We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of River House - CLOSED

River House
Price range: US$39 - US$157
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Slovenian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

If possible, avoid. Rude staff, average food. Ovepriced. There are a lot better restourants in LJ. Continue on the same street and you will find some.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great well cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

a well run restaurant. Great food. This is only my 2nd review on Tripadvisor but this is worth the effort. The steak is to die for!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brabourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious evening meal in contemporary surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Walk far enough along from the main square (well, round) and you will find The River House. The food was excellent with lots of choice (although they had run out of scallops). The staff were friendly and eager to recommend both food and wine. We were treated to a fabulous Walnut Liqueur at the end of our meal which finished the evening off perfectly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NikkiJackson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We ordered a fish plate for 6 and everything we ate was delicious. The staff is very kind, tolerable of kids (not usual in restaurants) and able to recommend good wine to accompany food. Whether you choose to eat indoors, in an neatly decorated room, or outdoors, on the warm sunny day, you can count that the food will be good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miroslav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were in Ljubljana for one week and visited River House three times! Each time it was for lunch and strangely enough, the first two times, we were the only ones in it. Maybe it's more of an evening meal place, who knows. The reason we kept returning was the fast friendly service and the delicious food. The pasta was just divine and perfect for lunch time. Wine was lovely too. It's right at the end of the main street so nice and quiet, would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 155DGTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River House also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing