We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and cheerful Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel DIC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel DIC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great and cheerful Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I really like Hostel DIC. I stayed there while I was in Ljubljana and I enjoyed it very much. The staff is helpful and jolly, they gonna help you and assist you whenever you need. I liked the location a lot 'cos it is just 5-10 min walk from the city center.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dimitrije S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
6
35
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

his is my honest opinion of the place.
location: from the train station or bus terminal it is a 15 min walk. Not easy to locate from the main streets but there a signs that takes you into the university grounds to the building. It is close the city.
customer service: very helpful
cleanness: place was clean and tidy everyday
bathrooms: Dorm of 3 had you share the bathroom for level 1 people which was uni-sex. Only 3 showers and toilets.
Bedroom: No Air con in the room and curtains, so the sun light came in...so no late sleeps.
extras: 1 computers to use as well as WIFI was fast and available most rooms. Kitchen room is small with a fridge and stove and ultensiles.
Noisy: quite,
Breakout area: is in the corridor, small
Suggestions: have a another room for breakout area and have lockers or a safe..

Room Tip: The room had no lockers and it was small with no curtains. People can see inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We are a married couple and stayed at this hostel for 5 nights (on a Monday thru Saturday morning, with reservations). At check-in, we asked for an extra key since we thought we would need separate access to the room since we had different agendas. The clerk went to look for an extra key and came back and said that there wasn't one. We were on an excursion on Wednesday night and came back to the room to find the charger cord to my iPhone missing. We searched through all belongings and found that someone had take my iPod Classic (minus a part that would have made it workable-- he clown who took it has a cord that won't work!). These were the only valuable things left in the room. We had documents, phones, camera and a tablet with us. Our room had always been carefully locked. I think someone has the spare key and can't rule out an inside job. This was reported to the police, who did nothing. There are surveillance cameras and of course, nothing was seen. Of course it wasn't! Doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out that someone could have turned off the cameras. I was in the lounge with the computers next door the next evening and saw young guys eyeing the hallway-- they were not quartered there and hurried away when they saw that I was watching them. Another person in the smae hallway also reported an item stolen. Also, there are high glass windows-- lights from the hallway, bathroom and computer lounge stream into the rooms from these windows. So if one needs a totally darkened room in order to sleep, you won't sleep much here! I booked here thinking that some others would also be booked here. Turned out not to be the case. Would have gladly spent a bit extra to get nicer, safer accommodations. Apart from the complaint about these quarters, we found Ljubljana and vicinity to be a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hostel is somewhat still "under construction", nevertheless I had a very good experience there. The price is decent and student-friendly and the location is fantastic -- right at the foot of the Ljubljana castle hill. The hostel itself looks like an old high school converted into a hostel, so there's still a lot of things going on there at the time of this review. Also for this reason, the facility looks "huge" with lots of rooms, corridors, staircases, etc. Rooms, bathrooms are all clean and secure.

Room Tip: Take a walk up the castle on the hill for a breathtaking view of Ljubljana
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Booked a single room on 2nd floor which was absolutely massive and had a fantastic view of sports fields / castle. Hostel itself is a kind of college / school dorm which is used as a hostel during summer so be prepared for that "dorm" look. Staff very helpful, accommodation clean. Breakfast good value. Location pretty central and safe looking surroundings, although a little further outside centre than I was expecting. WIFI all over the place, even in the room which is pretty unusual in budget hostels. Showers clean and had hot water and high pressure. Plenty of showers and toilets so no queuing all the time... Really good value for money - for the same price as a bed in dorm in many European cities I can get a huge room to myself here.. Only problem is there are not so many utensils in the kitchen for cooking with but still enough to get by. If you're looking to meet people or party all the time then possibly not the best choice since it seemed a little quiet here, however not a problem for me. Overall I'd recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Located about 15 minutes from the centre of Ljubljana this hostel is in a good location. The staff were very friendly and the room was of a decent size. The buffet breakfast costs 3.3 euros and is good value for money. The room and bathrooms were relatively clean and wi-fi was available throughout the hostel. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_obrien91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hostel has a great location, close to both the city centre and the main train station. The staff are really helpful, friendly and efficient. There are kitchen facilities with supermarkets close by so you can make your own meals. The bathroom facilities are fine, no problems there. There were only a few issues: no lift as we were on 5th floor (but, oh well, get over it!), wifi wasn't great (but there are computers, so no biggie!) and the blinds in our room were on the outside and were broken so we were unable to shut them,

Other than those minor issues, it was great and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25Jess6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.8 mi away
Hostel Vrba
Hostel Vrba
#2 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel 24
Hostel 24
#21 of 70 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Most Hostel
Most Hostel
#50 of 70 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
C - Punkt Hostel
C - Punkt Hostel
#22 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#9 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Celica
Hostel Celica
#8 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel DIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel DIC

Property: Hostel DIC
Address: Poljanska cesta 26, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostel DIC 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostel DIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing