a suite. All was tastefully decorated and the views were stunning.

We chose the half board option at a reasonable extra charge and this allowed us to take the meal any time from lunchtime through to the evening The food is superb with a wide choice of dishes for starters, mains and deserts ordered of the menu as well as the self-service salad bar, the portion size is very plentiful. Whilst there for a week we tried to make our way through the menu as best we could and were not disappointed with any of it. Service here was also very good. The staff were very attentive and not at all intrusive. House wine is available in carafes of different sizes and also very good (Slovenian Sauvignon chilled perfectly). We also noted large numbers of people using this restaurant including locals and other foreign travellers (even from other Hotels). Breakfast is buffet style with many different types of bread and pastries as well as the usual sliced meats, fruit and cereals. We were also offered Scarmbled eggs with Cheese, ham, or salmon, or alternatively you can have fried eggs on Ham. Gregor mans the reception in the mornings and took time to help with any enquiries/excursions and gave great advice on where to walk especially ensuring that it was suitable for our capabilities.. He even arranged for a packed lunch for one day when we were expecting to be out late.

Overall the Miklic is a small family run Hotel with a clean and comfortable interior and rooms. It is on the edge of Kranjska Gora but within easy walking distance of the town and other facilities. The staff are very friendly and nothing seems to be too much trouble. It is without a doubt one of the best if not the best Hotels we have stayed in. We will definitely return to the Miklic at some point and have no qualms about recommending it to anyone

Room Tip: Recommend room 5, but the others looked very spacious. View from the Balcony is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly service, ample breakfast.

The hotel was clean, the setting is beautiful in Kranjska Gora with restaurants and bars in walking distance. We went in summer, but if you go in winter is also looks like you could ski back to the hotel from the lifts.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjwalnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at Miklic hotel and i must mention that the service of this hotel was the best service we ever had (and we travel a lot all over the world).
The staff very proffesional and efficient and the most important things very friendly.
Gregory give us all the information we need lend us maps, and always very helpful and with a big smile. the only thing that disturb me is the noise from the falling rain on the diagonals windows of the upper rooms. it was very rainy so we slept in the first floor.

Room Tip: Take room without diagonals windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We had pleasure to stay in hotel Miklic for 8 nights. We had spacious room with three beds (one double and one separate), balcony overlooking to Prisank mountain and nice bathroom. All this was very much appreciated, as we had quite a lot of stuff with us for hiking. Everything was clean and worked well. There’s minibar and safety box in the room. There’s more room in the basement to dry your clothes or bags, if needed.
This hotel does not offer marble floors or concierge service, so if you are looking for that kind of hotel you may be disappointed. But hotel Miklic offers something better and more unique: incredible helpful and warm customer service. They really make an effort beyond normal good customer service. For example, hotel manager Gregor drove us himself to nearby village couple of times because there were no busses to go at that time. He was most probably very busy but he didn’t hesitate to offer his help. Once we had to leave at 05:30am and they served us full breakfast. Gregor is very knowledgeable about the hiking routes in the area and he gave us several good advices and tips (and I’m sure he’s equally knowledgeable about the skiing side as well in the winter time). He also borrowed us a map of the local hiking routes. The staff seems always to have time to help us and they did it with smile.
Hotel locates in more quiet part of the village; still it is not far away from the “center”. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to supermarket where they have a good selection of groceries and about 10 minutes to bus station.
We ate dinner in the center of the village in our first evening and after that we decided to eat our dinners at Miklic. First of all the food was very good and secondly we were always quite tired after hiking and didn’t want to start looking for place to eat. They have a special half board menu with 10 or more choices for starters, main courses and deserts. The breakfast was very good too with lots of choices. They are cereals, yoghurts, fruits, different kind of breads, cold cuts, cheeses etc to select. They also make eggs for you.
Hotel organized us transportation from and to Ljubljana airport; it worked perfectly. It doesn’t cost that much and it really makes travelling faster and easier.
We had fantastic time in Kranjska Gora and hotel Miklic. This was really one of the best total hotel experiences that I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent 5 amazing days in Kranjska Gora staying at Hotel Miklic. The hotel as such was very nice with nice rooms, a good restaurant and fantastic views of the mountains while at the same time being very central and close to everything. The absolute best was however the staff which was the very best hotel staff we have ever met. 120% service minded, always happy and with the ability to make you feel very much at ease. We wanted to do both a bit of mountain hiking and biking and the manager at the hotel managed to arrange for top notch rental road bikes (top of the line Pinarello demo bikes) in Ljubliana that he brought to the hotel. After a rough ride in the rain they offered to wash and dry our biking clothes so they would be good to go the next day when we had planned a two pass climbs ride.Talk about amazing service! We enjoyed every second of the biking,hiking and good living at the hotel and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Communicate with the manager before arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#3 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#5 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#8 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Klass
Suite Hotel Klass
#6 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Miklic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Miklic

Property: Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Address: Vitranshka ulica 13, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kranjska Gora
#2 Family Hotel in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Restaurant Miklic 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Miklic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miklic Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing