We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great interior, friendly stuff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Azur

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ljubljana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Azur
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
“Great interior, friendly stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Hotel with incredibly friendly staff and nice design. Newly refurnished with spacious and quite modern, really clean and cosy rooms (free wifi internet access) and good breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay and we are going to be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mb_zagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The owner Marko picked us up at the train station, which was really nice. The hostel is a bit out of the way, but he gives you a bus card that you can 'top up' to get around. As we were only staying for a day, he dropped us back into the city centre on his way to the train station to pick someone else up.

The hostel itself is set up above a restaurant (food smelt amazing but didn't have the chance to eat there) and is quite dingy when you step in the door. Free internet is provided from a computer beside the door, but there are no lights in the hallway, so if you plan on using skype/webcam at night, don't bother, the other person won't be able to see you!

We stayed in a mixed 10 bed dorm - the idea scared me, but it turned out that only two other girls and one guy were staying at the same time. Two bathrooms were avaliable, with nice showers and plenty of space. The dorm had bunk beds, with doubles on the bottom if you so wished.

Ljubljana itself was gorgeous, I only wished we had spent more time here!

The next morning we had a very early train (along with our other dorm-mates) and we were provided with a lovely breakfast to go! This did delay us slightly, but our train was delayed anyway. It had youghurt, pastry, apply, cheeses, orange juice and water - everything you would expect to find in a continental breakfast. It wasn't fresh, but having starved for most of our trip, we were more then happy!

Had a lovely short trip, and would probably stay again, but maybe try and find accomodation closer to the centre. All the same, well worth it for the money!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

The owner picked us up from the train station which was a nice touch and pretty handy as we had a fair amount of luggage. The hostel could have been cleaner though, wasn't filthy but not as clean as I would have liked. The breakfast could have been better too. You pretty much get what you pay for here, though the owners do go out of their way to make you feel welcome and that's something. Would recommend it with some improvements to the hostel itself.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank streviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

When we arrived at the train station, we made a phonecall to Marco and they picked us up. Really nice service!
Room was OK. Three beds, two tables, three chairs and a closet. Big enough kitchen and bathroom were chared with one other couple. You do the dishes yourself, but dinner service in the closet was not all that clean.
Breakfast is OK but minimal. You get a bag with two sandwiches, marmelade, a drink, yoghurt and one piece of fruit.
City is a 30 minutes walk.
Interesting free tours in Ljubljana!
Restaurant just next to the hostel, but not for late night drink, becauwe they close at 22:00 pm.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The owner was incredibly helpful, picked everyone up from the train station and gave good advice on activities and sights. Great place to meet people, good kitchen facilities. Quite far from the city centre but it was a nice walk. Friendly, clean hostel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineTime5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angers
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

the Hostel is about 30 minuts far of the center of Ljubljana (walk), Marco comes to the bus or train station to pick up you to the hostel, and gives some informations about the city, depending of your interests (clubs, musik, visits, beautiful places...).
12 or 13€ the night per person.
there isn't so much place in the 2 rooms (9 or 11 beds), but you can cook yourself, the bathrooms are clean and Marco is so friendly !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

I booked this hostel on-line because apparently it was full everywhere else... and later I understood why!!! This is basically a student house that he set up with ikea furniture an the 3 rooms (of different sizes from 2 to 6 people) share just 1 bathroom!!! I couldn't believe it!! The house is dirty, the bathroom not even to mention!!! avoid, avoid, avoid!!!

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — going away
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetiecherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hotel Trojane
Hotel Trojane
#28 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#24 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Azur

Property: Hostel Azur
Address: Cesta na Brdo 33, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing