We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff, good deal”
Review of Spajza

Spajza
Ranked #20 of 592 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, good deal”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Staying at the Grand Union downtown myself and a business buddy of mine asked the staff where to go for lunch. They recommended Spajza for their good slovenian food. We ordered the lunch menu they had on the board outside with fair expectations given the recommendation. The reality was beyond those expectations. We had green peas soup, home made garlic pasta with some green pesto, pork medaillons with roasted whole potatoes and some mango cheescake. All great, the home made pasta was superior. Also they serve their home made bread with it. We asked if they have lemonade and the waiter offered he'll make a fresh one even though they don't have it on the menu. Altogether with a coffee we paid EUR 30 for 2 people! Can't beat it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    285
    90
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel and we were not disappointed. In fact it exceed our expectations. We were seated in the lovely courtyard and had the meat and fish tasting menus which were really interesting and unusual. The wine was very good. It was expensive around 100 euros for two but worth it for a special meal

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ethrell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trogir, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top restaurant”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was there on a business trip and read about this place so I wanted to visit it. From the street it looked empty so we were not sure whether to eat or not but then the rain started and we entered. In the back, all the tables were full as well as summer garden. We had: Smoked goose breasts with truffles, Young horse carpaccio with ricotto x2, Duck breasts with cognac and figs x2, Lamb, Creme brulee and Panacotta. We had 1 litre of red wine of the house. All together it cost us 117 euros and it was definitely one of the best meals I ever had. Definitely go for Smoked goose breasts with truffles!
Also, restaurant is decorated very nice which is very important for me as well. Service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Charmy Italian-like restaurant-osteria”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Ive been visiting Spajza occasionally more then 15 years now and have always enjoyed a superb meal, service and atmosphere. It has a discrete charm of an Italian "osteria", upgraded to a restaurant level. Their food is phenomenal, not fancy, rather simple but always fresh and prepared to perfection, with a touch of a Sicily/Tuscany mixture cuisine. Fantastic extra virgin olive oil. You almost expect Jamie Oliver to appear anytime from the kitchen. Can't miss whatever you choose to order and I would recommend to follow the Italian approach with wines and not go for fancy ones, instead have a Chianti or similar Tuscany red wine. Perfection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrimaFACIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Should be #1”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wow. After a short 5 minute stroll away from the main square, this was an amazing experience from the moment we walked in the door. The decor is simple old-world charm and you will feel like you are stepping back in time. The customer service was special and the staff were happy to tailor the meal to our desires, including a shared degustation with a few dishes swapped in and out, and brilliant wine pairing suggestions. The food was of a simple home-cooking style and the fresh ingredients stood out. I have attached photos but, unfortunately, cannot remember exactly what was in the dishes so please excuse the poor labels!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mills_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spajza also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Spajza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing