We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, friendly service but slightly disorganised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Lipa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Lipa
Ranked #1 of 20 Kranjska Gora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly service but slightly disorganised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed 2 nights in Pension Lipa with my Mum in late October, so a little bit out of season and very quiet which was fortunate as they had no record of my booking when I arrived despite having double confirmed it via email less than 2 weeks beforehand. After this rocky start, it was all fine, the family who run the Pension are very friendly and welcoming, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was good. The decor is a little bit old fashioned but the bathroom was a bit more stylish and the rooms are spotless. We had dinner there one night and the food was pretty good value too. It is a short walk from the town centre, so quite convenient although it is the other side of the village from the ski lifts and it would be a loooong walk in ski boots so I think it is probably a better bet for a summer stay than a winter break. It is very good value though (around €35 per person per night) so if you are on a budget this would be a good place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a low floor if you have got heavy bags - there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    18
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stella, Boyen and their colleagues were excellent hosts and our room was the best of our trip.
Food is very good and the location is superb.
English is spoken and our hosts were very informative.
We would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pendock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a small family run hotel, in a fairly traditional style.
Lovely rooms, comfortable beds, staff very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is maybe five minutes walk from the centre of the village.

The food is excellent, particularly the pizza :) Hotel guests eat in the downstairs restaurant, visiting diners (it seems to be a popular place to eat out) get to eat in the main ground floor restaurant. If they have any Slovenian traditional dishes on offer as a special, you should definitely try them.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickS_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have just returned from a week in this very pretty village. We chose Pension Lipa (through Thomsons) mainly because of the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. We arrived quite late and were greeted by the charming daughter of the owner. She spoke perfect English and whilst we were checking in we were given a welcome drink of the locally produced blueberry schnapps. We had a few more of those during the week! The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious, as was the bathroom. The food was fantastic - choice of 14 starters, 14 main courses and delicious desserts. Pension Lipa is a super place to stay - having said that, the only negative comment we can make is that downstairs it functions as it is a restaurant and pizzeria. Therefore there is no lounge and nowhere comfortable to sit in the evenings. Don't be put off by the fact that you eat downstairs - the room is in two sections - one for dinner and one for breakfast (which is also excellent), and is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosyposy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This family run small hotel near to the centre of Kranjska Gora is a great find. The rooms are spacious and spotless, the breakfast is very good and also the food in the restaurant. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is hard to find fault with the Pension Lipa. This was my second stay at the hotel and I will certainly return there in the future. We stayed on a hal-board basis which included a 3 course meal, plus salad from the buffet. Incredible value for the money.

Room Tip: Just as for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed here for 11 nights in June/July 2011 and have nothing but praise for the accomodation. There are only 10 rooms in total so this means the service is more personal and the staff cannot do enough for you - without exception they were welcoming and friendly.

Our room was kept spotlesss throughout our stay, and had a modern bathroom with a powerful shower, a large tv with access to many English language channels (news, music and documentry). The minibar was well stocked and at very reasonable prices - just the same as drinking in the hotel/Kransjka Gora. Our room was on the top floor (there are only two floors up from reception) and there was a large balcony with mountain view and sun loungers.

Pension Lipa is open to the public to eat in their pizzeria, and guests eat in the restaurant 'basement' but don't let that put you off. The room has skylights and is beautifully decorated and you soon forget where you are. There were about 12 to 14 options to choose from on the starter and main course menu, and then about 6 desserts to choose from. We sampled most of them and had no complaints - the food was served fresh, but with prompt service and tasted great!

We would not hestitate to recommend the Pension Lipa and hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: From talking to others we believe the bigger rooms were on the top floor - ask for a view of the Jul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed at the Lipa for Feb half-term. The accomodation, food, and service were all first class and super value.

As mentioned by other reviewers the Lipa would be ebhanced by a lounge, but that is a minor issue. The standard of cleanliness could not be higher, the variety and quality of meals really worked for us (kids 11 and 13)

The Lipa is about a 10 minute walk into the village but that was fine because the upside was that the hotel is in a reaaly quiet location.

So we recommend this Pension, but would add that ski-ing is limited but the resort is such good value there are lots of other affordable things to do. We recommend the dog sledding, snow biking, skating, the walk to the lake, trip to see the Ski Jump, and the Vopa Bar (anytime of the day or nite!)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank primetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#3 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#5 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#8 of 16 in Kranjska Gora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Lipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Lipa

Property: Pension Lipa
Address: Koroshka ulica 14, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Kranjska Gora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pension Lipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Lipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Lipa Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing