We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a backdrop for dinner!”
Review of Pension Milka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Milka
Ranked #2 of 20 Kranjska Gora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We really enjoyed our holiday at Pension Milka. Only booked it 1 week beforehand so were very fortunate but were so blessed by our time there. Frank and Maggie, and Angie too are wonderful hosts. One of us was on a special diet and from the first morning we came down to find suitable milk, spread and cheese on the breakfast table, we just knew we were going to be spoiled. The choice from the menu for half board is exceptional and the chef excels himself, even making a special sauce for the fish when necessary. Nice to have mosquito protection over the window even if the view from the back isn't as good as from the front. There is no lounge for guests but we were welcome to sit on the terrace and even invited to take loungers down to the lake. A home from home holiday in a beautiful place. Thank you Frank and Maggie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Have you seen the films on the early days of mountainering like, say, the White Tower (Glen Ford) or Five Days One Summer (Sean Connery)? They start with the hero arriving at the railway station to be met with a horse and dray driven by mine host. I feel that if trains still ran to Kranjska Gora.then Frank would be doing just that (o/k maybe in a station wagon) and on arrival Maggie would have a perfect meal ready and waiting.

Frank and Maggie exist just to make sure that you have a fantastic holiday with the most wonderful home cooked food in an idyllic setting with a gentle lake surrounded by towering mountains. The weather was far from perfect on my stay but it didn't matter because Frank was always there to move wet clothes into the drying room, supply coffee (maybe beer too) and then dinner was just like your mother used to make (well better to be honest).

Thanks to both of them (and the rest of the staff). The Penzion is only small (5 rooms?) so count yourselves lucky if you are fortunate enough to get one of them. Dont expect a sauna or swimming pool- its home from home here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a great stay at Pension Milka, Frank was the most amenable and helpful host, food was wholesome and plentiful. But don't buck the half-board etiquette and sit at the wrong table!!
Tried to reserve a lake view, even booking a few months ahead but were unsuccessful--a bit claustrophobic at the back.
A little remote from Kranjska Gora--about 15mins easy walk but worth it for the view and the homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desafos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you're looking for a base that is relatively quiet, very friendly and in a stunning location then I cannot recommend the Pension Milka highly enough. It's located about a 15 minute walk ( slightly uphill ) from the village, beside a beautiful lake.
The owners, Frank and Maggie, go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. Food is of a very high standard, and the evening meal usually comprises 4 courses.
A road run pasts the front of the hotel, but in the week that I was there ( 11th to 18th June ) traffic was extremely light. I'm a very light sleeper, but despite having a room at the front I wasn't woken once.
The view from the front of the hotel is superb, with Prisank mountain a very impressive backdrop to the lake below.
There are walks from the door, and if you also wanted to travel outside Slovenia then attractions within both Italy and Austria are within easy reach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved our stay the Milka. Maggie and Frank are lovely people and we felt we had a home from home to stay in, complete with the most beautiful view of the lake and mountains. To see the light on the snow topped alps at different times of the day was just one of the bonuses we discovered during our stay. If you like larger hotels with smart décor and impersonal service, this little place won't be for you, but if you want to experience a real taste of Slovenia in stunning surroundings, you will enjoy the Milka. And as for the food, I put on half a stone in weight in one week, so I can testify to the quality and quantity of it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastAngliaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have been meaning to share my experience of the Milka for quite a while now. My wife and I have stayed at the Milka twice and both times have been excellent. Obviously the location in front of the lake and mountains is stunning and we were lucky enough, on the first occasion, to have a balcony room. I would advise booking early so that you can have one, it is worth the extra expense! We used the pension as a base from which to do a significant amount of mountain walking and cycling and it is perfect for this, the bus stop just outside will take you up to the top of the Vrsic Pass and there are plenty of walks that can be done from the pension itself. If walking is your main activity then the Ciccerone walking guide 'The Julian Alps of Slovenia' is indispensable. The food has always been exceptional and Frank and Maggie are always so friendly.

If you are a couple and/or are in the area for walking and traditional Slovenian food and hospitality then I wouldn't spend much time debating whether to book one of the big hotels in town or this little pension. The Milka is wonderful and, if there weren't other mountains to explore, I would be booking my third summer holiday there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Pension Milka is about 15minutes walk from Kranjska Gora and is opposite Lake Jasna. From the hotel there are many lovely walks. The room I had was very clean and comfortable and the food was really wonderful. Maggie and Frank were brilliant hosts and always very welcoming and accommodating. I had a lovely time there and would like to go again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranjska Gora hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kotnik
Hotel Kotnik
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gostilna Pri Martinu
Gostilna Pri Martinu
#12 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
Hotel & Restaurant Miklic
#1 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lipa
Hotel Lipa
#5 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Design rooms Pr' Gavedarjo
Design rooms Pr' Gavedarjo
#1 of 20 in Kranjska Gora
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Penzion Livada
Penzion Livada
#3 of 20 in Kranjska Gora
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Milka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Milka

Address: Vrsiska cesta 45 | Lake Jasna, Kranjska Gora 4280, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranjska Gora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Kranjska Gora
Price Range: £54 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milka Boarding House with its over 30-year long tradition is situated in the midst of fascinating nature within the area of the Triglav National Park. The boarding house excels in cosiness, kindness and privacy; there is no doubt, that it has been given its character by the Milka restaurant, known for decades to almost every Slovene, if not otherwise, by the word of mouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Milka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Milka Hotel Kranjska Gora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing