We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No-frills hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“No-frills hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This is a no-frills hotel in the outskirts of Ljubljana. I call it "outskirts" because it is really convenient to arrive by car from the highway, but Ljubljana is so small that a 10-minute car ride takes you right into the city center. The hotel has free parking.
Ahotel is relatively compact, and both the common areas and the room are more towards the smaller side (but not crammed at all). There is no elevator, but it was ok because I think it only has two floors. Furniture seems brand new and is nice and functional. Service is very friendly. Breakfast was a little disappointing, with limited choices.
Overall, this hotel was average value: it was slightly less expensive than the other hotel in which we stayed in Ljubljana (Hotel Lev) but offered much less comfort as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    159
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
71
145
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

A lovely, clean hotel which seemed brand new. Nice terrace to sit out on, and very good hot chocolate with breakfasts. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and went the extra mile to ensure you had a good stay (recommended places in town, dried our shoes for us when we got rained on!) It is about a 30 minute walk into town, but this was fine for us and there are bikes you can hire from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nes Ziona, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Very nice hotel, especially for those travelling with a car. It's located very close to major highways, so it's ideal for the "star" type of a trip. It takes about 5 minutes by car to reach the center of Ljubljana (you can walk there too, but at night it's not so nice to walk on a dark road). Lot of parking places near the hotel. The rooms are large, clean and modern. Free wi-fi. Good breakfast. The staff is very helpful. The only drawback - no elevator.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not in the city center, but we found this to be a convience . We drove into Slovenia from Venice . The hotel is minutes off the A1. It was so easy to find, and the parking is free.
It's about a 5 minute drive to the city center and parking is easily found and inexpensive. It was also very convienent for visiting other sites in Slovenia.
The hotel is modern with a small bar for drinks and snacks . The rooms are a decent size , with basic Ikea type furnishings, comfortable beds and pillows with crisp white bedding. The bathroom is
adequate and clean. The only downfall is the tub, which is very deep and a climb to get into. This may be a problem for some people. There is only a container on the wall with soap, so be sure to bring your own toiletries.
Everything in the hotel is sparkling clean !
There isn't an elevator, but I knew I wasn't staying in a luxury hotel .
But, the one thing that made this hotel stand out is the service. From the minute that we checked in we were made to feel welcomed. Klemen went over and beyond . He gave us great directions, sightseeing and restaurant information.
His love for his city is obvious and his pride in his work is exemplary.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deboraPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Hi,
stay in this hotel in September 2012. Very nice place, room is very clean, well desined, all furniture is new, in bathroom everything is working in a proper way, stuff is very carefull, good parking place, nice breakfast !
It is located not in the city, but really very close. May be with public transport will be some dificulties, but you can take a taxi by special rate (hotel have agreement with taxi company). I really like this place and will recomend to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Coming back from a bike tour in Austria, we could not find available rooms at our last stop in Austria and since it was already 10 pm and we liked the city of Ljubljana very much on our way to Austria, we decided to stop in Slovenia instead. We turned up at the hotel at 11 pm and the hotel staff could not be any friendlier welcoming us, the rooms are very clean and modern (although lack a bit of personal touch), the breakfast was excellent, overall a very nice stay indeed. If you plan to explore the city on foot, be prepared for a good 30 minutes walk, though.

Room Tip: avoid a room next to the staircase as we could hear the steps in the morning which woke us up earlie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreativeJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed two nights at the Ahotel in Ljubliana and were very pleased. The rooms were modern and the hotel was very pleasant. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is about a 5 minute drive from the center of town but could be a bit tricky if you rely on public transportation.

Otherwise it is highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogli43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana

Property: Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Address: Cesta dveh cesarjev 34 D, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahotel is an independent hotel for leisure visitor seeking to enjoy the delights of Ljubljana as it is for business executives. Ahotel offers an excellent standard of a 3 star accommodation at value for money rates, as well as balance of contemporary yet comfortable style. Ahotel is modern, inviting, spacious and cozy at one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing