We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant in the heart of Ljubljana”
Review of Valvasor

Valvasor
Ranked #5 of 585 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in the heart of Ljubljana”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Great location
Great service
Very inventive tastes and presentation.
Great local wine list.
I could never expect better. Probably the best gourmet food in the old town.
Keep it up guys...
Bravo

Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    220
    52
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Worth going”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We loved this restaurant but there were a couple of minor negatives. The service was spot on. Can't fault it. They served us initially with an amuse bouche of tomato and pesto. I was a bit perturbed to find out that they had run out of the soup of the day by 7.30 pm, which is surprising in a place like this. The soup of the day was spinach. We had the pea soup with Greek yoghurt though which was absolutely beautiful. For main I had two starters. The asparagus tempura and a small salad. I can highly recommend the asparagus tempura, it was fantastic. Chris had tuna which he thought was excellent. The only thing to add is that you do get charged for the amuse bouche. So check those bills when over there and eating at fancy restaurants. It was worth paying for though. And we would go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helsbels111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not quite gourmet”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a late evening dinner at this restaurant. It was a beautiful warm summer evening and sitting out in the street was perfect. The service was very friendly and they served us some extra dishes to start with and in between the dishes. Unfortunately, despite this beautiful setting and the good service we left the restaurant somewhat disappointed. The food did not match with the rest of the experience nor with the prices charged. The day before we had much better food at clearly lower prices on the other side of the river. We had aperol sprizz as aperitif, sparkling water and two glasses of malvasija, prawns and scallops (they could use plural as there were two of them!) as starters and tagliatelle and lasagna as main courses. It cost altogether 87 EUR - and once again, was unfortunately not worth the money. Food does not become gourmet by charging gourmet prices...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TasteLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in Ljubljana”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We selected this restaurant after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The was probably the second best restaurant we experienced on a trip that included Vienna, Bratislava, Graz, Ljubljana and Trieste. Since in all the cities we stayed on their "old town" section the we were able to walk to most of the restaurants. The service and food was excellent. I can strongly recommend this restaurant when you are visiting Ljubljana.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorF409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great meal here during our stay in Ljubljana. The decor was stylish and warm. I really enjoyed the asparagus tempura with goat cheese. Very creative. Also had seared foie gras. Both the truffle risotto with grilled scallop and truffle pasta with pancetta were outstanding. Service was excellent. Some extra treats were offered like an excellent amuse of burrata with tomato and pesto, sorbet between courses, as well as a lovely port with dessert. Our waiter Daniel was great. His wine recommendation, a local pinot noir was spot on. Overall a lovely meal at a good value.

Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valvasor also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Valvasor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing