We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cute little place”
Review of Fluxus Hostel

Fluxus Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fluxus Hostel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a cute little place”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night without booking before arriving. The staff were very helpful and nice. The rooms were a little bit strange as there are two big dorms but you have to go through the first one to get to the second which can be noisy at night. Also the shower is in the second room and the toilet is at reception. With only one shower and toilet you sometimes have to wait. The kitchen is okay; it's spacious and has most if the essentials. There is also a little balcony with a table and chairs which is nice. The location is great as it is so central. I loved this little hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesca54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
22
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Last weekend I spend the weekend in Ljubljana and to be more specific in the Fluxus Hostel. The hostel is clean, cosy and cool (especially when it's 30 degrees outside). The staff is very friendly and provides very valuable recommendations for several touristic attractions.
All in all I had a very good stay at Fluxus hostel, would definitely recommend it, although not many other people were in to share experiences.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konklotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchs St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Fluxus Hostel on our Study Trip through Slovenia with 12 people. Therefore we booked almost all beds in the three rooms. This was a big advantage, as the hostel only provides two showers and one toilet. But the rooms were very nice and clean and provided a lot of space, which was very practical. The hostel is very centrally located, most of the attractions are in walking distance.
I would definitely recommend the hostel if you have lots of time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sush_771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I'd most definately recommend Fluxus hostel to anyone going to Ljublijana. First of all the location is great: a two minute walk to the main square and twenty minutes to the train station. The hostel itself is neatly decorated and has overal a nice atmopshere. There's a well-equiped kitchen to prepare dinner and in this common room you can easily meet the other people staying at the hostel. In the evening and during daytime you can sit and chat on the balkony, which is a nice place to spend some time.The place is really clean and well-taken care of.
In generell, we've never met such nice staff in a youth hostel. We were quite the troublemakers with lot's of different difficulties we came across during our stay and the staff was super helpfull! They were really concerned and helped us to call several numbers and so on.
Besides the hostel I'd recommend anyone going to Ljublijana the free walking tour! Our guide was really enthusiastic about sharing her stories and the 2 hours of the tour were really interesting!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omsk, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Fluxus is central in Ljubljlana,,,,and that is just about the most positive this is going to get. And again maybe because hostels are not meant for all. Two big rooms with four double bunkers in the one room and three in the other. The Toilet is in the reception area. The bathroom behind the second room. So think of the logistics to go the the toilet end wash your face. You can in the toilet you say. Sure, if it has hot water. just a strange jumble of a place.

THe dorm is clean and is kept in good nick. The water is hot, the shower about 500x500cm, so expect that the bathroom is ALWAYS wet. In a cinch a place i will stay but not if a wider choice is available....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IVAN_ERASMUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eureka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

this place has ONE toilet and ONE shower for the entire setup.



imagine 16+ people waiting to get to the toilet in the morning or waiting in line for the sink sized shower. luckily there was a kitchen sink to pee into when the guy at the head of the line took a book into the ONE toilet and was followed by another inconsiderate jerk who decided to shave at the sink of the ONE toilet even though people were obviously in need of the toilet for something other than literary purposes or grooming. several were forced to use the kitchen sink as a toilet and one managed to get into the shower to pee even though the group in the second room claimed the shower as theirs because they booked the room as a group.

the toilet is in the reception area and the shower is next to the second dorm room. there is a sink in the shower cubicle, so shaving didn´t need to clog the toilet, but no guy thought of the shower sink as a shaving sink.

also the second room is accessed through the first room. nothing like a herd of morons tromping through all talking as loud as possible at 3 a.m. and ignoring the fact there were several others attempting to sleep. also so enjoyable when they all tromp back through the first dorm room to the toilet.

there are no lockers, the staff leaves during the day for extended periods of time and there is no staff on hand after 5 p.m. so there is no one to watch your stuff while the sticky fingered are about.


the host is touted as "friendly", but don`t worry the friendliness disappears if you dislike the situation and complain. also if you have an absolutely abominable night there, no need to ask for your money back, the host becomes quite mute and noticeably unfriendly.

Room Tip: go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Fluxus Hostel has been a very nice place to stay. An old apartment converted into a Hostel with a double room and private shower/bath, a 6-bed and an 8-bed room. The hostel has a common room and kitchen which is to be used by all. The rooms are very lovingly decorated with a lot of attention to detail. The staff is very friendly (but not constantly there) and will stay late for late artivals. Check-out was easy and the whole deal was good value for money.

The only downside to this place is that the walls and doors are quite thin, you can hear most of what is going on. That is not a problem with few people, but I imagine it might become a bit noisy when it's fully booked.

None-the-less, the location of this place is fabulous! Only a few steps to the Nebotičnik-Tower where you can find excellent breakfast with a great view! Or party on the weekends.

Not far as well, the Triple Bridge, Old Town and all cafés along the river. Especially in the spring and early summer this is great as all Slovenians love to sit outside and have a coffee.

We enjoyed the time at Fluxus very much and would recommend it for friends to stay there when travelling on a budget (Ljubljana has very few moderately priced hotels as all are newly built and rangy withom four or five stars and a bit expensive).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirls79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#8 of 77 in Ljubljana
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zeppelin Hostel
Zeppelin Hostel
#7 of 77 in Ljubljana
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel 24
Hostel 24
#20 of 77 in Ljubljana
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ana Hostel
Ana Hostel
#53 of 77 in Ljubljana
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cacao Rooms
Cacao Rooms
#18 of 77 in Ljubljana
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Rooms
Viva Rooms
#36 of 57 in Ljubljana
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fluxus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fluxus Hostel

Property: Fluxus Hostel
Address: Tomshicheva ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Fluxus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing