We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit far from the centre but otherwise a great place to stay”
Review of Simbol Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Simbol Hostel
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hostel is about 40min walk from the train station and 20min from the centre. Facilities are great, though, kitchen was big anc clean. Stayed in 5-bed dorm, bathroom and kitchen were shared with one other room. Supermarket right accross the street. Only minor problem was that the receptionist was almost never around and some girls actually had to call him in the morning to come and let them pay as they were leaving (!). Would stay again, besides the location the place had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaanatuulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hostel is in a great location if you have a car. It is close to the city centre (15 minutes walk) and you can avoid driving through the centre to get to/from the highway network. There is limited parking on site, although the are the hostel is located in is very quiet and residential so on street parking did not seem to be a problem. There is a small supermarket and bar across the road from the hostel. Each room has a kitchen (with sink, freezer, fridge, microwave, hob and oven) and bathroom (shared with another dorm) so self catering is possible. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were always clean and comfortable. The rooms have huge windows to cool down in summer and large shades for privacy. The only issue was that our door lock was broken and the lockers in the rooms had no keys or padlocks (they were essentially just cupboards) so we could not keep any valuables in the room. If this issue is sorted out then this hostel would be perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were in a double room on the ground floor. Kitchen next door to us and the small common bathroom. Clean quiet place. There is air conditioning! 20 - 25 minutes walk to the city center. Bus stop (1) at the hostel one minute away and with just a few minutes from the city center! Shops and supermarkets in the area. We recommend! Hostel and all that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlaszij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

We were in a double room, which, unlike most places we've visited in Europe actually had a double bed rather than 2 singles. We had a bathroom shared with one other room (shower was hot but a push button that needed pushing in a little too often!) and a kitchen also shared with the other room. Stove, fridge, microwave and a sink. The a/c worked well and was most welcome in the August heat. Friendly and helpful staff. A pleasant surprise as we booked last minute without knowing much about it. Some free parking was handy and a small supermarket right across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at Simbol Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tipanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at Simbol Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Djawed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at Simbol Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
1.6 mi away
Hostel Tivoli
Hostel Tivoli
#5 of 98 in Ljubljana
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Vrba
Hostel Vrba
#2 of 98 in Ljubljana
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#9 of 98 in Ljubljana
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
C - Punkt Hostel
C - Punkt Hostel
#16 of 98 in Ljubljana
32 reviews
1.4 mi away
Most Hostel
Most Hostel
#44 of 98 in Ljubljana
61 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rooms Ambrozic
Rooms Ambrozic
#31 of 60 in Ljubljana
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbol Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbol Hostel

Address: Gerbicheva ulica 46, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: £18 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Simbol Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbol Hostel is located 15 min from the city centre by foot. You can also use public transportation and reach the city centre in a couple of minutes and enjoy in many tourist attractions, pubs and restaurants. There is a free parking space available in front of the hostel. In the warmer months you can rent a bike with us or enjoy in the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Simbol Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing