We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, boutique hotel - family friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allegro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allegro Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spacious, boutique hotel - family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Lovely hotel in a quiet area of the historic pedestrian area. The superior suite was ideal traveling with family of 4. Spacious room with separate room for kids. Two bathrooms - one very large with great shower. The breakfast was good except the coffee. Friendly staff. Nice outdoor courtyard and balconies with some rooms. Would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Need to park few blocks away. Best to know location since can't drive to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilitaryDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    93
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
41
104
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I spent some time here in January 2013. It is a very nice hotel with friendly personnel and good breakfast. The rooms are complete, tidy and room service makes sure everything is clean. The bathroom is very nice with a shower and floor heating. The hotel is located in the old centre of the city, it is very close to some good restaurants.

Ordering a taxi can be done at the reception (easy if you don't speak Slovenian)

Only drawback of this hotel might be that you can't have your diner here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keniaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Allegro Hotel felt completely luxurious, but at a price much lower than you would expect. Great location on a main pedestrian thoroughfare, within easy walking distance of the castle and other major sites. Driving there is a bit tricky since you can't drive up to the hotel itself, but the hotel has a few parking passes for spaces nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

From the moment we walked in the door the friendly atmosphere and smiling efficient staff could not have been better. We chose a Superior Room - no 14 and were not disappointed. As it was November we were very happy to find our accommodation warm and welcoming and very spacious. We wanted for nothing, free wifi, kettle and lovely big mugs, comfortable bed and pillows, dark and quiet at night and mirrors and power points in all the right places. Breakfast is served in the basement cellar - a charming location and we had ample choice, which included a variety of fresh fruit and delicious natural yogurt, with oranges that you can squeeze yourself, so you know they are fresh! The location of the hotel in the Old Town, next to the church is excellent. Llubljana itself is a very special place and we will be returning to enjoy more of its charms. Well done to everyone at the Allegro for such a warm and welcome visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariannehoyymanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

What a wonderful building this is! I loved it the minute I entered it!

I usually stay in modern “clean” design hotels, but really loved this old style, “cramped” with old furniture, heavy wallpaper and stylish bathroom hotel. Reception girl was superb, so happy and upbeat, helpful and organized. Good breakfast in basement beautiful restaurant…

Great location in old town, close to all attractions and array of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariuszKluzniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg,southafrica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Though well versed in travelling, as this was a first time to Slovenia, I was somewhat out of my depth. Thanks to the Ljubljana DE, I was directed to hotels and restaurants that I must admit, I could never have identified on my own. AND WHAT A PLEASURE! The Allegro Hotel was best for so many reasons: firstly the location being slap dab in the middle of the "old town"; secondly, the hotel itself was as charming as one could hope for; thirdly, though Slovenia as a whole is probably one of the best "buys" in the EU, this hotel tariff was amazing value when compared to other options in the city; and lastly, and probably most importantly when one is in a place for the first time, the service on the part of Karmen was impeccable, warm, and precise. Though this is the first time to Slovenia, we will certainly be returning - we hope in 2013 on our next trip to Europe.Slovenia is a jewel that few people know about - its stunning mountains so close to the capital, lakes and seaside (combined with the Croatian coast) are unbeatable - and without sounding too "know-it-all" from people who have probably leisure travelled to as many if not more places than anybody not in the travel business. Thanks Slovenia!

Room Tip: Always phone the hotel direct - try to speak with the manager - MENTION THAT YOU ARE A TRIPADVISOR C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelworld23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at Allegro at the end of September. We arrived by train about 1/2 hour before sunset. We made the choice to walk to the hotel, as we had heard the taxis could be outrageous. We were so glad we walked - what a beautiful place Ljubljana is! Took about 20 minutes, pulling carry-on size luggage, but it's all level.

Allegro did not disappoint us in any way. They offered us some Cranberry liquor, which was very nice, while they checked us in. The room was one of the nicest we stayed in on our 3 week trip through Germany, Austria, Slovenia & Croatia. The courtyard is so nice, too.

I cannot understand someone not liking the breakfast - it was great! Fresh oranges & squeezer was a real treat. The breakfast room in the basement is very well kept up & we loved the atmosphere.

But the best thing about this hotel is the location. We walked everywhere & it was so nice not to have to deal with a car.

We did rent a car from Sixt (at the train station) when we were leaving Ljubljana & heading out into the rest of Slovenia. Allegro called us a taxi & we found that if you call a taxi, the rates are very reasonable. The taxi driver parked right around the corner & came to get us when he arrived, helped us with the luggage & was very nice about it all.

Can't say enough good things about Ljubljana - love it! We really enjoyed the Saturday market, especially the basement area - great cheese, bread, olives - oh man, I want to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#23 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Hotel

Property: Allegro Hotel
Address: Gornji trg 6, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and luxurious hotel in the center of old Ljubljana opens its doors. It does not matter why guests come to us, but to satisfy them in all their expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Allegro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing