We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but not enough toilets and bathrooms!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fluxus Hostel

Fluxus Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fluxus Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OK, but not enough toilets and bathrooms!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights over New Year in the 6 bed dorm room. In reality, the 8 bed dorm room and 6 bed dorm room are pretty much linked so it is like a 14 bed. As far as value goes, we paid 44 Euros each for a DORM bed on New Year which was a rip-off considered we couldn't get any sleep any nights of our stay thanks to the number of people coming and going. There was absolutely no privacy. There are also no lockers in the dorms.

The sole shower for the dorm rooms is connected to the 6-bed part which means that everyone walks through to shower. If everyone takes 10 minutes in the shower and you end up at the end of the queue, you could wait over 2 hours - if only everyone ONLY took 10 minutes.

There was only 1 toilet between 16 people as the "private room" didn't have a toilet either. This is totally inadequate.

We had an issue while we were there with a group of Italians kicking a ball around the rooms, being very noisy and even leaving pornographic images on the shared computer. We informed reception and they apologised to us. However, because reception hours are sporadic (at best) the only way they could contact the Italians was via a hand-written note which didn't solve anything. If hostels insist on allowing large groups who think they can take over the hostel then they need 24-hour reception to monitor them.

Apart from that, the hostel is generally clean and the staff were as helpful as circumstances allowed them to be. The location is great though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
20
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

We've stayed in about 30 hostels and this one is the WORST. There was no hot water, but when we complained, the owner insisted it was a small problem and refused to refund the 2nd night, even though we only stayed for 1 night. And he said hostels are for young people who should not mind the water heater breaking down, which was just a machine's problem. He clearly did not understand the concept of customer service. He even said many hostels in Europe don't provide hot water, which is completely ridiculous - this is year 2010, not 1910! And to make things worse, he made rude racial remarks against us, saying that there are worse hostels in China and we Chinese should know better.

So, fellow travelers, if you still want to book this hostel, make sure you're not Chinese, don't complain to the owner no matter what, and don't book the private room which doesn't have its own WC.

The only good thing about this hostel is Vanja the manager, who's very nice and hardworking. But I pity her for working under such an unreasonable man!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karsonchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

Geneva
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Fluxus hostel is a great choice if you want to stay a few days in the capital city of Slovenia. We chose the in-suite room for 2 people, which is colorful and tidy, although a bit small. We had a personal shower, but toilets are shared with the other people (there are two other rooms, for 6 and 8 people). Gentle personnel, central location. Definitely recommend it

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SysTooL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

The staff were really friendly and knew lots of hidden spots to go to. The hostel was clean, modern and had amazing local decorations. The best hostel ever

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amwaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed in the double room, which was really nice, very modern, cosy and brightly coloured, probably the nicest room I've stayed in. The only bad point was that although it said en-suite, there wasn't a toilet, had to go out through the kitchen into the hall to use the shared toilet. Also, the shower was slightly weird as there was a shared light/ceiling with the bathroom next door meaning that you could hear other people and that the light could get switched off while you were still in the shower.
Apart from that, the location was really good, and the people who worked there were very friendly. There was also a portable dvd player in the room and dvds in the kitchen to watch. The kitchen was really nice and modern/bright, although the room did basically lead out into the kitchen which was a bit annoying as when there were people in the kitchen talking or watching tv you could hear them quite loudly, however this didn't seem to be a problem at night while we were there, and the whole place was generally really quiet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tangomango2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

I have just returned from my trip to Slovenia and had a wonderful stay at the Fluxus Hostel. I have initally planned on staying in a hotel in Ljubljana but was so glad that a friend suggested that I try out the hip hostels there instead. Fluxus was the cleanest and most tastefully decorated hostel I had ever stayed in with so much attention to detail being put in the bedding, furnishings, colour schemes, plants etc. The rooms were large, spacious and not over crowded with beds. The location was perfect, right in the centre of town, less than a five minute walk to the three bridges. There was also a sandwich shop/bakery below the hostel so it was convenient to grab breakfast there every morning. The owner of the hostel was very hospitable and even suggested places to visit around Slovenia. I was travelling alone and it was great having the hosts welcome me back to the hostel every evening. They even lent me a Slovenia guidebook and small trolley bag to travel around for a days. It was not just a bed in a foreign country but more of a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SBY198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

Fluxus is a small homely hostel with located in central Ljubliana, a short walk from the old town. We stayed in the double room. Like the girl below, I was dissapointed to find that despite booking an ensuite room, the toilet was shared. We did have an ensuite shower and sink which shared a light with the dorm shower room, but this didn't bother us.

In spite of that, I have given the hostel a high rating because I loved the character of the hostel. All of the staff were just brilliant and it felt like we were staying in a friend's house. The decor was warm and funky.

There was a nice kitchen, t.v. with lots of channels and a large selection of DVD's. The double room also has a portable dvd player. There is a computer with free internet access. It is right next door to an Illy Kiosk, where we got breakfast most mornings. I would especially recommend this hostel to solo travellers as you definitely wouldn't feel lonely here!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nóinín
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#9 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zeppelin Hostel
Zeppelin Hostel
#7 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cacao Rooms
Cacao Rooms
#13 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Rooms
Viva Rooms
#33 of 55 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartments Vega
Apartments Vega
#40 of 70 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fluxus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fluxus Hostel

Property: Fluxus Hostel
Address: Tomshicheva ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Fluxus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing